Can Single women do Haj?.....thoughts/ advice/evidence please?....

Sallams all :wave:

One of my single friends 35+ mashallah performed Haj with a women 's group from the UAE. Please can you all enlighten me and give your knowledge and advice on whether this is permissible/ jayez? or does this depend on what school of thought you allign yourself to?..please I would really appreciate some valid feedback as its something that one could consider in the future inshallah :hmmm:… Jazakallah khairun in advance:k:

Re: Can Single women do Haj?..thoughts/ advice/evidence please?..

I dont know to be honest… I would have thought that a woman would at 35 been married and looking after the children :cb:

But if a gil went on Hajj sure it seems okay but a 35 year old singleton :eek: oh well maybe the Hajj will help her.

Personally I would say it seems okay… but i’ll do some research and get back on this one… good question Poppies sister.

Ji thanks Faris sweets.. the issue is that yes by then u do hope that women are married but sadly this isnt always the case:bummer:.. she is single and has no Mehram to support her and so she braved the decision to go - alhamdolilah she has performed Hajj but I want to know what scholars or learned people feel about this- apparently it was a whole group of women who performed together as so it appears there is a “market” for this situation.. I inshallah look forward in your feedback and thank you for responding :k:…:wave:**

Re: Can Single women do Haj?.....thoughts/ advice/evidence please?....

I havent found any thing to say that single women cant do hajj in a group of women.

However it is still advised by Ullema that the woman is better off travelling in the company of her fammily rather than with friends.

Seems like your emphasis is more on her being single @ 35 then a single woman going on hajj. So, in what aspect are you thinking the hajj will help her? Why are you thinking she has probably has problems? Maybe she is fine with her singleton life.

^ LOL

Very observant. But I always thought Hajj as very important but only after your duty's are fullfilled in life. You might be right her life might be great but likewise it might be terrible.... I have nothing against married or un-married folk doing hajj... but in my way of thinking I would put Hajj aside and fullfill other duties first... thats just my way of thinking.

The opposite way of thinking though could be just as good... do Hajj first in case you dont get that chance later... both options are open to everyone and both have thier pros and cons.

But in the modern age Hajj has become more difficuilt and scriptures agree that one must complete lifes other duties as well as Hajj.

No Muslim will be burned in hell for not having done the Hajj, nor will any Muslim burn for being un-married.

But serving the fammily and tribe do rank as important as Hajj.... if not more so. It is said that a man can do 1000 Hajjs but if his parents or other loved ones are unhappy then even a million Hajj wont be valid.

?

no one is part of any “tribe”. you’re confused.

I think she has to have a mehrum with her.

But wouldn't women be mehrams to her?

Or does it HAVE to be a mehram relative?

Faris bhai..

Let me clarify:

Hajj is Farz on someone who has the ability to do that. Meaning the money/health/Means and Mehrum for woman.

So now when those conditions are present can a Farz act be wilfully postponed or some other excuses be used to defer it?

Off course if parents are sick and no one can take care of them except the person himself/herself then it is OK to defer it.

By the way, Hajj is like 'picnic' these days for those who can afford.. if you excuse my example.

One can go in first class seat, stay at five star hotel, eats the best full course meal and can come back in less than two weeks.

Has to be a male mehrum. Females have not been mentioned as mehrum as far as I know.

I cannot provide any Quranic or Hadith reference but I have heard of single women going with Carvans/kaafila or a group of ppl. I feel its perfectly all right to go with group.

**Thanks Faris sweets …I realise that as thats also what Ive believed but in this case she travelled as an ajnabi in a group of single/ divorced women so my qn was is this “allowed” and therefore can all other women in a similar position like her do this. Why should single women/ divorced women be penalised just because of the sad and unfortunate situations they find themselves in?

Cheers Lusi I also read that when Faris bhai first responded!:cb:… but my qn to u is 1) if a woman chooses to be single wud she wish to do hajj and if so wudnt she face the same aspect that my thread is trying to get answers to??:hmmm:**

Thanks Diwana … but evidently my friend had no Mehrum with her that constituted of her father, brother, uncle, grandfather etc

Jafri Jazakallah khair for your response… :k:.. ok.. so ur saying that women can also be mehrums???.. I did only think it was men:bummer:

**Thanks … but my point is how does Islam view this alhamdolilah our Deen is perfected for us and subhaanlaala women form the backbone of any Muslim household.. and in turn we are the foundations of the future ullema.. so in that regards wouldnt Allah swt allow “singletons/ divorced women/ orphans/” that sadly cannot have a male as a Mehrum to “protect and present them” , allow us to perform Hajj??..:hmmm:

My mum was originally going to go in a group as my dad had said he didn't want to go yet (but he later changed his mind), our imam told her it would be ok and acceptable so some scholars defo do allow it.. Also, I would have thought if it wasn't allowed these groups wouldn't be granted their visas in the first place (esp considering just how strict the Saudis themselves tend to be in regards to women in Islam)..

**Thanks Deeba for ur answer.. yes .. ur rite , as I said theres a “market” that caters for women such as my friend so it obviously must be “allowed” which is alhamdolilah good as single women like my friend are able to perform Haj.. alhamdolilah…and so its appearing that Haj for single women is “allowable” and inshallah Allah swt knows best whether Haj is granted and accepted inshallah :k:…

As far my understanding goes, women need mehram for the visa purpose and not for the actual hajj. What if the women ends up being a widow or divorced @ 35? If she has financhial means, she can certainly go for hajj. Anyway, instead of going by herself, she can contact the mulana sahab and maybe go with the group.

What about nephew?

Yeah.. aunt and nephew are mehram to each other.

I'm not sure poppies. Obviously they're mehram since they can hug and whatnot lol. But I think it has to be a mehram relative.

Yes. Nephew is Mehrum.

By definition Mehrum concept is for men who cannot marry the women. Not women to women.

Poppies says she is 35. The visa requirement for these kind of women by KSA is 45+. Also a NOC from a Mehrum who cannot travel, in these kind of cases.

Not sure how she got the visa. Something needs explanation for others to learn.

Poppies said 35+, not exactly 35.

^OK. I assumed somewhere between 35 and 36 because for some reason 35 number was used.