Can Qurbani money be donated to Flood Relief victims?

Re: Can Qurbani money be donated to Flood Relief victims?

Per my knowledge, no you cannot donate that money but yes distribute the meat to them and donate the skin to an organisation who can sell the skin and give the money to flood victims.

Many Islamic scholars say if you qualify as a sahib a nisab for the purpose of Qurbani , you cannot let go of the ritual of qurbani. You have to perform the qurbani and meat can be consumed by flood victims but as per their opinion you cannot use that cash for any other purpose other than qurbani.

As per my knowledge, Qurbani is not compulsory on muslims, it is Sunnat-e-Ibrahimi and Muslims conduct it in the memory of the incident...

In my recent visit to Pakistan, i have found out that the price of a normal looking goat is around |Rs: 20,000, not many can afford to buy one, but yes, many can donate upto RS: 7000-10,000 to flood or other victims...

If one give them meat, then it would only help them for one or two meals of the day, not to mention the other things require to cook the meat... whereas, giving them money can buy them ration for atleast 15 to 20 days... which seems to be the better option..

Anyway, there are plenty among us who can perform the sunnat and at same time donate the money to these people, if one have enough resources to do the both, then i think he should go for the both...

from what i know ....you have to have qurbani of an animal....and there has to be meat distribution....
to help flood victims..i thin you would be able find some qurbani sponsoring charity which would take money from you, and do qurbani with that money and then distribute that meat among flodd victims.

as far as 20,000 goat is concnerned......you can always get a share in a cow.....that costs only around 5000-7000

No, you can't.

Qurbani

Qurbani

Qurbaniiii...

Allah ko payari hai Qurbaani

Tujh pe qurbaan meri jaan,
mera dil mera emaan

Yaari meri kehti hai yaar pe kar de sab qurban

^ Peace Code_Red

Is that the song all the goats sing?

Strange religion is Islam or may be it is turned this way by its believer...

Qurbani is a must.. doesn't matter if a human is dying next door!!!!

Qurbani should take place and meat should be given to poors/victims.. doesn't matter if victim do not have any means to cook it.... he can have meat in his hand and he can easily either sell it to the nearest butcher shop ( at least of the price) or can watch it getting rotten...

I need to help by brother who have lost everything... i am asking help even from jews.. but when it comes to me... i have to 1st perform qurbani and then ask for help from jews and Christians and then help my brother from their money...

Last but not least, i am sorry my brothers and sisters, i was all set to help you to re-build your lives but BURA HO ISS EID KA i have to buy and perform qurbani and i am left with no or very little money... anyway, why i should i help you now... i have already did a good deed....

Great Logic by the so-called followers of the religion which is based on LOGIC

No.

This song is sung by friends.

Friend in need is a friend in deed.

Yaari meri kehti hai, Yaar pe kardey sab qurbaan !

Qurbaani is not just a ritual. It is a philosophy.

I offer my gratitude to all the families who accomodated their friends affected by floods and gave them a place in their homes. I thank all the children who gave their personal gifts to their home-less friends on the ocasion of Eid-ul-fitr. I am thankful to kind ladies who gave some portion of their jewlery and belongings to their women friends who lost belongings in devastation.

And last but not least our friends 7 year old twins in Austrailia who baked 40 cakes, other friends who emptied their piggybanks and contributed through their pocket money to help thier firends in need.

Thankyou lovely angels - Angus and Grace :slight_smile:

Thankyou very much all friends.

http://www.unicef.org.au/Unicef/Donate/Appeals/PakistanFloodChildrensAppeal/Thankyou/tabid/648/Default.aspx

With all due respect, I beg to differ here. If the only money you have in hand is barely enough for Qurbani, but a person next door is dying of hunger without having any means to cook your Qurbani meat, then it is ofcourse obligation on you to help him with the food and spend that money on him. Qurbani is optional, a Sunnah. If you spend the only money you had to feed the hungry in these difficult times, Allah will not only give you sawab for it but inshaAllah will also give you sawab for missed Qurbani ritual. You did the right thing by using your wisdom that Allah has given you and he knows your intention.

My answer was a direct answer to question in the title, that one who can afford to give charity or sadaqah to flood victims and also can do Qurbani (which most of us can mashaAllah) also, but try to find excuse to save some bucks and replace Qurbani with donation. This could lead to another fitna where ppl will start replacing one deed to another on their discretion (that this is the best thing to do, as I see it etc etc).

One who can afford Qurbani, must not replace it with donations to flood rescue efforts. Instead take out that extra cash sitting in savings account OR skip next unnecessary shopping this fall/winter and donate that money, it will feel even better and will have more rewards inshaAllah.

no one says its a must. Its only wajib when you have enough money (you are sahib-e-nisab). If after taking care of your neighbor, you are no longer sahib-e-nisab then qurbani is no longer wajib. But if you remain sahib-e-nisab then it is.

so how you differ? this is what i am saying...

Qurbani is only wajib to those who perform Haj, for rest it is not obligation to start with... but yes helping your brother, your neighbor your countrymen is sort of obligation...

My Friend, i think you are not aware of economic situation in Pakistan...

So what you are saying is, if my neighbor, brother or countrymen are in great need then i should help them 1st and then go for rituals like Qurbani?

Also please can you tell me what is NISAB to qualify for Qurbani, i know about the ZAKAT but do not know anything about this

<<<< Qurbani is a must.. doesn't matter if a human is dying next door!!!! >>>>

I was answering to your sarcastic comments on followers of Islam. Not all of them are without brain. Allah has given brain to use it. But in Sharia, when we chose to skip a Wajib or Sunnah, there are conditions and one should not make statements without making sure everyone understands who, why and when they can skip it and that its a temporary thing until that condition is over. A fraction of people (human nature) can take it as an excuse and apply it in general wherever they want. History of Islam is full of examples, many factions were born due to this approach.

I know economic conditions. Poor and middle class is already under heavy financial pressure and they probably can't afford a portion in cow. So if they have very less money and still have heart to give it to flood victims, that will be very rewarding inshaAllah. My last comments were for upper middle class who will spend Rs10,000 on begum's Eid Jora, but when it comes to Qurbani, complain about expensive animals. Its a self accountability thing, what is more important right now. If one has money for Qurbani for example and has only spare money to either spend over begum's nakhray or flood victims, then do the right thing this season. Personal sacrifices are the cry of time.

To answer both Hanibal and Smooth guy: I know that Qurbani is Wajib and saving a life is farz, so if you have to chose between 2, you have to go with the latter. If my brother is dying of cancer and he has no money to go to the hospital, I have to take care of him first and then if I am still Sahib-e-Nisab, I have to do qurbani.

Sahib-e-Nisab is same as it is in case of Zakat. 52 tolay or more silver or 7.5 tolay or more gold.

In nutshell, saving human life is farz, qurbani is wajib and farz takes over wajib. but most of our people remain sahib-e-nisab even if you help someone so qurbani remains wajib on them even if they donate money to flood victims.

explained very well...

adding my two cents...

if one is left no more a saheb-e-nisab after donating expected qurbani amount (7000 to 20000) then he will not be liable to give qurbani if he gives that amount to some needy "before" the qurbani time. and someone who gives this amount (no mater what before or after eid) but at the time of eid-ul-adha, he is still saheb-e-nisab, he has to give qurbani, leaving qurbani just saying that i have donated 20000 to flood victims wont help.

plus why only 20000? if you have money, and the heart big enough, then there is no limit of donation...

Thnx TLK. Very well put.

I was trying to say the same in more elaborative way (lost in words I guess). lol.

A very unintelligent question..

What is qurubani and what is the tradition behind it. I know there is google, but still...