BTW I am PAKISTANI origin living in INDIA at the moment... incase you are wondering why I am looking at india's + points...
It would be great if more people from India could go to Pak & live/work there and vice-versa. Will help in removing a lot of the stereo-types spread by media and other vested interests in both countries.
Yes the middle class is increasing. Big deal! As long as India is obsessed with the pathetic caste system, they can never get anywhere! They treat the 'lower caste' people worse than animals. All the poor people belong to the lower caste because they are treated like crap and no one gives them an opportunity to get ahead. That third of the world's poor that India so proudly hosts will never get out of their poverty because they will always be treated worse than animals. Such blatant discrimination where a cow is treated better than the 'untouchables'. Astaghfirullah!!
India has too many internal problems to ever play a significant role on the world platform. Also, I haven't even talked about the tribal clashes that are regularly taking place in the north east which no one ever talks about.
Yes the middle class is increasing. Big deal! As long as India is obsessed with the pathetic caste system, they can never get anywhere! They treat the 'lower caste' people worse than animals. All the poor people belong to the lower caste because they are treated like crap and no one gives them an opportunity to get ahead. That third of the world's poor that India so proudly hosts will never get out of their poverty because they will always be treated worse than animals. Such blatant discrimination where a cow is treated better than the 'untouchables'. Astaghfirullah!!
India has too many internal problems to ever play a significant role on the world platform. Also, I haven't even talked about the tribal clashes that are regularly taking place in the north east which no one ever talks about.
all this, coming from the country where choora, chamaar, kanjar are abuses. get real, you guys are in the same boat as india when it comes to caste system, and poverty, denigration, and oppression of the lower castes.
No fortunately we're not. Pakistan does not have a caste system! We refuse to treat our people worse than our animals. Yes we have horrible politicians and a feudal system and high illiteracy that has messed up our country but we are not a country deeply engaged in labeling people as 'untouchables'!!
We have entirely different problems that have absolutely nothing to do with labeling people as untouchables.
As long as India flaunts its caste system, it will never get anywhere on the world platform!! Right now it's just hosting a THIRD of the world's poor....soon it will be HALF because the untouchable and the Shudras are not allowed to proceed ahead!
Indians need a reality check. What's funny is that India isn't even in the TOP 10 trading partners of the US yet these people are on their high horse claiming to take over China!
^ Why is it so hard for you to deny that we don't have a caste system?!?
India is the ONLY country that labels humans based on a caste system....it's part of Hinduism. It's a fact!
Stop being delusional! I never denied Pakistan doesn't have its share of problems but caste system is not one of them! Yes we have a huge gap between the rich and the poor, high illiteracy rates, poor leadership but we don't label our people as untouchables.
Don't know what you have read, but you probably need to go visit India and see the reality for yourself. You're probably one of those who thinks that we still have snake charmers and lions roam the streets :)
My father and father in law have been to India and the poverty they saw was mind numbing. They said they have never seen so many people living in such poverty. As much as 40-50% of India's population is living under the poverty line. And that doesn't include the people who are barely above the poverty line. In short, a MAJORITY of Indians are living in poverty! India is making progress with the rich and the upper middle class but the poor are getting poorer and their living conditions are dismal. Also India experiences a great deal of ethnic violence that NEVER gets reported by the Indian media.
Indian media LOVES to ignore their problems and portray this image that they are making waves on the international front. India can never be an important player in the international arena because frankly it doesn't have a lot of resources. They really don't have much to offer the world other than their graduates in the IT sector! And even those are being taken over by the Chinese and East Europeans.
India has an estimated 200 million chronically hungry people, suffering from all the disease and malnutrition that comes from hunger yet they are ignored everyday by the politicians and the rich.
And comparing Pakistan to India is like comparing apples to oranges! India has been around for much longer than Pakistan. Plus look at the difference in population. You would think with 1.5 billion people they would make some innovations and advances in science, medicine, sports, finance but nope. NADA! The only advances they make is in the field of Bollywood vulgarity! :D
My father and father in law have been to India and the poverty they saw was mind numbing. They said they have never seen so many people living in such poverty. As much as 40-50% of India's population is living under the poverty line. And that doesn't include the people who are barely above the poverty line. In short, a MAJORITY of Indians are living in poverty! India is making progress with the rich and the upper middle class but the poor are getting poorer and their living conditions are dismal. Also India experiences a great deal of ethnic violence that NEVER gets reported by the Indian media.
Indian media LOVES to ignore their problems and portray this image that they are making waves on the international front. India can never be an important player in the international arena because frankly it doesn't have a lot of resources. They really don't have much to offer the world other than their graduates in the IT sector! And even those are being taken over by the Chinese and East Europeans.
India has an estimated 200 million chronically hungry people, suffering from all the disease and malnutrition that comes from hunger yet they are ignored everyday by the politicians and the rich.
And comparing Pakistan to India is like comparing apples to oranges! India has been around for much longer than Pakistan. Plus look at the difference in population. You would think with 1.5 billion people they would make some innovations and advances in science, medicine, sports, finance but nope. NADA! The only advances they make is in the field of Bollywood vulgarity! :D
I am not sure where you relatives went, what economic strata they associated with, where they stayed etc. so I cannot comment on their observation. To give you an example, if you stay near Dharavi slums you will see one of the poorest living conditions in the world. The problem in India is not lack of resources, its the unequal distribution of resources.
And don't know where you got the 1.5 billion population figure from. Last I heard, it was 1.1 billion.
Not really !! India has been around for exactly the same time as Pakistan (actually 1 day less but we can ignore that :)).
And absolute population does not tell you anything. If you look at population density, Pakistan is at 232 persons per sq km and India is at 357 (as per CIA World Factbook). So thats 125 more people per sq km in India. What that means is agreater strain on the resources of the country, more mouths to feed for every sq km of land that we have etc. Comparing the two countries that way, Pakistan should have been far ahead of India economically in these 64 years. And we all know what the reality is :)
And btw, China's population density is 139 persons per square km. So its quite unfair to compare India with China.
Don't know what you have read, but you probably need to go visit India and see the reality for yourself. You're probably one of those who thinks that we still have snake charmers and lions roam the streets :)
^ I agree, india mein duniya kahan se kahan punach gaey hai. One of the biggest problems with our pakistani ppl is emotions, even when our country is at the edge of disappearing(khuda-na-khwasta) we are too engrossed with our emations, thats stand in everything's way.
Cherrytop bhaiya/behan ji, na tu yahan pakistan ki baat ho rahi hai, don't know what you are talking about apples when discussion is about oranges. I worked in canada's 2 top companies for over 10 years, and believe me I haven't seen even one person above director level in our 30000+ ppl companies from pakistan, or of pakistani origin, mostly because we are just TOO EMOTIONAL...nothing wrong with that but emotions have to be dircted in positive way too. Anyways I have gone pff topic too, ppl get back to the topic china VS india..
what about babri mosque verdict that just happened few months ago, gov and ppl were preparing for worst racial riots in the history but ppl were told repeatdly by their leader to stay calm and work out a better solution, did you hear anything, I wa sin india even at that time too, and being a muslim and somewhat gori thinking abot leaving incase things take a wrong turn. Indian media is pretty open and there is a lot of discretion in what/how media reports. The 2Gscam, IPL, commonweath games, you think they were politicans who came forward and volunteered to blow the whistle o it was media....yes I agree some of these cases may die down after a while but in front of media and public, politicans ki aasi ke tesi phir jaati hai...please stop thinking india=enemy, it is all politics and ppl like you and others who go about india-pak bashing are just not well informed and brain washed by ppl on either side who do not want these 2 countries in peace.
seriously you need to check your facts before coming out with ignorants statements as above..the teen generation in india is turning out to be amazing in a lot of way ppl will see the results in 15-20 years, esp because they don't have brain drains like we do in pak.
I am not sure where you relatives went, what economic strata they associated with, where they stayed etc. so I cannot comment on their observation. To give you an example, if you stay near Dharavi slums you will see one of the poorest living conditions in the world. The problem in India is not lack of resources, its the unequal distribution of resources.
And don't know where you got the 1.5 billion population figure from. Last I heard, it was 1.1 billion.
No my father and father in law didn't go touring the Dharavi slums where the 'untouchable's reside. They drove around in cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai and Hyderabad and were shocked so see the amount of poverty that country has.
I apologize for the 1.5 number but that does not make the rest of my post irrelevant. Why do you conveniently ignore the facts that I have stated? India has a LONG way to go to be one of the top players in the world. They are the second populous nation and they can really utilize their human resources and learn from China yet they don't.
seriously you need to check your facts before coming out with ignorants statements as above..the teen generation in india is turning out to be amazing in a lot of way ppl will see the results in 15-20 years, esp because they don't have brain drains like we do in pak.
Honey i have my facts straight. People who are so passionate about India refuse to deal with the facts and look at their country with rose colored glasses. They love to claim India is the next 'superpower' which always makes me laugh out loud! All I am saying is India has a lot of internal problems that need to be dealt with before they can make a mark on the international front.
As for 15-20 years.....only time will tell what these intelligent, ambitious teen generation will do. They don't have much to show for the last 60 years!
The only reason i brought up Pakistan was because of some poster Queer who tried to make some irrelevant and ignorant statement about Pakistan when I brought up India's caste system. The problem is when you criticize India, Indians love to bring up the sorry state of affairs in Pakistan! At least we Pakistani don't deny how bad the situation is in Pakistan! We whole heartedly agree!! But please learn to take criticism where it's justified!
No my father and father in law didn't go touring the Dharavi slums where the 'untouchable's reside. They drove around in cities like Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai and Hyderabad and were shocked so see the amount of poverty that country has.
I apologize for the 1.5 number but that does not make the rest of my post irrelevant. Why do you conveniently ignore the facts that I have stated? India has a LONG way to go to be one of the top players in the world. They are the second populous nation and they can really utilize their human resources and learn from China yet they don't.
No disrespect to your father & father-in-law, but I am sure they are the kind of people who always see the glass as half empty. All I can say is that I have lived in India all my life and know more about India than someone who is visiting for a few days. You are free to believe what you like, but its far from the truth.
And as for your ridiculous arguement about population, pls see my response in post # 72.
Not really !! India has been around for exactly the same time as Pakistan (actually 1 day less but we can ignore that :)).
That is the most ignorant statement you have made. Pakistan started from scratch on August 14, 1947. India didn't start from scratch on August 15, 1947 so please stop deluding yourself that India is younger than Pakistan.
Pakistan got part of the the land alongwith the associated natural resources, people, buildings plus a substantial amount of money which was in pre-partition India's banks. India got the other part. I would not call that starting from scratch. Other than the name Pakistan, nothing strated from scratch.