Can anyone recommend some good historical novels set in the Subcontinent?

Hi

I have been trying to search amazon.com for good historical novels set in India; the only one i want to read from its list is one called Twilight in Delhi by Ahmed Ali.

So i thought why not ask the good folks on Gupshup

Aur agar Urdu mein bhi hoN tau koi nuqsaan nahin

'A suitable boy' by Vikram Seth.

All is the Beloved and the lover is a veil
The Beloved is alive and the lover is dead (RUMI)

"Aakhri chaTaan" by Naseem Hijazi is quite good on the topic of Muslims of Baghdad and Ganges Khan. He has written quite a few other ones as well.

there is one called "far pavillions" its a love story set in british india
i dont remember the author

Not certain if this would fall into your category, but try Tamarind Mem by Anita Rau Badami. Most of the story takes place in a few different settings in India; towards the latter part of the book the setting shifts to North America.

Both are in Urdu

• Aakhri Chataan - by Naseem Hijazi - Describes the time of Tipu Sultan, his death and the political wranglings of the time in great detail. A love story is built into it.
  • Muhammad Bin Qasim - by Naseem Hijazi - As the name suggests, it takes us on a journey with the conqueror of Sindh. It starts from early on where some arab families lived in Cylone (now known as Sri Lanka). Their capture by the ruler of Sindh, while on the way to Makkah; the ensuing politics in Sindh and in Arabia. The raising of the army and its adventures in Sindh. Again, very well-written.

There are several other books by Naseem Hijazi. You can buy a couple of his books online from here:
http://www.desistore.com/historyurdu.html

You can try and communicate with these folks to see if they can special order books for you.

If I think of more, I’ll let you know.

Passage to India by E.m. Foster

Made into a movie in English in 84 by the same name

movie was good with Gandhi like attention to period landscape costumes dialogues culture customs .Its Muslim dr.Aziz in the central male character with british point of view neverthe less but small price to pay ,for who among us would make such movie in Hindi /Urdu

Another period novel although in 4 volumes (Quartet)called "jewel in the Crown " by William Scott.

He was a clerk in british east india co. & was brilliant writer ,His work got more attention after his premature death at 50 which is a cut short career in writer circles .God knows how much greater he could have been had he lived longer .

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/biggthumb.gif

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

Far Pavilions is by M.M Kaye.
I read a book called Zamindar .....
can't recall the author....it was in english
and it was good.
How about God of Small things?.....by Arunduthi Roy......
FYI the jewel in the crown that u r talking about......is one of the books named "the emerald throne" or smthng.....that's the only one i read I think.

The Far Pavilions is a really great read.

Another good book set in the subcontinent, also by M.M.Kaye which you might be interested in is Shadow of the Moon.

Dhoop,

You r right .its actually 4 novels & may be one of them is Emerald throne.

If you know ART MALLIK he is a distant cousin of mine .He acted in the t.v. series Jewel in the crown first major break.After that he has been as terrorist in True Lies with Arnold Schwaznieger.Have you seen any of his movies .He is born british alround His actual name is Ather Mallik!??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/supercool.gif

Originally posted by Nadia_H:
*Not certain if this would fall into your category, but try Tamarind Mem by Anita Rau Badami. Most of the story takes place in a few different settings in India; towards the latter part of the book the setting shifts to North America. *

'Hero's walk' by Anita Rau Badami and short stories by Janupa Lahari, (don't remember the name) both of these books are available at all book stores...both of them are very good.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited September 10, 2001).]

Originally posted by Rani:
'Hero's walk' by Anita Rau Badami and short stories by Janupa Lahari, (don't remember the name) both of these books are available at all book stores...both of them are very good.

Rani, did you read 'Tamarind Mem' by A.R. Badami? If so what did you make of it? I loved it. Thanks for the other two titles, I'll try to pick them up. I've been planning to read 'Hero's walk' for a very long time, but unfortunately have never got around to doing it.

Surprised no-one mentioned A Passage to India, E.M. Forster. I really enjoyed it.

Cat

No surprise ,only if you come to meet us more often , not just start a new thread & abandon it

Read my first post in this thread,which you didnt read b/c you are too hip for my ‘Boring’ stuff na

The first line is about Passage to India deary.Why make such demonstrable ,out in the open demonstration of your sloppy pot shot

Are you going to abandon answering this too like the thread oninternet addiction =drug & alcohol addiction?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Incase you need few more icons to get mad

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad2.gif

Woh afsaana jise anjaam tak, laana na ho mumkin
Use ek KHoobsoorat moR dekar, chhoRna achha

Originally posted by Girl from Quraysh: *
*The Far Pavilions
is a really great read.

Another good book set in the subcontinent, also by M.M.Kaye which you might be interested in is Shadow of the Moon.

I don't know if I have ever read * The Far Pavillions *

The name reminds me of my favorite story of all time.

The Good Earth

by. Pearl S. Buck.

"Freedom at Midnight " by Dominique Lapierre

A great read on partition of India.

white mughals, any good???

Red Earth and Pouring Rain by Vikram Chandra…a fantastic tale spanning generations of an Indian family. Maybe the best story told by by an Indian author. Spans mysticism, politics, familial relations, cultural affinities… :k:

FYI, if you're still around I'm really sorry for not having read that reply of yours. :-)

Anyone mentioned 'God of Small Things'?

I remember having read a book called 'Ganesh' in school, it started off in India but most of it is based in England.

The heros walk by anita badami rau was excellent! I would highly recommend it.
though its not set in a 'historical' in context ...

A suitable boy*by vikram seth* is definitely story intertwined with history and politics. Independence/Nehru era. Great book.

"Such a long journey" by*rohinton mistry* --parsi family in the indira gandhi era/bangladesh war.

I would recommend Mistry's books to everyone. he is a master story teller!
Also "a fine balance" by Mistry -- set in the early 50's. Really takes a look at how socio-political atmosphere affected ordinary lower income classes. Lots about ghandi's "emergency state". Beautiful writing.

Someone mentioned Jhampa Lahiri's Pultizer short stories -- good read but i was kind of let down. Not really historical.

A short story collection that I found engaging is "Unkown errors of our lives" by Chitra banerjee devakaruni. Mostly about immigrant experience of Indians in US.

A two novel story by Devakaruni is "sister of my heart" and "vine of desire" -- set in calcutta in the 60's i think, and later in california.
not historical or political in any way. But takes a good look at cultural aspects of the subcontinent.

moth smoke by mohsin hamid (pakistani) -- not that great of a writing style (my opinion) but a great insight into pakistani lahori elites set in the 90's...nuclear tests and friction with India...westernization of youth.
Good read anyhow. depressing.

*"Obedient father" by Akhil sharma * set in modern times also -- about a corrupt school teacher in delhi.

Vikram seths book "a suitable boy" is definitely the most historical of these. Lots of internal politics.