Can any Muslim dare to think against this woman's lifestyle and thoughts ?!

THIS VIDEO is first for me to correct myself than for anyone else. It is an open challenge to all Muslims who follow a lifestyle that is different than the one mentioned in this video of only 4 minutes.. Yes, No Muslim would say anything against it, but what matters is what we “DO” in our daily life. Actions speak louder than words when we want to follow anyone’s footsteps and express our love for them..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHcq7CwV3Ag&feature=related

Re: Can any Muslim dare to think against this woman's lifestyle and thoughts ?!

Subhan'Allah!

Well we aren't anywhere near our beloved Hazrat Fatima [ra]...why even compare :(

Re: Can any Muslim dare to think against this woman’s lifestyle and thoughts ?!

That don’t mean you look away from it…‘we are nowhere near..so lets just ignore it’ :mad:

NoI didn’t mean that…just meant that we have long ways to go. :hinna:

ok :D

But i see this a lot......whenever it comes to parda/hijab/lifestyle......women bring out this 'logic'

There is no logic..it's just that speaking for myself, I guess I don't have that much iman in my heart for purdah. May Allah guide me.

Respeck :sheen:

yes…admitting it..and trying to work towards is much better than just ignoring it…and picking and choosing stuff whenever it suits a particular argument to be made..

^Nomi, you go on about others 'picking and choosing' Islam when you're guilty of that yourself by constantly talking about staying with inlaws lol.. Can't see how you can point fingers when you're also doing it..

Society and the roles of women have evolved in the last 1400 years. How we practice Purdah should also evolve. You can still follow the tenants of Purdah within Islam and interact with different types of men and women. You dont have to completely shut yourself off from others. You dont have to cover your faces and bodies with large tents in order to satisfy Islam.

Furthermore, as much as we educate and indoctrinate women about Purdah, we should do the same for men. We should teach them to lower their gaze, and respect women and treat them with equality and reverence.

I somehwat agree with you HeyHey.. you are right that society and roles of women have evolved since time.. And I used to think that too. But one part of me just keeps saying, just because society and roles of women have evolved - does that mean we start adapting it. I guess there is no right and wrong answer because any scholar we go to or anyone for that matter will have their own opninion?
1400 years ago a double income may not have been necessary to live life 'with the neccessity' not talking about luxury. In 2011, in majority of households 2 incomes (that being of husband and wife) are necessary with the inflation pricing to do basic necessity things. This is just one example? what do you do?

You know I think the problem is with muslims. I wear hijab and attend go to school, plus i have had jobs. When nonmuslim men see me in a hijab they keep their distance. I have nonmuslim guy friends but they know where the line is. I have never told them. Classmates and men I have encountered while I am working are the same way. They are very respectful and professional with me. However, Muslim many men tend to get overly friendly with me. They probably think since we are both muslims, its okay to develop that close relationship.

Moreover, I think Muslims place too much emphasis on the teachings of scholars. If you study the Quran and life of the Holy Prophet, you can come to your own conclusions about Islam, you dont need to get a scholars opinion about most things, Purdah included. But thats just me.

As for you saying that we shouldnt adapt to changes in society. In my opnion if Islam is a message for all of mankind and time, then Islam should be able to adapt to various people and time because like I said society evolves, and there are so many different types of people and cultures in the world. Just because you adapt Islam according to needs today doesnt mean you are changing Islam. If the purpose of Purdah is to hide to keep chaste and discourage relationships before marriage, you can still do practice Purdah while keeping these ideals alive and interacting with the world. I mean if someone wants to commit sin, Purdah or lack of Purdah isnt going to stop them.

People won't give their own opinions about teeth against what the dentist says. Same goes for all the other fields of life. It is only the "DEEN" maskeen that has to suffer. We have experts in all fields of life, whom people trust and follow. But in Islam, everyone is an expert, except the experts, with whom if you spend a bit of time, you would realize that most of the true scholars spend days and nights with a lot of sacrifices (such as hunger, pain, sleepless nights..etc) for learning and spreading the knowledge of Quran and Hadith, while our Islamic knowledge is mostly acquired through a journey from couch to fridge, along with snacks and drinks in front of the TV/internet.

The following hadith is true for all ages, and it is our own duty to find the right scholar for ourselves to guide us, just like we do in case of eye specialist, skin specialist, heart specialist,...etc.

"The scholars are the inheritors of the prophets". [Tirmidhi, Abu Dawud, Nasai, Ibn Maja, Ahmad, Ibn Hibban, and others]

Abud-Dardaa (radyAllaahu ‘anhu) reported:** "...And verily, the virtue of the scholar over the worshipper is like the virtue of the moon on the night of Al-Badr over all of the stars. Indeed, the scholars are the inheritors of the prophets, for the prophets do not leave behind a dinar or a dirham for inheritance, but rather, they leave behind knowledge. So whoever takes hold of it, has acquired a large share (i.e. of inheritance).’” **Reported by Abu Dawood, At-Tirmidhee and Ibn Hibbaan, and this is the wording found in his collection, in abridged form. Al-Bukhaaree mentioned in his Saheeh Collection in his Book of Knowledge, Chapter: Knowledge precedes Speech and Action

Eh

You can always sue your dentist if he causes a problem, but your precious scholars wont stand next to you in front of God. My point is God created to to be a rational logical human being, dont rely too much on other people for your beliefs. Because only you will reap the benefits not anyone else.

^ I agree with you, yet I don't think "being logical and rational" means you change the laws of Islam so you are comfertable with it. What's Haraam is forever remain haraam and what's Halaal is Halaal. We are 100% aware that we aren't allowed to have friendship with the opposite gender, then why bother with the "I wear a hijab so my male friends respect me?" come on, get real!
We are meant to fight our nafs (desires) not get "logical and rational" with them.

20 years from now when the earth gets super hot in the summer, Muslim girls will say "I wear a bikini because it's so hot, it's only a rational thing to do"

Where is Islam does it say you cant have friends of the opposite gender?

Obviously your life experiences and mine are very different. I have many friends of the opposite gender who I have been alone countless times with and I can say confidently that our relationship is clean, platonic, and halal.

If are not strong enough to give in to temptation then dont have friends of the opposite gender, but dont chastise people who are able to.

As for the logical and rational I think you misunderstood. Wearing a bikini might be logical but it is against Islam. My point was you can adapt Islam according to the times as long as you are following the same tenants. For example, if your situation demands you work with men, then work with men, but dont flirt with them, keep things professional. Further if you are interacting with the opposite gender and you feel temptation either stop, or go about it in the correct way. Try to make your relationship halal.

Like I said, those who are going to sin are going to sin regardless of any measures taken to combat sin. Look at Saudi Arabia, a so called Muslim state with Sharia Law, and illicit relationships and behavior running rampant.

Who said you can't sue the misguiding scholars in front of Allah (swt) on the day of judgement. In fact if I spare a bit of time to read the fazail of Ulama from the authentic hadiths, it would indeed make me realize why the Prophet (saw) emphasized so much to sit in the company of good scholars and learn from them.

My point is God created to to be a rational logical human being, dont rely too much on other people for your beliefs. Because only you will reap the benefits not anyone else

You misunderstood. I meant to rely on people sharing the 'same' belief system' are more knowledgeable than you and me and have spent their whole life in acquiring more knowledge and understanding in the same belief as mine. This present generation of internet and cable thinks it is a super genius being but at least we should give a bit of regard to those whose knowledge acquiring efforts started a long time before we were born.

I totally agree that we ourselves would be held responsible for our own deeds, that include the questioning from us the reason of using our super computer mind and not acquiring the guidance of those whom Allah (swt) and the prophet calls, please consider again the following:

"The scholars are the inheritors of the prophets". [Tirmidhi, Abu Dawud, Nasai, Ibn Maja, Ahmad, Ibn Hibban, and others]

Abud-Dardaa (radyAllaahu ‘anhu) reported: "...And verily, the virtue of the scholar over the worshipper is like the virtue of the moon on the night of Al-Badr over all of the stars. Indeed, the scholars are the inheritors of the prophets, for the prophets do not leave behind a dinar or a dirham for inheritance, but rather, they leave behind knowledge. So whoever takes hold of it, has acquired a large share (i.e. of inheritance).’” Reported by Abu Dawood, At-Tirmidhee and Ibn Hibbaan, and this is the wording found in his collection, in abridged form. Al-Bukhaaree mentioned in his Saheeh Collection in his Book of Knowledge, Chapter: Knowledge precedes Speech and Action

Where is Islam does it say you cant have friends of the opposite gender?

Obviously your life experiences and mine are very different. I have many friends of the opposite gender who I have been alone countless times with and I can say confidently that our relationship is clean, platonic, and halal.

I apologize that I read this comment after I had already written my previous reply. Please ignore all my previous posts, because I lack the wisdom that is required to carry on this discussion.

First you made a sweeping statement of saying the problem is with muslims. Not sure why.

I see the essence of your post but these last two sentences are contradictory. :)

Not arguing but there is such a thing like freedom of choice.

No one should shove a religious understanding on other in these small matters.

Different point of views can co-exist. As long as basics requirements are fulfilled.

Yes, women who do purdah are seen as low class, brainless, and oppressed women and that needs to be changed or tackled.

Waqi mein ham aisi neik khawateen ke kareeb bhi nahi :( May ALLAH guide us ameen