Camcorder/Digital Camera help

I am looking to buy a decent Video Cam … It could be a digital camera with the ability to record 2-3 hours (i can buy 2 big memory cards)

Here is what i want

1. Small and light weighted
  2. Ability to take pics and videos
  3. Transfer video and pics to a PC with **no **firewire port, only USB
  4. Ability to take 3 hours of video (i can switch tapes around, if u suggest a camcorder)

Can you also tell me what to look for in a camcorder?

I am willing to spend around $500

Thanks,

Re: Camcorder/Digital Camera help

Well, what's your primary requirement? These days the line separating still and video is not much. I have 2 items that fall in both those categories:
- Canon SD400 (5 mpx): Primarily still but also does ok video
- Samsung SC-X210L: Primarily video, does stills but not very good resolution.

Both are very compact (Samsung is slightly thicker than the Canon) and you should be able to pick either of them up for under $500.

I just got this model and am happy with it, but again I am using it for home movies and that is about it. I dont intend to do a lot of editing either. and dont intend to use it for stills.

DCR-SR40 30GB Handycam CamcorderDCR-SR40

its hard drive so u dont have to swap out cards or tapes.
download the files to your pc and burn dvds

recording times: 7 hours, SP: 10 hours, LP 20 hours

on sony site it is for 599, but you can find it cheaper online

HD or bust

This has the same issues with the still pictures, not so good resolution. Plus its the same size as others out there (HD, DVD or DV formats). I was looking something i could carry around in my pocket, even though at the expense of no HD. But in addition to the 1 gb builtin memory the Samsung takes SD cards (at 40 mnts per GB), so I could live with it.

yeah as I said I dont intend to use it for stills.
I think HD is good for avoiding the hassle of tapes and dvds and what nots.

For my limited scope of usage this works out perfectly. plus i paid like $429 for it which was a really good deal

so it appears to meet most of Mr Genius's requirements. I did nto see he wanted a pocket sized one.

Plus I have a illogical personal bias against samsung.

1. Small and light weighted

1 requirement pir sahib

I was actually going to suggest my spy camera, but then refrained against it. ;)

TB … actually i am very much interested in the spy one too :slight_smile: I like the samsung one you suggested … the 4gb cards are around 50$ now, so that should work out

Fraudz, thanks so much for the suggestion… i am looking for deals on that one too. It looks like i m gonna have to compromise on the size, but my primary use is gonna be recording videos. i am also satisfied with its technical specs
can u also elaborate on ur bias against samsung… i’ve heard a lot of about your “pir-estic” talents … i think your reasonings should be considered b4 dropping half a grand on this.

hey, when u guys say that stills quality is not good… how bad is it.. do they both have atleast 3megapixel?

1. They both do 640x468 in stills
  2. Samsung doesn't do 4 gb, max it does is 2 gb
  3. Pir has tons of other issues that need to be addresed before coming to this issue
  4. Spy one doesn't record, but does have RGB cables that u can connect the Samsung to :)

yup, but small was not defined as pocket size :slight_smile:
spy camera? hmmmm gotta watch out for ya austin

I just have not had good experience with samsung products. additionally having worked at a place tons of samsung devices were tested, I am aware of the amount of issues they have had with their devices.

genius, how’s this for a deal. if i get u that camcordr under $500, u buy me dinner at usmania.

or i come and read fortunes on air :slight_smile:

yeah i need to resolve the blood fued between 3 of my multiple personalities.

??? yar plz pm hi kar dou link agar itni sharam aarahi hai tou.. seriously, i really want a spycam... for noble purposes , sachi mein :)

hmm… very appealing. How about … you just gift me that cam on my birthday and then we both go to usmania after cutting the cake. Also, we can sign a retainer for every 5th saturday of the month for 1 yr. And then on your bday, i will return the favor by giving you lots of prayers.

waise, i found it for $470](http://www.pricegrabber.com/p__Sony_Handycam_DCR_SR40_30GB_Hard_Drive_Camcorder,__22888940/zip_code=60602/sort_type=bottomline) with shipping and everything. did you find it cheaper than this?

it was about that price, i got it around chrsitmas time and I believe i paid $429 incl everyting

I can gift u a camcorder on your birthday for sure. pakka wada.
no retainer needed for 5th saturday, thats my racquetball league time anyways.

Oscar, don’t worry, I already know all i need to know about u :stuck_out_tongue:

Here’s a pic of that cam:

I’ll see if i can find info on it. I picked it up few years ago. Its fun to hook it up to my RC truck and then drive it around.

hey I am notorious, kya karain..

Frauds! in night mode how is the image quality?. I am thinking to have one.

Hey, one thing i forgot to mention about that Samsung camcorder, it also comes with an external camera which can be mounted on your head (or helmet, or anywhere else) for action video taking, like skiiing or biking. Here’s a CNET review video:
http://reviews.cnet.com/Samsung_SC_X210L/4660-6500_7-6412126.html