Why do some Pakistani kids (tots actually) call water mum?
Re: Calling water ‘mum’?
Aajkal bilkul farigh ho kya, koi kaam shaam nai hai?
lol no really. Just yesterday a relative came with her 2 years old and she called water mum. Kon sikhata hai bachon ko ye sab ![]()
I think water being the basic need and mum being the easiest word to utter ![]()
Re: Calling water 'mum'?
koi nahi sikhata... they speak m sound first before anything else... therefore.. mum mum for water
but by that logic you would think that mum mum would mean milk, no?
mum mum... sounds milk.. but for some reason I found that it means water or at least in my observation they want water.
It's the grandmas!! My mom taught my first born to call water "mum" and pulao/rice "huppa" and I could never figure out why. She also spoke totla (baby talk) to my kids which is a big no-no these days but I had to choose my battles and I chose the candy/sweets battle instead of speaking totla.
I've heard that Desi tots are not taught to call water 'mum' but rather that it's an innate thing. Don't know how true that is, but I find it to be cute. Babies...they don't overthink anything so we shouldn't overthink them either, lol. Just enjoy their adorable lil quirks.
My son called water "mammoo".
He stopped when he turned 1.5, thank God.
My son called water "mammoo".
He stopped when he turned 1.5, thank God.
lol what did he call his mamoo then btw?;p
my kid call mamu to laptop. ;-D
My youngest had words for all of his siblings that were very different than their names and everyone wondered how he came up with that.
my nephew called
juicer
sandwich maker
but he could not say machine.. so he called it sheen
My baby calls milk doodoo. And water or juice joosh. Never heard this mum thing.
isn’t water in Urdu paani? I see no phonetic resemblance to paani and mum. ![]()
I was baby sitting a two year old and she called yogurt yoyo and kept running to the fridge…sadly, I didn’t figure that out till her mum told me.
Paryayavachi shabd for paani
Neer ambu thoy salil vaari
None of these resemble mum.
Some observation ![]()
Wasn’t the thread on the badtameezi of kids to ask mum for water…or is it a phonetics class… (Oh the communication issue:smack:) or chota bachhu speaking thread…
my nephew called
juicer
but he could not say machine.. so he called it sheen
What kind of nephew is that.....fun nephew....:p only if anyone in my house was ready for a marriage...:(
Juicer monk machine... ....:D