Calling someone 'bhai', 'baji' etc.

^One can be politically correct about a lot of things. Even political correctness can be overdone at times by people.**

Re: Calling someone 'bhai', 'baji' etc.

If the person isn't related to me, I MIGHT call them baji or bhai if they're like at least 10-15 years older than me... and that too depending on if other people my age call them baji/bhai too.

It varies from person to person. Some people I call baji/bhai...and others I don't. To each his own. There could be WORSE titles out there than bhai/baji. Do what feels comfortable as long as you're being respectful.

Ummmmmmmmm...apko kisi pyari si larki ne bhai kaha hai kya?

Yaar, it could be worse. What if the pyari si larki called him "baji"????

What if they are not 10-15 years older?

And why should it depend on what other people call them?

I dont call anyone baji...girls are catty about their ages.

Bhai...I use it sparingly...I bestow that honor on select individuals. :)

Thanks for telling us all that

Now we know we aren't good enough for the said honour :(

^Some aunti's may prefer to be called "Baji" if it makes them feel younger.

Oh come on now. Surely she didn't HAVE to tell you something that you must have already known. :p

Ji…and it hurts deep…when it happens. :frowning:

I mean what did I do? I am minding my own business and this sweet voice comes:

Bhai Sahab! :mad:

I am sure if I call her baji or Apaa she may not like it! but I don’t..:smiley:

Winking at her is not called minding your own business, Diwana. You deserved the "bhai sahab" comment.

Shakky…I now pronounce you BHAI of Reha.

Now your job is to make sure I never have to fill gas in my car ever again…I hate doing that. :mad2: If I had a brother, it would be his job to do that. :snooty:

I thought I was special to everyone

I was wrong then RV?

:(

Ok Reha pass me the £££££££££££$$$$ I'll fill your petrol

Your car has gas?

eeewww

You trust him with that? I picture him driving off with your car.

Of course "bhais" are special, Shak.

No no** I** won't drive off her car

It'll be a custmoer who I sell it to

If this happens,

I might then call her Bhai jaan or talk with her in girly way! :D

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww…that must have hurt…koi baat nahin. Its okay.

Agli dafa, you call her baji too.

Since I gave you the idea, split the profit with me.