Why someone (opposite sex person) calls other person bhai or baji (brother or sister) when other person is not really a brother or sister or whatever…
Re: Calling someone 'bhai', 'baji' etc.
I never call another person 'baaji' and when I do call someone bro its very rare.
But its usually for respect? Its the same reason why every older man or women who is a friend of our parents' is an 'uncle' or an 'aunty'
I never call another person 'baaji' and when I do call someone bro its very rare.
But its usually for respect? Its the same reason why every older man or women who is a friend of our parents' is an 'uncle' or an 'aunty'
Yes. I know what you are saying.
Same sex it is OK. No big difference. But it does make a difference when someone calls other opposite sex person bhai or baji.
There is no value of bahi or baji in that sense.
Why make this fake relation? Is this a desi thing or based on false religious sense?
Why not call the person by name, janab or janaba or plain and simple nothing?
See, politicians do that all the time:
Meri Maaon Aur Behnon!
Bhaio Aur Behnon!
Why not just Khawatten o Hazraat?
Agree!
The 'baji' 'bhai' should be reserved for relatives siblings cousins etc etc
I am sure there will be many that'll disagree!
obviously there is a real lack of other annoying things in life. We must be bothered by curtesy also.
:ASA:
Tries to point out that curtesy isn't a real word :(
obviously there is a real lack of other annoying things in life. We must be bothered by curtesy also.
If I hear your light sarcasm correctly, you called this courtesy. OK.
But it is not really true IMHO.
I could still be courteous to other female without calling her a sister.
It’s to prove they don’t have any evil designs on the virtue of the opposite gender which is a professional necessity for politicians ![]()
I've noticed the Arabs referring to non-relations as "brother" (akhi) or sister (ukht) .
People of other races refer to non-relations in a similar manner as well.
Not only confined to the desi race. And Islam refers to us as brothers and sisters as well.
Addressing someone as so can be done out of respect, to develop a relationship, or even in some cases........the word "bhai" or "baji" is said to hint to someone that you are not romantically interested in them.
I don't see why it's such a big deal. It's no LAW that you have to address a non-relation as "bhai" or "baji". There's no gunnah in not doing so. If you don't feel comfortable.............then by all means don't do it. To each his own.
Re: Calling someone ‘bhai’, ‘baji’ etc.
I think we should call them aunties diwana
Woh bhi to respectful hai ![]()
RV you’re a teacher?
You have just caused the traumatic stress I suffered years ago to surface again. Shukria ![]()
Yes, I’m a teacher.
Are you saying that I’ve caused your traumatic memories to resurface? Regarding teachers?
Or is it the traumatic stress of being called “bhai” by someone whom you didn’t see as a …cough…“behan”??? ![]()
what if you dont know the name or remember the name... how will u call them? "oi" ... especailly if they are 10-15 years elder to u.
RV I think girls would prefer to call me non-bhai related stuff ![]()
I dont get called bhai as every girl see me as a potential ![]()
MBB in that case shes an aunty, ab bees saal older ko to baaji kehnay se raha
Or I’ll say excuse me jee
Why get worked up by the word "bhai" and "baji"..................when................I've seen desis of the same age range referring to the other as "Aunti" and "Uncle".
I kid you not. I've seen a guy in his forties/fifties (big belly, gray hair)....call a woman in the same age range........as "AUNTI"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was sooooooo weird!
[quote=“Shak09”]
RV I think girls would prefer to call me non-bhai related stuff ![]()
I take that to mean that “uncle” would work…as it’s non-bhai related. ![]()
Theek hai RV aunty jee
no no not uncle,I dont age you see ![]()
i never call any lady baji,..if she is way older then me... the word is Aunti !
bro, is oki for most of the guys in casual environment
I've noticed the Arabs referring to non-relations as "brother" (akhi) or sister (ukht) .
People of other races refer to non-relations in a similar manner as well.
Not only confined to the desi race. And Islam refers to us as brothers and sisters as well.
Addressing someone as so can be done out of respect, to develop a relationship, or even in some cases........the word "bhai" or "baji" is said to hint to someone that you are not romantically interested in them.
I don't see why it's such a big deal. It's no LAW that you have to address a non-relation as "bhai" or "baji". There's no gunnah in not doing so. If you don't feel comfortable.............then by all means don't do it. To each his own.
yes arabs call others bhai or behan too. It is so tacky.
I do not think religion asks us to call each othe brother or sister when communicating. Culturally it might have been.
We know there is no value of 'munh bola' bhai or 'munh boli' behan.
It appears more of a cultural thing.
And why would we even worry about clarifying someone we are not romantically interested in them? If someone is not then someone is not.
If there is a potential then why not?
What I am referring is to unnecessary political correctness.
i never call any lady baji,..if she is way older then me... the word is Aunti !
bro, is oki for most of the guys in casual environment
Yes. I mean why call a girl behan/sister for no reason?
^ yup