Call in to oppose immigration changes preventing sponsorship of parents/siblings

The Pakistani American Community encourages you to join with other Asian American groups to support the call-in next week on immigration. Please read below for details.

National Asian American Call-In Week
Monday, April 9 thru Friday, April 13
Contact the White House by Calling 1-202-456-1111

Tell the White House You Oppose their Unworkable and Unfair Immigration Plan

Asian American immigration is at risk under a White House supported proposal on immigration reform which would guarantee a continued vulnerable underclass of immigrant workers and deny immigrants from
uniting with their families.

If made into law, these proposals will have a disproportionate and detrimental impact on the Asian American community. Asian Americans must contact the White House and make the following demands regarding the family immigration system:

Support a workable bipartisan comprehensive solution with the provisions of the STRIVE Act of 2007 that promote family unification and try to provide a real path to citizenship for new workers and those seeking to legalize;

Propose a real solution to the tremendous backlogs for family unification and provide a path to citizenship for new workers and those seeking to legalize;

Support the creation of strong and healthy immigrant families, by continuing to allow U.S. citizens to sponsor their parents, adult children, and brothers and sisters;

Respect our mothers and fathers by placing no new restrictions on the sponsorship of parents by their adult U.S. citizen children.
For more details on the Administration’s proposal go to www.advancingequality.org.

A workable and fair comprehensive immigration reform bill is needed to fix America’s broken immigration system.

Join fellow concerned Americans in the National Asian American Call-In Week (Monday, April 9 thru Friday, April 13) and contact the White House by calling 1-202-456-1111.

To send an email log on to: http://capwiz.com/napalc/issues/alert/?alertid=9589961&type=PR.

Re: Call in to oppose immigration changes preventing sponsorship of parents/siblings

Karna kia hai?

Kia bhai bahan aur maan baap ko naheen bula saktain.

Re: Call in to oppose immigration changes preventing sponsorship of parents/siblings

all info is in the links provided here is some detail

*One new and radical feature in the proposal is to shift our immigration system to be almost completely based on corporate sponsorship, while either severely curtailing – or even eliminating altogether – the ability of U.S. citizens to bring their parents into the country.

These provisions would also eliminate all other categories of family visas for sons and daughters over the age of 21, as well as brothers and sisters, of U.S. citizens. This would leave visas available only for spouses and minor children of U.S. citizens and legal permanent residents.

Under these proposals, however, few immigrants would be realistically eligible to become legal permanent residents. In addition, new immigrant workers would not be able to bring their spouses and minor children.*

as far as karna kia hai, it is plainly written in the initial post. but here it is again

*Monday, April 9 thru Friday, April 13
Contact the White House by Calling 1-202-456-1111

Tell the White House You Oppose their Unworkable and Unfair Immigration Plan *

I am really thankfull to Allah that my bro's case just got approved last week. But ya there no reason to favor a law that will take away basic rights from the immigrants. By the way is this an attempt to get the guest worker program underway?

Don't think selfish Lusi. Thing for whole our comunity. I don't need but I will oppose for all my Pakistani bhai bahan whoever needs. I'm Canadian and my whole family has got US Or Englandish nationality almost. But I will oppose.

no reason to oppose this law? how so?
I mean even if you forget the whole part of ppl being able to sponsor their siblings or parents, for ppl on H1 etc, it creates massive hurdles for them to get their spouse or children to come live with them.

So yeah, it looks like punishing the people who follow the law, while entire clans of mexicans cross the border illegally and the govt has no ability to deal with that.

I sent E-mail to George Bushi Park.

Then why the heck are you in canada, I am not selfish, you are selfish. You and your entire family is overseas therefore it doesn't matters to you but you oppose other people sponsoring their familes.

Lusi, u and heera are saying the same thing. your initial statemnt is misleading where you say that you dont see any reaosn to oppose this law.

Oh sorry sis is this to oppose to bring them here or to bring them explain.

Plz explain thats why I asked I'm not very good at english.

Unko lanay say roknay kay liaay hai ya

Lanay kay liaay himaayat kay liaay hai

Urdu main batain.

Agar unko lanay say roknay kay liaay hain to phir to main nain ghalti kar di aur mail bhi kar dia.

Plz urdu main batain.

oh i meant oppose in other sense...

ok do you mean favor the community?

**Here we go again, another form of Slavery:( **

There is enough opposition to this that it probably will not be enacted as is, but we must do our part to make our voices be heard.

screw this

I support this bill

immigration from 3rd world has to stop

when are you leaving canada?

PS: jacque you may want to call because it effects european immigrants too :)

^^ Once i am here, I dont want anyone else to come here :)

And besides if every desi moves to the west then the western citizenship becomes a cheap common thing

merc it does not just affect desis. fine you dont want people to immigrate, dont oppose that aspect, but even for temp workers, who just want to come here work and go back, and who cant become residents, their ability to have their spouse or kids with them is going to be severely dimiished.

I do recall one other country where it was tough for temporary workers to bring their spouse and kids over. It was Kingdom Of saudi Arabia, back in the 70's and 80's.

So I guess nice example for US to follow. right?

on the other hand, immigrants (i mean mostly Asian immigrants), have a very good ratio of being successful here. Good in education, good at work...
I myself have studied as International Student in Australia - trust me, we Asians (including Desi, Chinese etc etc.) were ahead of Aussies.
same is the case in USA too.

We (Asians) are hardworking and we have done a lot for USA (ofcourse we do get benfits in return).

but merc has a point that open immigration of teh type that canada started which allowed many barely skilled ppl in there is an issue. the effects of that can be seen in the unemployment or underemployment trends of immigrant desis in cities like toronto where some areas of places like markham are turning into ghettos.

so lets not follow canada's example in this. but the highlly qualified ppl who get immigration through legal means must not be put through hardship.

I agree.

H1B kinda visas are for skilled workers. They or their families shouldn't go through this hardship.