I was shutting down my computer … it was taking for ever so i manually held the power for 7 seconds and it shutted down.
The next boot failed and started automatically… Then it gave the options of
Safe Mode
Last known good configuration
Start windows normally
no matter which one i choose, it goes to the Windows logo screen but right after that , i see a black screen and the computer reboots again…
so i installed an operating system on the same drive
----option (leave system files intact) in win xp pro setup
so i have a new OS in Windows directory..
the old one in in C:\WINNT
i get two choices now when the computer starts - the first one is the new os, which works. I want to get the first one working. Now that i can have access to the whole C drive, can i put some files in C:\WINNT directory so that my old OS starts working
The Old one was Win XP SP2… this new one is Win XP SP1…
A friend of mine had the exact same prob with her computer about a month ago... my bro fixed it for quite easily.. i dont kno if this method will work with yours but you might as well give it a shot..
tho i should mention that she didnt install another OS, so it might be a bit different for you..
anyway.. when the computer starts up you press F8 (i think, could be F5 - maybe wait for someone else to verify this before you try it). it should give you a couple of options... one of them should be step-by-step... and then well you just go through the steps and anything you think shouldnt be there, you just select no and see if it starts up normally. if you dont kno what you're looking for this can be a lengthy process of trial and error.
when you've found the problem then go into safe mode and delete the program thats causing probs. it might not necessarily be a program you recently installed, the program which suddenly caused this prob for my friend had been on her comp for months.
anyway, not sure this'll work. but hope it helps..
asif... it has many management consoles ... countless utilities, and lots of programs that i will be to re-install... it also has some scheduled tasks that run nightly.... job ka pc hai yar...
koi aur tareeqa hai?
Kwazy Kitty... thanks for the idea.. i will try it
so, i will backup the data and try your suggestions then…
that was such a customized XP with all kinds of utilities… good thing my profile is on network.. I still want that OS back… i will post my findings later today.. Thanks soo much for the help… i am hopeful..
one question… microsoft crash analysis say that my HD is bad… if that is true then how come this OS loads up fine? in any case, once is get my old OS, i will ghost it and replace the HD.
Thats probably a good idea. I have two 40 gb HDs (C & D) and one 300 gb hard drive (E)
I have a scheduled batch file that runs everynight and copies everything that has changed in data folders on C and D to E.
My XP SP2 OS is on C. I have a scheduled ghost program that ghost my OS to E drive every night.
In addition, I run diskkeeper’s defrag every night on a scheduled basis.
I hate using dual boots and there is no need for them anymore. I have dozens of virtual machines with all kinds of OSs (including win98, win2k with multiple iterations, more xp environments, linux) that I run off of my primary XP OS.
You know in your earlier post about get the stuff out of right click when you got rid of that stuff it mit might have changed your registery and creating problems there.
Hold it!! DO NOT replace your registry files with anything unless you have exhausted all the other methods. If you have a previous backup of your registry files and you replace your new ones with them, your system customizations and settings will revert back to the time of the registry backup. In worst case, you will never be able to recover anything from that profile.
The best thing would have been to boot with your original XP CD and try to install in the same directory as your original Windows XP. If there is a previous faulty installation, the setup program usually fixes that and asks you to reboot. Do not go ahead with the installation itself. After the rebooting, the system recovers itself. You can also try fixing your Master Boot Record (MBR) through the setup program.
I do a lot of experimenting with Windows XP/2000 setup and have caused numerous boot failures. However, I am always able to recover, one way or the other. Windows XP/2000 are pretty robust in that regards. Try and you will succeed.
TofiBaba, the solution I mentioned is not going to cause any version conflicts, because it fixes boot files and environment only, which are version independent.
yeah… that was my only fear.. cuz i have boot CDs for Sp1 and i have gone through that before… and have got weird registry errors…
usually i do “Repair Win Xp” but this time, it didn’t give me that option.. pata nahi kyun…
WitchDr, how do i do the MBR thing and also the following
“The best thing would have been to boot with your original XP CD and try to install in the same directory as your original Windows XP. If there is a previous faulty installation, the setup program usually fixes that and asks you to reboot. Do not go ahead with the installation itself. After the rebooting, the system recovers itself. You can also try fixing your Master Boot Record (MBR) through the setup program.”
is it **fdisk /mbr ? **Actually one more problem… i can’t enter the recovery console of the 1st one… even though the admin password is right. I tried entering all local machine and network passwords, but it doesn’t seem to recognize them..
is there anything we could do from my new windows.. (like replacing files in old system folders… is there any way i can do a system restore for the old system ?
p.s. Thanks for your contributions… i m learning a lot in the process
ahhh , another windows crash.... i say come and join the linux group... www.suse.com - never going back to windows again - other than times i don't have access to my computer.. like right now lol
how is the transition... is it the only machine u using?
i went on mac for a few days... couldn't do it...
Finals k time par i had to go back to windows...