cake for my 1 yr old and other nuisancess

its my lil girls first bday in 2 weeks, and whats annoyinggggggggggggg, is the fact that i want a particular cake for her, a princess cake, or pink and white atleast, and her dad, and daddi, are thinking of a normal traditional chcolate cake…its my daughters birthday, and we have already set on the fact that husband wanted to the party at home, i said ok, he said yaha pe parties ghar mein achi lagti hai, house is big and all etc etc,. ok fair enough, now they taking over the cake plans…a 1 yr old should have a disney themed cake or atleast a typcial baby cake, all girly, but they saying you cant get it here in flaming peshawar,and that it makes more sense to just get a normal chocolate one…

i dnt feel like i have a part to play in my own daughters biorthday, the food is made, venue chosen and cake having been almost decided, again, the power is taken out of my hands and beause i cant go out, cant drive, dont know the shops, etc, its pretty much dependent on the husband. this wouldnt be a problem in london, i feel so out of it here.

is there any way i can get a pink and white princess cake here, or shall i leave it as 4 days after her bday we are going to uk, shall i just go and have her birthday party (another one with her nani side) over there?

Re: cake for my 1 yr old and other nuisancess

Check with Pearl Continental Peshawar. Alternately, you can get the cake made on order (most big bakeries do that). BTW, didn’t you guys live in Lahore? :confused:

Also, check with TCS. They have a cake delivery service and maybe they can get you the cake you want from Lahore or Islamabad.

no, cos i dnt think my husband will want any cake being ordered from another city-these things are not a big deal here, cakes and all....if its available here locally, maybe they might, but neither is he gna fork out loads for a cake, esp if they think no one here eats cake like they eat it in london, we all love cake there, here its not the same. but its her first bday jeez. i dono.

If you want to, you can pay yourself, without him knowing lol. It's not gonna cost that much. A really good cake from *Masooms *in LHR can be purchased for around 1200 so I think your total cost ought to be 2k at the max. That's not that much for a 1st birthday.

ooo cool., but i doubt he would want to order it from lahore or anywhere else. its not worth it really, i dnt think even in london, id be ordering a cake from anywhere else other than locally.

It would've been nice to have a pink cake for a baby girl, but seriously these little things hold more meaning when the kid actually understands and enjoys the concept, like my four year old niece. Your baby is only one, she ain't gonna throw a tantrum and refuse to cut the cake if it ain't pink. It'll be more fun and hopefully you and the kiddo will be more involved in planning birthdays when she's a little older. Even in the West, gender neutrality is a new and much appreciated trend. Maybe its only me but I've noticed a lot of parents happily keep their girls away from getting caught up in all Disney pinky Princess-y environment.

Nope, gender-neutrality is *in *these days. Pretty nice concept IMO and one that Pak is desperately in need of.

a lot of designers or decorated cakes are being made from home by various peopple with facebook groups, check who works in peshawer. Also buy pink and white icing from the market and decorate a plain cake, or the top of a chocolate cake with a design u like. or bake cupcakes and do white and pink icing on them, will look sooo cute placed around the cake

But the OP is a brown sahab from UK! :D

I understand it can get frustrating if you are not being able to plan your child's birthday the way you want to.Also I have no idea what kinda cakes you can get in Peshawar,but since it is a main city of Pakistan I am assuming it cant be that bad.
But most of all I hope you are able to enjoy the special occasion and not fret over the color of the icing...her first birthday will soon come and go and you don't wanna regret not cherishing the special moments..!

Why dont you just do one for family in Pakistan and another small one with nana-nani and have the custom made cake there...??
Everyone will be happy...:)

**Maim **sahib :p

Why dont you just do one for family in Pakistan and another small one with nana-nani and have the custom made cake there...??

Do a small one for dada dadi hera and a really big one in London with nana-nani. That's the way its supposed to happen :p

I'm sure you can get a pink frilly cake in Peshawar.

Buy two cakes , she is a princess after all and you are subject of English Queen.

peshawar is soo close to Islamabad, you can order a custom cake at United Bakery in Islamabad (located in super market) we ordered a spiderman cake about two years ago and then drove 5 hours to Mianwali to celebrate my nephews birthday!

It cost only Rs. 1500 (in 2009) and it was the best cake ever!!!

I feel like people enjoy cake more in Pakistan than here!!

:p

Of course you can get pink or themed cakes in Peshawar. My in laws have purchased lovely birthday cakes for the kids in the family from bakeries in Peshawar and I myself had a made-to-order cake made from a baker in Nowshera.

I don't think it's the colour of the cake that's really the issue here though.

Ditto!

If I were you, I would let them ( in laws) eat cake! Let them getwhat they want as you are leaving soon anyways and better not to givethem another reason to fume about and complain about to your hubby, in your absence. Even if you do get your way or even ifyou get 2 cakes, they will be sure to complain about it, not eat it etc. This will make you even more upset. Have her birthday the way you want in the UK along with your friends who will appreciate the cake and oohh and ahh over baby who they will be seeing for the first time. Also, you can use this instanceto show your husband that you let the in laws have their way even thouigh you disagreed! A score for you before you leave!