Re: Cake Decorating
thanks guys! :) using my standmixer made my life so much easier- im in love with that machine!
this thread have inspired me to bake my son's birthday cake myself!
to make a simple cake, i can just bake a basic sponge cake and cover it with whipped cream? will tat be ok? :D
any simple recipes for some basic icings?
YUMMOOO!
Nice work everyone!
FF, your thread has made me think about taking those classes
I gotta do some research about the classes! ![]()
SGC…WOW…!!..thats a really great job u have done…![]()
i know its off topic here…and sorry for that…but i need to ask u sth…u posted this recipe for a peaches and cream pie…i made it once and it was great.I have to make it again for a dinner,and wanted to know if u ever tried it with fresh/frozen peaches instead of the canned ones…??
I dont know how to make any of these professional cakes, but i've always wanted to learn :), I think i am going to consider taking that Michaels course as well, I already found a location here in Mississauga,,, I'm really inspired now,,,
I just have question,,,How do you guys make the cake look so perfect. I've always made my cakes with the ready made mix that u get from Betty Crocker, but mine always ends up tilting to one side or uneven edges, or the icing inside the layers mixing with the icing outside of the cake????? its never perfect like these cakes you have on GS.... But I really wanna take this course now :)
these cakes look so so so amazing sgc and smooth_guy :). how long did it take to make the entire cake and how many months/weeks of classes to learn the techniques??
oh yummmmmm parcel them overr
I dont know how to make any of these professional cakes, but i've always wanted to learn :), I think i am going to consider taking that Michaels course as well, I already found a location here in Mississauga,,, I'm really inspired now,,, I just have question,,,How do you guys make the cake look so perfect. I've always made my cakes with the ready made mix that u get from Betty Crocker, but mine always ends up tilting to one side or uneven edges, or the icing inside the layers mixing with the icing outside of the cake????? its never perfect like these cakes you have on GS.... But I really wanna take this course now :)
Neelum you should make sure ur baking pan is placed in the centre of the oven for even baking. Also you get these strips that you wrap around your baking pan and that ensures an even levelled cake, though I haven't used them yet myself. To stop the filling icing from mixing wit hthe outside icing have to sort of seal the ends of the layer. When you split ur cake in layers you pipe out a border of the outside icing all around the edges of the layer and then fill it up wit hwhatever u want within that boundary you create. Then when you place the top layer over the bottom one the filling doesn't squeeze out cos ur other icing boundery holds it in.
SGC and mrs smoothguy welldone. love both ur cakes.
i have to make a birthday cake for 6 year old, i am thinking of doing choclate filling with choclate bits in it. Any ideas for choclate filling.i mean to say how can i make choclate filling.?
choco filling with hazel nuts rocks and is soooo tasty..,,,,..............the more u beat the cream the more thicker it will be...yamme yammeee
Catty can u plz tell me step by step how i can make this chocco filling with hazelnut plz!
i have recipe for choclate ganash " like cream heat until bubbles, than add choclate morsels and whisk until smooth"
u think i can use this in center filling for cakes, mabe with hazelnuts or i was thinking of doing m&m or any choclate bits!
Ok this thread is making me crave cake...not white but a chocolate one sighs
by the way guys, all your cakes look awesome.
Thank You SGC n Lusi.
omg… that is just amazing.
hummay yeh deti shadi pe toh accha tha.. drooling
^ abhi bhi waqt hai.. aapni wedding anniversary per maang loo
Pehli anniversary toh guzar gaye... chalo abh doosri (InshAllah) anniversary pe maang le gein..
SGC.......WOW...!!...thats a really great job u have done...:)
i know its off topic here...and sorry for that...but i need to ask u sth...u posted this recipe for a peaches and cream pie...i made it once and it was great.I have to make it again for a dinner,and wanted to know if u ever tried it with fresh/frozen peaches instead of the canned ones...??
hi hi, i haven't tried it with fresh fruit... but i'd say go ahead only use slightly under done fruits, not entirely ripe ones. the ripe ones will just disintegrate into a messy puddle in the over.
frozen stuff i tend to stay away from... as it thaws, i find it releases so much liquid it never gets done by the time the rest of the pie is done.
let me know how it turns out!