Hello Cafeites!!
Here are Southie’s answers to your queries. Thank you to all who participated and thank you Southie for being such a good sport!
You can find the original questions here:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-cafe/643538-cafe-q-and-a-southie.html
I look forward to hearing the responses! :hehe:
#CafeHasCookies](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=CafeHasCookies)
Re: Cafe Q&A Answers: Southie!!!
Thanks Khatti. Very nice of you to reach out to this boring old guy. Will try to answer all questions. For give my lack of formatting skills - among other things.
Shak
How did you join GS?
Which part of India are you from?
How did you choose your nickname?
Vaguely remember searching using Pakistan as key word. Don’t know what I was searching for. Ended up at Cafe. And couldn’t make head or tail of all those smilies. Like people had gone nuts. Thought maybe Pakistanis were happy people. There is a thread on that - opened a week ago in Jurnail section.
My ancestors hail from the South.
Wasn’t prepared for login etc. Probably Southie was first thing that popped in.
Penalty shootout was a thrill. Glad to see Argentina through - even though I had predicted Holland to win. Hate their goalies - talking to shooters. Serves them right.
Tried to underline and bold shak. But no dice. Maybe only very senior members can format.
Ess Emm
What’s your work in real life?
Are you married? If so for how long? Do you have any kids? If so how many?
How did your interest in environment and economy/stocks etc start
What were you like as a kid?
Mangoes. Yes or no?
Work - Like most desis. - technical
I am married for as long as my oifu has been married to me
Environmental interest - I have to admit in the 80s I was clueless. But I tried not to waste water. Turned off the lights. Stepped light on the gas. Tried to time lights. Late 90s - one gal once offered to pick up newspapers from those of us who didn’t recycle. That kind of brought home the message. That we all should do our part. Now, the office janitor doesn’t bother to pick up my office trash. For everything is recycled. And food waste goes to kitchen trash. It is a passion.
By the way, I remember the 1st time we crossed paths. You gave me a hard time on that environment thread. Ess Emm. (Ur nick reminds me of Laura Engels from House of the Prairies. That’s what she would say. Yes mm.
Ess Emm contd.
Interest in stocks/economy
Probably with CNBC - Bill Griffith Sue Herrera Ron Insane Bob piano Maria the money honey Bartiromo.
Pretty useless stuff they dish out, IMO. But I didn’t know better those days. Most of them still with CNBC. Started as value investor. Ran into an undergrad colleague who had become big shot in tech company. Got sacked in. Lost shirt..Gained back during 2013 collapse. Lost shirt 2007..Gained back in 2009 collapse. Now I try to share lessons learned. All abt asset allocation and periodic rebalancing. Just love the topic..Ess emm.
Ess Emm contd contd
As a kid, I was stubborn. Walked away in a huff as a 4 yr old. Old bro had to run after me to get me back. Probably was a pain. That hasn’t changed is the feedback I get - both online and real life.
Mango - Ess Emm.
Ess Emm contd contd contd
Paste didn’t work. Please see below.
Ess Emm contd contd contd
one more!
Why do you always write “I never read the thread, I’m just commenting on this one post” when that post is an integral part of the thread and has evolved from the first post, and that means you should be reading the entire thread. So yeah, why?
I deny this charge. Plus, who believes in evolution? Creationism rules.
Yes, I have done this maybe 4 to 6 times. And my records indicate that over 58 pct of time, I have gone back and read the thread. Plus when a post is an integral part of a thread - the Abstract if you will - it would not be prudent to read the entire thread. The 80-20 rule takes over.
Your favorite comedy movie? Anand 1974. The biplay between Anand and Murarilal was great. (Murarilal reminds me of Mr. Monk
Favorite action movie? Sholay
Favorite thriller book and movie? The Kite Runner. Mr. And Mrs. Iyer.
Obama
You talking to ME?*Mr. President, sir. It is an honor. Of course not, sir. I wouldn’t do that. Congratulations on the jobs report. You showed the naysayers, Mr. President.
list all good/bad reasons why you joined GS? There was no reason. It was just something that happened without planning.
How did joining GS help? I think it brought about world peace.
Pyare Waleed
Where do you live uncle*(with the Waleed stare) 
Samiullah (not Kaleemullah) The first time I saw that stare was in one of ur first posts to me. I believe it was about field hockey.
And whats ur real name
Uncle
Devi and Angel
your favi forum on GS? All Views
favi guppy/guppan? Several
annoying guppy/guppan? Self
best part and worst part of GS?
No worst part. Best part - exchanging for the most part good natured ribbing. Being on good terms with folks with who you may have had huge argument not too long ago.
any changes you want in GS
Great thing about forum is change has been happening. For the better. So I wouldn’t change a thing. The structure and management and mods and admins and posters have this nice yo yo ying and yang type relationship. Lots of give and take. Avenues to make ones opinion known. And implementation. Great forum. Some could work on their spelling though.
What makes you coming to GS everyday
Deviji ’ s football predictions
Aayega bhai. Ek tho break Liya meine.
Khattichic
dark chocolate or white chocolate? Is there white chocolate?
Idli or dosa? dosai
what keeps you positive in life?
good question. Without sounding corny, my oifu. Would be a mess otherwise.
are you glass is half full or half empty type? Glass 30 pct full.
how many languages are you fluent in? 3.
Who is your favorite cm on gs? We would ask our uncle - chitappa chitappa what is your favorite movie. He would say - the last movie I saw.
My favorite CM is the last CM I interacted with. (Why no capital letters in your questions? )
if you ever met monk in real life, how do you imagine that conversation going???
We would probably agree on most everything. Environment - he is Mr. Environment. In terms of tolerance, he sets the standard. So after 30 min, there will be an awkward silence.
Ethan the GIFF Hunt
pehle ethan aya ya anda?
Aapne Aisa gehra sawal pesh kiya hai ke humein Uljhan mein daal diya. Jab aapki ammijaan aapko markit mein anday laaney ke liye bhejti hain, aap misbehave karte hain. Aur aapki ammijaan aapse naraz ho kar aapke bhai ko markit pe bhejti hain. Aur aap muskurate huwe giff mein lage rahte hain.
tho ab rahi baat - anday ya aap, kaun pehle aaya? Aap tho gaye hi nahin. Isliye aane ki baat hi nahi hoti.
Sawal ka jawab - anday.
Sham the long post Savera
Awesome idea, KC.
This is not in question format.
so Southie where were you born?
Kaleemullah
where did you grow up? Ranji Trophy dominating team of the era
where have you travelled? Europe Japan Canada US
fav food? Biryani Pizza Greek Italian Hunan Korean
once i reach 15000 posts i have similar ambitions. jk. i think ive said too much already. no mystery left
One post of yours has a multiplier of 100. So you have comfortably passed me by. Hope this happens in real life. May success be yours.
SLPS contd
what is your philosophy on life?
This made one member gag. But I will take my chances. Equality for all in every which way possible and imaginable.
How do you choose friends?
Not sure I have many. Friends from undergrad days. And those i grew up with.That’s about it.
Have you met many Pakistanis in real life and what provinces?
Yes. Not too many. One in Uni. He was Punjabi. We talked a lot. But never abt India Pakistan. Couple of gas station owners.
do you have children..how old? Where did you meet Southie Aunty and was it love at first sight?
Oifu
SLPS contd contd
do you have kids, Southie Uncle? Are any of them married? I think you would make a cool FIL
Thank you. That’s sweet
ekumunng
Why not Northie?
Always rooted for Prasanna, Chandrasekhat, Venkat, Gundappa Vishwanath, Abid Ali, Kirmani et al over Arun Lal, Kirti Azad. Though fondnes for Bedi Mohinder Amarnath and Mahan Lal deflates this logic. Answer - just because
Why you no post in Travel & Tourism forum?
Hate traveling. It’s a chore.
Did you ever get*#cafeCookie*? What are those. I see ads all over. Then I see counter ads abt Cafe lies. Is there some turf battle going on? Who is winning so I can join the bandwagon.
Predict the world cup winner!
Tough one. I had Brazil. Germany looks good. Thought whiny Rummel ’ s Holland would beat Argentina.
Will go with Messi. IA