Cafe interview Q&A : Fresh-Baked-Pie (Answers)

**Salam ****Guppies
**It’s **Pay-**Back Time
****Thank You Everyone For Posting Questions
For Our Mehman
Fresh
-Baked-Pie
:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:
She will answer all your questions in this
thread

**The question thread is here
**http://gupshup.org/gs/gupshup-cafe-/668149-cafe-interview-fresh-baked-pai.html

**F****BP **hazar ho
:fbp::cheer:

Re: Cafe interview Q&A : Fresh-Baked-Pie (Answers)

Just you wait until it’s your turn. NO MERCY! :hbk:

@LP! You’re first cutie!

***“Your life philosophy?”

I don’t believe in having an ultimate goal. I’m a fan of lots of smaller ones a la Tim Minchin (CLICK). “I advocate passionate dedication to the pursuit of short term goals. Be micro ambitious. Put your head down and work with pride on whatever is in front of you. You never know where you might end up” Watch his whole address… very clever! Particularly numbers 2 and 5… both of which I try to do every single day: “Most of society’s arguments are kept alive by a failure to acknowledge nuance.” But none of this is a proper answer eh? Let me try again…

I think that my main goal, if you can even call it that, has always been to surrender to life. That is to say not be just a passive experiencer of it but an architect of it who is not immovable when situations don’t go as planned. I don’t fight against life; I strive to find the path through it. And there is always a path even in the darkest point where you find yourself groping for either meaning or a sense of self. I’ve always liked what Martha Nausbaum said on the subject, “To be a good human being is to have a kind of openness to the world, an ability to trust uncertain things beyond your own control.” And that of course is the paradox of life for us all… one of the very things that sets us apart; our empathy and ability to trust in others (our vulnerability), also makes us so beautifully fragile. In accepting this fragility as an asset to my humanity rather than something that must be cut out or hardened in order to survive leaves me just as open to the good stuff (love, etc) as it does to the bad.

***“Your shopping philosophy?”

Hmmmmm… let’s see

• I try to keep my wardrobe carefully curated.
  • I lean more towards natural fibres.
  • If I can’t afford it, I don’t buy it.
  • If it doesn’t fit properly (either in my world or on my body), I don’t buy it.
  • If I can’t find it, I wait.

Above all, I try not to compromise. I’d rather wait and spend a larger amount on one good quality item than buy ten cheaper versions of it elsewhere.

I do have rare moments of impulsivity like my most recent shoe purchase which might turn out to be an epic fail… we’ll see when they get here but *generally *with clothing/ accessories I try to be decisive. Art is a completely different matter though! I’ll look at certain pieces for months before I decide… in doing so sometimes I lose out on them and that’s okay… it was never meant to be. I’m considering two pieces right now actually!

***“What keeps you coming back to GS?”

I think this is a fascinating mishmash of people. Well that and it’s good practice! I read more than post there but I really like the arts and culture section.

***“What would you trade your dog for?”

Peace and quiet? :cb: … No… okay um I’d be devastated but I suppose if a potential spouse had some kind of odd allergy (there’s no such thing as a hypoallergenic dog but Samoyeds are generally considered the closest thing to it because they lack dander), I’d give Charles to one of my sisters. But barring that it would have to be a very drastic situation. Charles is a part of the family. I mean mum and dad treat him better than me!

***“The most terrible cooking experience?”

Do you mean that I’ve had when someone else was cooking or when I’ve been the cook? I’m going to assume the latter but if I’m wrong I’ll give you other stories. Anyway, Charlie stole the main entree of a meal I had prepared for a small dinner party when he was a puppy right at the eleventh hour. It really was my own fault for putting it low enough that he could reach it but I almost had heart failure! lol
Oo! I once singed my eyebrows doing a flambe trying to impress my mum! :omg: :daaghu1:

***The best and worst experience of your life?

Well there have been many bests but the one that supersedes them all won’t surprise you and that is the birth of my son (a relatively funny story for another time!)

The worst is easy to answer as well. It was my fathers death. It’s not something I speak about much which is why I haven’t mentioned it before. My (biological) father passed away of Pancreatic Cancer. From diagnosis to death was just under 3 weeks. By the time we found it, as is often the case with this type of cancer, it was just too late. He fought as hard as he could though! When he first went in to the doctor, we thought it was kidney stones. The day before his appointment I have vivid memories of the two of us joking about how we’d have to name them all (the kidney stones I mean lol!) I still chuckle about that sometimes. Dad had the most wonderful sense of humour. He was still making jokes right up until the very end. Just a truly joyous person. The man I refer to in the present tense as Dad is my wonderful step father. Mum honestly couldn’t have remarried better… I love him dearly! I had/have the two best dads on the face of the planet!

^^^ So surprising that your philosophy of life is so similar to mine, I teach my children to not get bitter at things we don’t like in life and learn to navigate changes and try to anticipate and prepare for next big change. Oh!! and my life goal is to be remembered the way you remember your father and my wife hers.

She put me on the spot with that one! haha… but watch the video I link to! I think you’ll get a kick out of it.

​Ohh…I am late again… :sid:

:steyn:

You can still ask questions in question thread.. Make it quick.

You are not alone. Your obedient soldier is behind you, sir :salute:

​Aik tou demagh kaam krna chorr gya hai…sochne do zor daalta hoon :stuck_out_tongue:

Good…bht ho gya…ab sochne do mjhe distrb nae kro :mad:

Badaam khaya karo..badaam

Ohkie :k: wear thinking cap..
Agar mil ni rhi ho toh LP G se le lo

​Badaam khana bhi tou bhool jata hoon :sid:

LP G ke sath ghoomna band kar do. Induction ho raha hai :halo:

@Pakistani_Prince

“******how did you come across GS?”

A google search! When I first met with my Urdu tutor he suggested I find a community to help “immerse” me in the language (or you know… mock me when I say the wrong thing lol!) A couple forums came up but I this one had a post on Usain Bolt in the sports section that caught my eye. :k:

***“Have you even been to Pakistan?”

No! And I had had plans to travel there this Winter but those have been completely thwarted by the current political climate here… if the Desperate Cheeto occupying the White House would stop singling out Pakistan, I’d be much more comfortable planning my trip! I’m not worried about going… I’m worried about what I’ll face in the airport coming home! I promised my mother I would hold off for a few months at least (which upset me but whaddya gonna do!)

***“What’s your ethnic origin?”

That of a mutt. I’m mixed with a bunch of different things dude (Latin, Syrian, European, Indo Caribbean, etc.) Let’s just put it this way… no one in my family stayed in their own lane lol.

***“What’s your academic qualification?”

I have a BSc and a number of professional credentials that are related to my field. I don’t really want to go for a Masters. I like the flexibility of being able to randomly take shorter courses that interest me.

***“Why did chicken cross the road?”

You have nothing better to do with yourself eh? :hehe: My answer is YOLO or when in doubt, consult the great thinkers of our time: CLICK

***“Are you apolitical? never saw you in politics forum of GS..”

Oh no… I’m very political but I don’t come here for that! My political life is lived in real world, not antagonizing people on the internet when we each know the other isn’t going to change our minds etc.

***“Which county or city do you want to visit before you die?”

Tons! Madagascar, Patagonia, Nepal, Iceland, Bali, Iran, etc. Seriously everywhere I haven’t been! Particularly here: CLICK

***“Your favourite food dish?”

This would be like picking a favourite child (if I had more than one.) If forced at gun point to answer, I’d have to say I’ve never met a noodle or a rice dish I didn’t like. Give me a specific genre and I’ll list a few!

***“Your celebrity crush?”

Okay… so you and @NaanGuard essentially asked similar questions with this one so I’ll answer them both here. The most boring thing in the world to me is perfection. I have very little interest in it and I find manufactured perfection to be supremely suspicious. I suppose that’s why celebrities don’t interest me. That is to say of course they aren’t perfect but their lives have a prepackaged, carefully curated feel to them; a veneer of perfection. I lived that veneer daily in my marriage and can tell you that it has a definite shelf life. I honestly don’t care about any of them. Really. And what little trivia I’ve gleaned over the years has come by way of others or accident. It’s probably the reason that while I can appreciate the aesthetic of a Japanese garden, I wouldn’t want to get up and see it every day. Pretentious? You bet!

That being said, I think they are some wonderfully talented and underrated actors/actresses out there. But most of the ones that interest me to any degree are dead. It would be interesting to see if you could guess who a few of them might be @NaanGuard I’d bet you’d nail this challenge.)

***Name 3 Guppies you want to go on a long drive with to a far off place …

That would honestly depend on where we were going… for instance if we were driving to a shopping excursion or some kind of girls day out I’d want to drag @LP, @Reha, @Muzna, and @Munni with me. If we were driving to go on some kind of culinary adventure I’d take @Bobby1, @Sajalina, and *you *with me! If we were going to something speed related like the Nardo Ring or Ehra Leissen, I’d take @Hakuna_Matata, @Cheegum, and @NaanGuard. If I was going somewhere completely off the beaten path, I’d take @aqua70, Nav, and @Pisiform.

Me nae ghoomta kisi k sath bhi :nahi:

Ohhhh I’ll be at this for awhile guys… you’ve got time.

Liar :nook:

@LP!

“Your first GS friend?”

@SID_NY reached out to me first… followed by Hakuna who is easily the most friendly, good natured person I’ve ever encountered! And of course you know how much I adore you and @aqua70

***“Best GS moment?”

Have I even been here long enough to have one! LOL You tell me! What do you think? (By the way I lumped your philosophy and main goal questions together to save time :k:)

***“Where do you see yourself 20 years from now?”

I honestly have no idea and that’s half the fun of life right there! I can extrapolate, based on the direction I’m heading now, that I’ll be retired and travelling the world but I might also find myself knee deep in a muddy jungle somewhere (I mean… hopefully doing something constructive like digging a well.) Whatever it is I hope I am having a helluva good time doing it and spending a chunk of my day laughing!

***“Your regret?”

A life well lived will always have some regrets. Mine mostly centre around the times I’ve hurt people or let them down. And though my marriage ended in a spectacularly bad way I can’t regret it because I got the best part of it in my son. Boy did I learn just how strong I am.