c sections in Pakistan???

In past ten years, all my cousins including my sister, everyone that I know of had a c-section in Pakistan.. some were planned and others were needed for one reason or another!!

Today I was talking to an older family member in Pakistan who asked me if I have found out about normal delivery or c-section so I said inshaALlah it will be a normal delivery, and to my surprise she replied by saying, I pray that you get a c-section, they just cut you up, pull out the baby and hand it over to you… no pain at all… it’s so easy!! I was like, Allah na karay, please dun say that! I am so afraid of c-section and that will be my last choice ever… as soon as she realized I was offended she changed her tone and said, well I dunno about US but in Pakistan, docs dun take risk.. they would do a c-section and save you and the baby!! I didnt know what to say except that inshaAllah everything will work out!!!

I later called my mom and had this conversation with her.. I told her that I think c-sections in Pakistan are just one way of making money.. how come they schedule the c-section in the first trimester.. she disagreed with me as well and emphasized a lot on teh fact that c-section is considred better than normal delivery in pakistan!!

I felt so lame saying that yeah they have time for c-sections in Pakistan because they all stay at home after giving births, I will have to go back to work in 6 weeks so I cant afford the c-section recovery unless absolutely necessary! I think I offended some people with that.. but I dunno why it just rubbed me the wrong way when someone said they will pray for me to have a c-section! :frowning:

Is this a trend in Pakistan? Am I missing something here?

Re: c sections in Pakistan???

c-section is my last resort .. i would rather have 4 days of labour pains instead, oh wait I did exactally have that with my first delivery.

atleast u recover more faster, the 5 th day i was at home cooking and cleaning .. with c-section it takes weeks and u are right about them having the luxuary of having servents, relatives to take care of them for whole 40 days, here its just us.

If I was in Pak I guess I'd go for a CS too coz ill have parents/relatives etc all around

plus i'm sure most women take that option so they don't have to go back to "work" (I.e with in laws :p)

thats what I thought too... i mean they actually hire women to come and give massages to you after child birth and I sooo remember my cousins not even lifting a finger for so many months afetr c-section... their maid or mothers will bring the child to them for nursing and that will be it... they practically raise the baby for you for first few months!!!

I guess c-section is a luxury in Pakistan.. but honestly I dun want to generalize, i wonder if someone else has heard anything similar as well or experienced this in their family??? or is this just the girls in my family are spoiled (sorry girls if you are reading this :p)

I am in Pakistan and I had an emergency C-section. I joined my office after 6 weeks and no body came to give me massages I working like anything at home too and my baby was in hospital for quite sometime after birth and I was in & out the whole time. People think that everything is so easy in Pakistan but it's not really true.

Small hospitals do alot of c sections mainly because they make more money out of it. But that is not the case in good hospitals . Atleast I was never told in my entire 7 months that I would have a c section.

good to hear from you diamond... like I said, it's very much possible that its the only case in my family... pretty much all of these children were born in Pindi/islamabad at good hospitals so I dunno whats the reason behind it!!!I m sorry of I offended you unintentionally, but I never meant to say that everything is easy for everyone in Pakistan... I was really talking about the people i know.. they do have easy lives alhamdulillah(or at least according to my standards), none of them went back to work after giving birth and yes they were pampered like anything, had post baby massages, lots of good food, do you know how tasty panjeri is? in fact I only had it once but it was considered a special treat for women who just gave birth, I envied them!!! I have asked my mom to come here so I can be pampered to :$ and i hope she knows how to make panjeri :D

and I started this topic only because I was very shocked to see when this older family member prayed for me to have c-seciton just because it's sooo easy than pushing!!!

GTG dun bother with her comments. i think u took it a bit harshly. she only wanted ur gud...take it that way. plus unke kehnay se apka CS ho toh nahi jaiga na... na hi woh literally namazo mein duah mangh rahi hongi ke u have CS. so relax. i wanted a normal too but after havin no contractions i was admitted in morning 10 am, given piticon.. had from normal to high level contractions and finaly had CS at 7am next day!!!! so it was not in my hands. my labour was not progressing. i was dilating v v slow even after piticon tablet. anyway even if they had said try try.. i wudve said cut me up anyway.. the pain was agonising. i dunno if it was becus of piticon or was it actual pain. pls b mentally prepared for everythin. dun b adamant abt normal delivery. sometimes circusmtances are such u cannot avoid it. i didnt think of CS and was shocked to b cut up in the end. the pain after CS was s***tty!!!!! it was as if someone put 500 kg weight in that area. i will not pray u have normal cus only Allah knows best. the best prayer is.. jo apke liye sahi ho.. jis mein apki behtari ho Allah kare wohi ho IA.. :)

C-sections are very famous in Lahore as well. Most people somehow think it is better as you wont have as many pans as with the natural delivery, however they forget the post-operativ recovery involved with a c-section. From my knowledge, if a delivery is taking "too long" or the mother is in very much pain, the doctor will go for a c-section, even though it probably wasnt needed. Some even have it planned beforehand, though there is no indication for it, but just because they dont want pains! ..

They r very common here in denmark...so much so tha women started to get counceling when they would kust make up their minds that they want c secs the min they would finf them selves preg...only cuz of the fear of lbour...

In pak i have a few friends that did just that and thier docs said u guys are mad for choosing taht route...but their minds were made.

I would never go the c sec route out of free will...atleast withviginal birth i was up and about a few hours after delivery.... Who wants to get tied down with 6 weeks of full recovery time.?!

yep mall you are right.. I know she didn't intend anything bad on me.. it was just her way of showing concern and to save me from labor pain.. like I said even my mom agreed with that statement... I have an open mind towards whatever it will be, i will never jeopardize the health and safety of the baby at any point so it's understood that if needed, I will happily go under the knife.. no second thoughts about it but yes not my preference!! My post wasn't about what or why she said so, it was more about really is that so common in Pakistan? I was just curious if it really is practiced normally as much as it is in my family! no harm feelings at all!

Sweetmoi.. exactly, thats what I was told.. long labor is risky so they just decide the c-section! or sometimes thats the preference of the family/woman and they stick to that!

Khawa.. really? and I thought Denmark was all midwives and natural birth... i guess not!!! yep who would want a recovery time after birth too.. isnt pregnancy long enough anyway!?!?!? I would want to enjoy my baby as soon as possible inshaAllah :-)

I love panjeri. :yummy:

gem…it IS getting more n more common here in pak from what i know.
From what i’ve observed women are just too scared of natural birth n sometimes even the elders start thinking that the new generation of mothers isn’t really able to cope with pain …i totally disagree…it is nothing but a perception.
I have been through both …the c-section for me was an emergency one and i hated it. And it was added trouble with the fact that zainab was premature and was in intensive care and i was supposed to attend her every four hrs starting from day 2. It was the toughest time for me as i was discharged earlier n zainab was there for 17 days . Forget the massage women n rest for 6 weeks…i was too busy to even think about it.
It was even more crazy for 4-5 days after zainab’s birth coz almost everyone calling from pakistan used to ‘inform’ me how hard it is to survive for babies born pre-mature. :rolleyes:

Khair…I would say may Allah pave way for whatever is best for you n your baby, amen!

Initially that's what I thought...that a vaginal delivery hurts like hell but at least ure up and about after a few hours/days....but after looking up some of the things that can happen (tears etc)...those seem just as bad as post-cs recovery.... :-(

If I ever have the choice, I would prefer vaginal delivery. that's just me.

Are you sure about that? Because from my knowledge C-sections are not recommended at all in DK if there is not an indication for it, plus the mifwives always talk women out of them or tell them its not an option. I have at least seen that with my immediate family and bhabhi, who really wanted a c-section. A c-section is quite costy compared to natural birth, so I really dont think the hospitals in Dk who are ALWAYS on budget-cutting are just offering C-sections here and there.

Tbats true sweetie… I was most surprised too but its true…there was a documentary on it on DR… Den unge modre had an episode on it too …i just thouf oh dumb knocked up teens too scared bout vaginal birth…but its not just them… Its mature grown up women too scared of a csec…

And not true… If u want a c sec, u are within ure rights to have one … No one can stop u… After hearing about my delivery pains… A friend of my husband tht works with the health ministry told us, by law evwry woman has the right to choose c sec over a vaginal delivery, issue or not. Yes midwives will try their best to talk them out of it but if their hearts are set on it, the hospitl hs to deliver.

High taxes free ke nahi hai :snooty:

Hmmm, don't people get an old-fashioned epidural these days?

Epidural did jack for me ... So its not exactly a miracle drug.

A c section would be a last resort for me too. That is major operation and many new mums are not able to breastfeed after that. In the UK, there is a lot of emphasis put on having a normal vaginal delivery and I would much rather go through that pain than having it easy. Giving birth naturally is the most unique pain there is. I accept that a c section will have to be done of the baby is breech or in distress but just to have a c section @to get it over and done with quickly' is a really poor excuse. Mashallah all my babies very heavy at birth but I gave birth naturally even though I had to use crutches because of their weight. In the UK, there is a trend among the rich ladies/models/footballers wives who opt for a c section because they are 'too posh to push'. Their luxury hospital suite costs about £2,000 per night and they are out the next day!

Damn, they are really freaky!.. I had the opportunity to spend two days at a gyn ward at a hospital and all the damn women talked about there was, how they wont just give out C-section.. ! I didnt know about the law surprised!

In Pakistan, epidural isn't the norm, yes in big hospitals it is, but not regular ones, tha'ts why people wish for c-sections sometimes. An epidural is better than a c-section. C-sections are major surgery. If needed good, if not not essential.