please share ur experience ,mine is gonna be first and believe me i am soooo scared:teary1:
Re: C SECTION
My friend has just had her 2nd C'section and i had one too with my first and only child. The op itself is not dat scary or painful as they numb ur lower-half wid d anaesthetic, but the after-pain is terrible - you would definetly need sumone to support you for at least a good 2-3 weeks, preferably ur mum or sis or even ur partner.... you will need a lot of help with lifting, getting up, sitting and sometimes even washing, etc for the first few days. I remember the pain, it was all concentrated towards the stitches - then you have to have the stitches removed which shouldnt hurt but still doesnt feel too good... i would just say read up as much as possible about it on d net and make sure u got sumone supportive around u, i'm sure u'll be fine - also the docs recommend dat a woman waits at least 3-5yrs before she has her next child if she had a C-Section as ur body needs to recover n dat.
hope that helps.
wts better havin a c section or natural birth??
natural birth ofcourse..if everything is normal and c-sec is not indicated !
The procedure of C-section is not bad, as post above mentions you are numb. In my case I had been put to sleep, because they performed emergency c-section as baby was in bad position. If possible definitely get ALLL the help you can get in the first few weeks post c-section. Im sure your doctor will advise you, but as soon as you are able..WALK!
I know it will hurt like heck in th ebeginning, but believe it or not, walking helps and eases the pain slowly. Make sure to rest as prescribed as well, and demand pain killers if they give em to you.
In my case once I got home, I was in pain...but I didn't take the pain killers, becuz they knocked me out for hours at a time, and I really wanted to spend time with my newborn n bond. But i look back and I probably should have taken the pain killers to ease my discomfort.
But regardless of whatever happens, you have no choice. Think positively, I knew I was scared, but it turned out fine. And best part is you have a healthy beautiful baby.
The following is true and tested advice coming from me (2 sections) and a host of other women (friends/family) who have had it, including medical people.
C sections are not bad at all provided you have a good attitude and are willing to work towards getting better quickly. You need to be the major partner in your healing.
Before the surgery, you will hardly feel anything. Just the prick of a few needles for epidural or spinal anesthesia (lower body is numb). General Anesthesia is rarely given these days except for emergencies. If a doctor is trying to give you GA, question him/her very carefully. During surgery you will feel a tugging sensation but no pain. You may also feel breathless for a while if your blood pressure drops. It is completely normal and you are not actually choking. Since you will be awake with epidural or spinal, tell your doctors how you are feeling during the surgery. If you are comfortable, it is nice to have your husband or someone close to you sitting near your head during surgery. They can talk to you and give you a running commentary if you like. The doctors also have a tendency to chatter amongst themselves about everything under the sun. Do not panic, they know what they are doing and are paying attention to your surgery. Tell them occasionally how you are feeling. They like feedback.
Make friends with the nurses who take care of you. They are an invaluable resource and are available at all times. Doctors do the rounds once in a while and truly do not know all the surgical recovery tricks. Nurses see it all everyday. They are also more willing to help you, if they realise that you are trying your best to be part of your healing process.
DO NOT LAY IN BED. As soon as the nurses let you (sometimes in as little as 6 hours after surgery), get out of bed and keep walking. For hours if you can. Drag your IV with you if nessecary. Take your pain medication on time and keep walking even if you feel that you can not do it. Use your will power. YOU CAN AND SHOULD. The more you walk, the faster you heal. The excercise starts the stomach processes working and you pass gas and the pain lessens sooner. You will have a less painful bowel movement too (and belive me the first BM after the baby is the worst in your life).
Ask for your urine catheter to be removed as soon as possible. Get up and walk to the bathroom. The catheter is both irritating to your tract and sometimes makes one to lazy to get up. Get it out and take charge of your own healing.
When you are given the go ahead, start eating foods with roughage as soon a possible. Drink lots and lots of water. Try not to eat foods that will increase gas but fibrous food must be eaten. Pain medications and surgery cause constipation which is a major cause of pain (due to gas pressing on the wound), so try and have a BM as soon as possible. Ask the nurses for suppositories if nessecary if nothing happens for a couple of days after starting to eat solid food.
Take a shower as soon as the nurses will let you (perhaps the next day). Stand under a hot shower and you will feel much better almost immediatly. Your limbs will loose thier stiffness and the wound will be cleansed. Now a days, the nurses will remove the bandage as soon as possible and encourge you to shower and keep the wound open to the air as much as possible.
Sitting around in bed and babying your wound is the worst thing you can do. The stitches or staples are quite strong and will not open. The cut muscles do not require babying... like all the old ideas about no lifting for weeks and stuff. Take the normal precautions and dont go bench pressing 300 lbs or anything for a couple of weeks, but normal things around the house should and can be done. You can take care of your own baby after about a week. After a week or so, you can lift reasonable amounts of weight and resume a completely normal life... go shopping, drive.. everything. Take the pain medication and get out of bed! The whole desi thing about not doing anything and behaving like an invalid does not allow for healing. It makes recovery from c section, slower but physically and psychologically.
Breast feed your baby as much as possible. You will feel pain when your uterus contracts as the baby feeds but it will help pressure on your wound and help it heal faster. If feeding the baby and positioning the baby is confusing or hurts your incision, try the "boppy pillow" (google for it) or feed the baby in the "football" postion (baby lies on a pillow underneath your underarm curved around the side of your body....with legs curved towards your back and head towards your breast..... google for instructions... football hold).
If you are having trouble feeding the baby at first, use a breast pump until you establish feeding.
If the baby can stay in the nursery during the night, except for feeding, do that. It will allow you to get some rest at night after all the walking. They can bring the baby to you for feeding every few hours at night. You can stay awake during the day and care for the baby if you like. This will establish a good day/night routine from the start.
Lay the baby on your chest in complete skin to skin contact as much as you can(take off your shirt/blouse/nitie to allow this). It is good for physical and psycological reasons for both baby and you. Skin to skin contact is very important. Healing works in various mysterious ways and this is one way.
If you have any symptions of depression or feel overwhelmed mentally, tell a nurse or doctor rightaway. After c section most patients are so focussed on thier wound, that they fail to identify post partum depression. Some crying and feeling sad is normal and usually will hit you in a couple of days after the surgery, but prolonged crying, feelings of abandonment, complete lack of appetite, too much or too little sleep, and not wanting to interact with the baby may be signs of post ppartum depression. If you have post partum depression, it is ok, it can be treated. It can be serious if left untreated. You are not "weak or stupid" to have it. It is.a biochemical reaction to your hormones readjusting.
Most of all, enjoy and be involved in the process even if it is painful. You will not experience all this, everyday of your life.
Good luck and enjoy your baby when he/she arrives.
oohh good luck inshallah it will al be ok an ul be a yummy mummy
My wife had C-Section, you need someone to take care of you and your baby, and take full rest, Good Luck
But I thought many women prefered C-section? ![]()
Now they have stiches that dissolve after a while so you don’t have to have them removed later on..
stitches are still removed in Csection.
^ stitches are still removed in Csection.
I am sure it wasn't in my bhabi's case.
PS Where do you live?
canada:)
hmmph backward Canuckistan! ![]()
well i live in NJ and i had metal staples as well...no dissolving stitches. I think it depends on the doctor and hospital. I wasn't given enough pain medication either, even though i was begging for more......but nurses told me my doctor prescribed enough meds just to take the edge off!!! :(
And I wish I knew about questioning the doctor...I was under general anesthesia...when it was supposed to be spinal. It was an emergency c-section..i forget but i think baby was sideways and way up in my rib cage the morning of my c-section..and she said now we'll have to do general...
i did ask her why...and i think her answer was because it was way up high, so they woud have to do a lot of pulling and tugging..etc....
but i didnt question it any further then :(
General sucks!!! it took me forever to wake up fully...i think i met my baby like 5-6 hours post delivery :( I was veryyyy groggy
I had internal stitches tha dissolved and external metal staples that were removed. My doctor was trying to minimized my scaring and thought she could make it as tight as possible, thus used metal staples...i still had some scar but i think that's a desi thing.
This was my second abdominal surgery so b/c of that i had complications which made my c-sxn a bit longer and "complex" than anticipated...i was open i think for at least 30 min and the whole procedure took 45-60 min ( i think most are 15-30 min) i was awake the whole time and talked to the anesthesiologist and was able to up my dosage when needed...even asked for an oxgyen mask not that i needed it but b/c i "felt" that i couldn't breathe, and they told me that my stats were at 100% but were fine with giving a mask to feel better/more comfortable. I also felt like i had to vomit and did spit some stuff out..so let them know before it was coming though.
Soooooo my advice is to bAsically be aware of what's going on and feel free to let the staff know where you stand/how you feel.
I was well medicated b/c pain management was an important part of the hospital's outlook on major painful surgery and would help me get moving which helped with the recovery. They actually kept the spinal in me for not just day of surgery but the full next day to take it out day 2...it was some new thing the hospital was doing. Anasthesia's pain management team checked on me regularly and it really helped.
My friend is an ob/gyn and she said alot of patients freak out and that is whwy drs may push for general if there is concern about complications or the patient. I think it was great to see my daughter when i did...though i was really thankful i had my husband's hand to hold onto as i was freaking out a bit.
I had My 1st one in Toronto Canada and had dissolveable stiches
2nd One In Saudi arabia Dissolveable stitches inside and out side but also few metal staples on the outside which were removed after 3 days and then steri strips
for baby #3 i am told the staples will be removed day 5th and then steri strips
It really Depend on the doctor and the Hospital
thanx all for all the advices my fellow guppies.well let see what will happen to me .inshahALLAH all will be fine.just pray for me and for my baby:)
My friend's wife have 2 go through a C Section.... she was fine through out her pregnancy, but at the last moment when she was due for 5 days, doctor made the required tests n declared emergency C Section, he said "bachay ka saans laynay mein masla ho raha hai n donoun ki jaan ko khatra hia" but my friend told me she was fine when they got her ultra sound done 5 days earliar from another gynecologist. He was telling me she had comlications through out her pregnancy, Baby was healthy n growing fine.
Her family lives back in Pakistan.
Can any1 tell whatelse could be the possible reason becoz it does not make any sense 2 me???
My wife has performed over 200 C-Sections, they don't sound like fun. But I suppose they are safe, common procedures. Good luck, hope everything works out for you.