Bye Bye Music in NWFP

I think it is time to start burying the VCR’s and CD players as they did in Afghanistan. I am starting to enjoy my mp3 player more and more.

This is from Khalid Hassan’s article in TheFridayTimes of Dec 13.

A report in this newspaper described the scene in the NWFP Assembly that has seen better days: “Amid thumping of desks, the Chief Minister declared a ban on all taverns and gambling dens and directed all district administrations to immediately implement it. He said all drivers and conductors who refuse to stop buses and coaches to offer prayers, despite being asked by the passengers, would be punished according to law.”

He then thundered, “We cannot allow VCRs and tape recorders in passenger vehicles in our province.” He also announced that separate ablution stands would be constructed for women at bus stands, adding, “We all have to respect the law. My cabinet ministers and I will first apply the rules to ourselves and then ask others to obey the law. Our decisions will not be personal.” He also threatened to “compel” all government departments to “follow the law.”

What can one say except: come back Zia-ul-Haq. All is forgiven

hey if they were listenign to the current crop of pushto songs that are playing at full volume on minibuses (here's the general rythim, tang-ting-tang-ting-tang-ting-tang ding, or dhim-patakha-dhina-dhin) or pakistani pop music, I guess I support the NWFP dude not on grounds of some religious reason, but thatss lame music.. it should be banned for being crappy. :)

Shabbash!

At this rate, by next year the MMA should be able to move Balochistan and NWFP back to the 13th century :hehe: :biggthumb

they just like 8 year old boys .. no women for them :nono:

i am so happy to hear that :slight_smile:

i hope the rest of the country follows suit too insha ALLAH :k:

ALLAH O AKBAR :k:

Irem , Are you willing to join them and live JUST like them? You are saying this from the comforts of your living room in Amreeka. You are hypocritic. Shame on you.

*Originally posted by funguy: *

Irem , Are you willing to join them and live JUST like them? You are saying this from the comforts of your living room in Amreeka. You are hypocritic. Shame on you.

Whoa. Hold it Funguy bro, Dilon ke Haal siraf ALLAH janta hae, so how could you label me as a hypocrite? :~) Yes I do think I would be willing to live JUST like them, because as a Muslim my aim in life is to live like a Mominah, I may be very far from that right now but that does not mean I am not striving towards it. How do you know what my lifestyle in Amreeka is or what my family background in Pakistan is, and how religious/non-religious and liberal/conservative I am in my actions? :~) Don't judge brother :)

I will only believe you once you have lived a day with them. Like I said, it is easier said than done.

If you are such a Mominah, then you should be aware of the aaya in the Quran, " Deen may jabbar nahee". Meaning there is no zabardasti in Islam. These Mullahs are dictating how a person is supposed to live. If Allah (SWT) really wanted Insaan to live in a certain way, He could have done it. But that wasn't the intent in creating human beings. He gifted us with a mind and ability to choose between good and evil. Who are these Mullahs to judge us?.

Don’t believe me then :~) As long as Allah knows whats in my heart, you are welcome to think whatever you want as I have nothing to prove to you about myself. :~)

BTW, I never claimed to be a Mominah.

I don’t think the mullahs are judging anyone here. All that is happening is the implementation of SHARIAT, or atleast some part of SHARIAT in Pakistan, and I completely favor that, as I think its a step in the right direction :k: I do not think whats happenning can be classified as ‘compulsion’ in the way it is forbidden in Islam…that applies to more drastic cases such as forcibly converting people to Islam.

The post is about laws regarding public behavior on the streets which doesn’t apply as compulsion, atleast I don’t think so.

Allah o Alim

Rab Rakha

I do not think whats happenning can be classified as 'compulsion' in the way it is forbidden in Islam

It's music and VCRs today. It will be women stepping out of the home tomorrow. Where are you gonna draw the line?. You being a woman should be most concerned about the interpretation of the Quran by these Mullahs.

And if you really don't mind living like them, please make sure you have a Mehrem ready with you next time you plan on travelling in or out of Pakistan. And I am very sure they don't offer Buy One Fly One Free discounts.

Don't believe me then :~) As long as Allah knows whats in my heart, you are welcome to think whatever you want as I have nothing to prove to you about myself. :~)

Irem, let's not get personal here. I am not criticizing you in any capacity whatsoever. We are discussing the laws being implemented by the newly elected MMA in NWFP/Balochistan. Let's be objective. I am sorry if I said anything personal in my earlier posts. It wasn't the intent.

See this is what i'm talking about - instead of focusing on real issues - like women getting stoned to death for being raped, they're focusing on something that is actually a minor matter.

As for the unjustice under the Hudood laws, you'd think they'd realize this to be a highly wrong practice - ah yes well donning a beard and sitting on the floor to eat food doesn't make you heaven-bound now does it?

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
See this is what i'm talking about - instead of focusing on real issues

I agree with you. They keep harping on these lame issues rather than do somethign about real issues that society has. the whole revenge and khandaani dushamni in rural areas, honor killings, sectarian violence are to name a few that are just up their alley, it would be good if they could look at law and order, social, health, education and economic plans too, but these guys just dont get it.

Reality Check!

I do agree that there are some cheap political statements made by the NWFP chief minister, but when was the last time a chief minister of a state had the guts to challenge federal laws in Pakistan, specially if they were changing after every Friday (on an average).

Dear the real issues are discussed in National Assembly and Senate (if the President allows one) and up till now the only party who has been making sense in talking about this issue is MMA. They have already voiced their concerns about the LFO (brain child of our President and its growing into a giant by eating more of the 73 constitution), Civilian rule, independent Senate, Free Judiciary (where you can challenge all the unislamic clauses and laws, in Federal court and not in the Shria-semi-bogus court created by Zia) and the rule of law…do you think all the federal and state secretaries would allow a MMA cheif minister to change the economic laws, the police, health.... Pakistan is a federation with very little autonomy in the hands of the province...other wise we would have had a chief minister in Sindh on the 15 of October.

Its very easy to bash....a molvi (baychara)

The MMA was elected into power in the NWFP with a mandate to introduce measures such as this. At the end of the day, the people of the NWFP have made it clear that they wish to live without music and videos on public buses. I see no reason why anyone should complain about people using democracy to live their lives in the way they wish.

Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
The MMA was elected into power in the NWFP *with a mandate
to introduce measures such as this. At the end of the day, the people of the NWFP have made it clear that they wish to live without music and videos on public buses. I see no reason why anyone should complain about people using democracy to live their lives in the way they wish.

do you need a democracy to turn of the radio? you can do it by youself. is army or police forcing people to listen to music?
may be they should ban the sound of ak-47.

*Originally posted by rvikz: *

do you need a democracy to turn of the radio? you can do it by youself. is army or police forcing people to listen to music?
may be they should ban the sound of ak-47.

No, but clearly the majority of the people of the NWFP wish not to have to be exposed to videos and music in public, and they have expressed that desire through democratic means. I see no problem, except that certain people in this thread are being intolerant of the wishes of others. They are assuming that since they are okay with public displays of videos and music (as, quite frankly, I am too), everyone else should have to share their viewpoint.

It is a fact that there are many in the NWFP who would like to see laws like this exacted, and who view it as a priority. They have merely made this clear though legal and democratic means. What many Guppies in this thread are complaining about is merely the fact that those in the NWFP who were concerned enough to vote hold different opinions from these Guppies.

ok....i'll say it myself im a hypocrite....but i think they are doin a good thing mashAllah.im crazy bout muzic but man id luv to get rid of this addiction.i wanna be a good muslim n its easier if u r living in a real isamic state so....inshAllah i'll go to pakistan n live with these ppl:)

*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *

No, but clearly the majority of the people of the NWFP wish not to have to be exposed to videos and music in public, and they have expressed that desire through democratic means. I see no problem, except that certain people in this thread are being intolerant of the wishes of others. They are assuming that since they are okay with public displays of videos and music (as, quite frankly, I am too), everyone else should have to share their viewpoint.

It is a fact that there are many in the NWFP who would like to see laws like this exacted, and who view it as a priority. They have merely made this clear though legal and democratic means. What many Guppies in this thread are complaining about is merely the fact that those in the NWFP who were concerned enough to vote hold different opinions from these Guppies.

i still dont belive they came to stop the music and their real goal is to offer safe heaven for al-quida and get the fbi and pak army out of there.

Maddie, I have to disagree, the MMA won with a great majority. If the majority was against music and such stuff, then you would not hear it at all being played.

And it does get played. And videos are watched. And there is absolutely nothing haraam about it. Of course, pornos are a different matter, but still, aren't we talking about videos in general here?

Also, you have to realize that democracy can be a joke in that not everyone comes out to vote, so you dont really know if this is what the people wanted. its easy for us to talk out here, but how do we know that people weren't suppressed from voting by force of different party officials. I already know for a fact that in some areas, women were barred from voting (illegally) and threated that their honour would be insulted (accused of things only "bad girls" do). So some of these women never got to vote.

That's why I keep saying, democracy is something that Pakistan is not remotely ready for. Pakistan is in a weak state and it needs a strong hand to direct it -- meaning power needs to be in the hands of one person. The catch is, can this person be a noble individual? And many people will disagree, but hey, I still think we've seen no better than Mush.