Buttering or Gratitude ?

What is the difference between flattery or praising someone for a job well done.

If I praise someone above me in status, for doing something good for me or for others will it qualify to be flattery , will he/she be happy about it or will he/she think low of me ?

What about others who are watching me doing that what will they think of me ?

Should I praise my them publicly or in privacy ?

Then if I praise someone below me in status , why are they happy about it why people do not take it as plain exploitation of emotions of someone who is under my command and control ?

Why praise of Allah who is Almighty , all powerful not flattery ?

Re: Buttering or Gratitude ?

Please dont ask me why I am laughing .. well actually you know the answer.

Buttering and gratitude; If you are praising someone for something that is not true, its buttering. If that quality is true then its expressing gratitude. But then there is a right way and right moment for that.

But again, right way and right moment are very subjective perspectives. When I say something at some point, it might be right moment for me to say that but a thrid party may not see it that way.

Still, just because someone else cant understand it, it should not stop us from doing the right thing. What is right thing for me? Something that I can stand behind 100% and can defend it without any compromise.

Good thread btw :smiley:

I know , I know. :smiley:
I hope this thread is not counted as buttering.

there is also direct and indirect buttering. ;)

anyways coming back to the topic, I usually give credit to people, peers, subordinates or seniors if some topic comes up and they had contributed to it. It is generally appreciated.

depends upon intention

I know the difference but I do not care anymore. I have learned my lessons. I praise direct , indirect , my seniors, my juniors , all and sundry. It has opened a whole new world of opportunities for me and made many things easy for me.
Previously I used to be dumbfounded if there was a need to praise my seniors . Coming from a desi background I used to think it a taboo. Not anymore.

Oh and yes I praise Allah too as much as I can , whenever I can.

The person you are praising will never know your intentions. This answer is good in case of praising Allah , Allahs Knows your intentions but humans do not .

^there are always tell tale signs

if someone give you their favor or help you out in something or give you something, then you must tell them how great their gesture was.

everyone wants to help out fellow muslims, or fellow pakistanis but some Muslims and pakistanis are soooo rude that they dont even bother to thank you back, and they take things for granted.

time erodes gratitude more quickly than it erodes beauty (godfather)

And some are like this that if you do them a favor they think it was their right and no gratitude is necessary.

or haan...i dont need to butter or being chaploos to anyone, as its opposite to my personality...but i identifying good thing about people is different than being one sides (either you are totally against someone or either you are totally in favor of someone....as if they are perfect)

bayshaq all praising belongs to ALLAH SWT.

haan to chacha main nay bhi yahi baat likhi hai app nay phir say dhora dee. :hehe:

lemme add more to this…

And some are taking other peoples words and present it as their own…k unho nay ehsan kia hai :snooty:

j/k just pulling ya leg :smiley:

I prefer the indirect method :p

Mods it is a personal attack j/k and :smiley: smiley do not matter. I take offence with the word chacha used for me I am not that old , you know. Look at my picture in this thead as a proof of my age. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/gupshup-cafe/307855-i-am-sure-mirch-female.html

:ban: recommended.

I prefer direct dhulai 4 both:wink:

ajji app chrro difference ko, lagayee jao jitna lagta hai :wink:

if done to u, it should be gratitude.. if to tlk, should be buttering..

i dunno actually, there is a fine line i guess in the middle.. my gs experience is that sachay dil say koee bhi baat kari jaaye, khala-khairan type log twist it and turn it to make it look like something else.. so if u gratitude on gs, after 4 posts it will sound like buttering..

i will say, privately would be the best bet..

TLK has such a dry skin (not to mention dry dimagh) that he needs lots of buttering ...

please carry on :p

**Tum “Chacha Kaido” ko kion bhool jaty hu aysy mawaqy per:aq:

:rotfl: ji nahi.. bhoolta thori hoon.. :faizy: moqa dekh kar baat karni chaiyay..