Burial of the Martyrs

Our army which has mostly gone murtad by killing our ulema and storming our mosques and madrassas has killed so many in hundreds in Lal Masjid. They did not spare our sisters in their barbarism.

No matter what you closed minded so called Muslims say, they were innocent!

More than one corpses were buried in one coffin.

There is no sign of where the women and children inside disappeared.

================
ISLAMABAD, July 12: Local authorities buried the civilian dead of the Lal Masjid battle in the darkness of night in a city graveyard, with only grave diggers and journalists as witnesses and no relatives of the dead in attendance.

Stench filled the air as 69 coffins were brought around 3:30am Thursday to a long line of graves, indicating that the bodies inside were badly decomposed. Burial started as the call to Fajr prayers rose from mosques around the graveyard in H-11 sector, opposite the Police Lines Headquarters.

“We were called here around 6pm (Wednesday) to dig graves and we are still at it,” grave digger Mushtaq told me when I arrived at the graveyard around 2am Thursday to cover the story.

Deputy Commissioner Islamabad Chaudhry Mohammad Ali said the 73 people who died during the military operation were being buried temporarily. But he could not give their gender or the total number of fatalities from the Lal Masjid.

“The corpses would be handed over to their relatives whenever they contact us,” he said, adding that complete record of the dead, with their photographs and DNA test results had been preserved.

All coffins were numbered but no names appeared on them, indicating the person being buried was not identified. A district official though said three bodies had been handed to their relatives from Bajaur.

Sanitary staff of the Capital Development Authority engaged in burying the dead finished their grim task after dawn.

Police trucks had brought the coffins from the Police Academy at Soan where the bodies were washed and put in coffins.

Water tankers were used to wash the bodies as two teams prepared shrouds and coffins for them.

When police trucks unloaded the coffins at the graveyard, the stench arising from them was so strong that the media persons and other people present there had to move away.

Most of the bodies were blackened and decomposed. “Legs and arms of some of the dead lay separately in the coffin while some were headless,” one witness said.

It looked to some witnesses that more than one body had been put in a coffin but the authorities present there strongly denied it.

Work on digging the graves at the H-11 graveyard had started soon after the army finished its clean up operation in Lal Masjid late Wednesday evening. But its slow pace made the authorities call about 40 labourers from nearby Sabzi Mandi to assist the grave diggers.

As there is no definite word on how many died in the week-long skirmishes and the final assault on the militants holed up in the Masjid on Tuesday it is not sure the last of the dead has been buried.
http://www.dawn.com/2007/07/13/nat1.htm

Now it really makes sense what this fauj did to our Bengali brothers in East Pakistan!

Re: Burial of the Martyrs

Shame on Ghazi for bringing the situation to this point. He and his cult wanted to die like so many other cults of past. Rebels against the Muslim state are always killed if they do not surrender.

لال مسجد: ہلاکتوں کی تعداد پرشک

لال مسجد اور جامعہ حفصہ میں مارے جانے والوں کی تعداد کے بارے میں متضاد حقائق کی وجہ سے حکومتی دعوؤں کے بارے میں شکوک وشبہات پیدا ہوگئے ہیں۔ حکومت نے مرنے والوں کی تعداد پچہتر بتائی ہے اور یہ کوئی بھی فی الوقت بتانے کے لیے تیار نہیں کہ مرنے والوں میں خواتین اور بچوں کی تعداد کتنی ہے۔**[RIGHT]فوجی ترجمان وحید ارشد کہتے ہیں کہ آپریشن میں کُل پچہتر لوگ ہلاک ہوئے لیکن ایچ الیون کے قبرستان میں تہتر قبریں موجود ہیں اور عبدالستار ایدھی کہتے ہیں کہ انہوں نے اڑسٹھ لاشوں کو غسل اور کفن دیا۔ لیکن کس قبر میں کس کی لاش ہے اس بارے میں تاحال کوئی کچھ نہیں بتاتا۔
اسلام آباد کی نئی قبرستان ایچ الیون میں لال مسجد کے ہلاک شدہ طلباء کی امانتاً تدفین کی گئی اور وہاں تہتر قبریں بنی ہوئی تھیں۔ خفیہ ایجنسیوں کے اہلکار کافی تعداد میں نظر آرہے تھے اور قبریں بنانے والوں سے جب بات کرنے کی کوشش کرتے تو سادہ کپڑوں میں اہلکار جیسے ہی قریب پہنچتے تو مزدور وغیرہ بات کرنا بند کردیتے۔
[/RIGHT]
تہتر قبروں میں 170 لاشیں؟
**ایک مزدور عقیل خان سے جب بات کی تو انہوں نے بتایا کہ رات دو بجے سے تدفین جاری ہے اور ایک سو ستر لاشیں لائی گئیں جو تہتر قبروں میں دفن کی گئی ہیں۔ انہوں نے دعویٰ کیا کہ وہ اس وقت موجود تھے اور انہوں نے دیکھا کہ ایک تابوت میں دو دو لاشیں بھی تھیں۔

[RIGHT]**موقع پاکر ایک مزدور عقیل خان سے جب بات کی تو انہوں نے بتایا کہ رات دو بجے سے تدفین جاری ہے اور ایک سو ستر لاشیں لائی گئیں جو تہتر قبروں میں دفن کی گئی ہیں۔ انہوں نے دعویٰ کیا کہ وہ اس وقت موجود تھے اور انہوں نے دیکھا کہ ایک تابوت میں دو دو لاشیں بھی تھیں۔ **
جامعہ حفصہ اور جامعہ فریدیہ میں زیر تعلیم سینکڑوں طلباء اور طالبات میں سے کئی کے والدین اپنے بچوں کے بارے میں معلومات نہ ملنے کی وجہ سے خاصے پریشان ہیں۔
**قبرستان میں صوبہ سرحد کے شہر مردان کی ایک دیہات سے آئے ہوئے حاجی رحمٰن خان سے ملاقات ہوئی اور انہوں نے بتایا کہ وہ اپنے چچا زاد بھائی بائیس سالہ سیف اللہ کو تلاش کر رہے ہیں۔ ان کے مطابق ان کے عزیز کا نام جیل کی فہرست میں ہے اور نہ ہی ہسپتال میں۔ **
انہوں نے کہا کہ ’اگر سیف اللہ شہید بھی ہوگیا ہے تو ان کی میت انہیں دی جائے۔ ان کو اگر حکومت نے دفنایا ہے تو بھی وہ ان کی میت نکال کر اپنے آبائی گاؤں میں لے جائیں گے۔ ہمیں یہ بھی نہیں پتہ کہ دفنائے جانے والوں کو غسل اور کفن دیا گیا کہ نہیں یا پھر ان کی نماز جنازہ بھی پڑھائی گئی یا نہیں۔‘
**پاکستان کے زیر انتظام کشمیر کے شہر باغ سے آئے ہوئے محمد اشفاق نے بتایا کہ وہ اپنے کزن اورنگزیب کی تلاش میں اڈیالہ جیل، سہالہ پولیس اکیڈمی اور ہسپتالوں سے ہوکر قبرستان آئے ہیں۔ انہوں نے کہا کہ کسی کو کچھ نہیں پتہ کہ کس قبر میں کس کی لاش ہے۔ **
’اگر میرے کزن کو مار بھی دیا گیا ہے تو اس کی لاش تو دے دیں تاکہ اس کی تدفین اپنے وطن میں اسلامی طریقے سے کر سکیں۔‘
محمد اشفاق نے دعویٰ کیا کہ انہیں پولیس ذرائع سے معلوم ہوا ہے کہ ایک تابوت میں دو دو لاشیں ڈال کر دفن کی گئی ہیں۔ ان کے مطابق لاشوں سے بدبو کی وجہ سے فائر برگیڈ کے ذریعے پانی چھڑکا کر غسل دیا گیا ہے۔
قبرستان کے کونے میں ایک نوجوان نیاز خان سسکیاں لے رہے تھے اور پوچھنے پر بتایا کہ وہ اپنی انیس سالہ بہن عائشہ کو ڈھونڈتے ڈھونڈتے یہاں پہنچے ہیں۔ انہوں نے بتایا کہ عائشہ جامعہ حفصہ میں پڑھتی تھیں اور آپریشن شروع ہونے تک وہاں موجود رہیں لیکن اب کہیں سے ان کا پتہ نہیں چلتا۔
**مردان کے رہائشی شمروز خان کا اپنے لاپتہ چوبیس سالہ بھتیجے، ہریپور کے شاہد علی خان اپنے بھائی اور چکوال کے عبدالماجد اپنے بھانجے کے لیے پریشان نظر آئے۔
**[/RIGHT]
**حکومت نے میڈیا کو بے خبر رکھتے ہوئے چھپ چھپا کر رات کے اندھیرے میں جس طرح اجتماعی تدفین کی اس سے کئی سوالات اٹھ رہے ہیں۔ تضادات اور شکوک و شہبات کے بارے میں حکومت کے کچھ وزراء سے مسلسل رابطے کی کوشش کی لیکن حکومت کا تاحال موقف معلوم نہیں ہوسکا۔

Shame on our Pak army and especially MUSH for bringing the situation to this point. He acts more like America's pet dog than the President of the country called Pakistan.

Did American force Ghazi to kidnap people, burn buildings, kill people or rebel against the state?

Where r the courts, the police???? the system that feel so proud about?

Is this how civilized nations act? If some people commit mistakes you do not bomb them , you put them on trial...and in jail.

Enough useless talk with you. You will never understand. Pata nahi Pakistani Musalman hai bhi kai nahi kayy dard rakhay.

Courts come only after one surrenders to authorities. Did Ghazi do that? Or did he try to create his own authority? How can one put someone in jail when they do not come to jail peacefully?

Think laeeq khan think! Allah has given each of us a brain, do not get over come by emotion. Remember what was done to the kharajites? Would you have sided with them as well?

These were no kharjiites...

The massacre that our army has done is beyond explanation. They have killed hundreds inside a mosque and its surroundings. These people were simple Muslims, maybe not as educated as us but true to their cause. They did not kill anyone.

Do not get carried away with what army controlled media says. Think for yourself.

All i know is innocent people, women and children died in Pakistan - Islam ka qila.!

Shame on us all. This is not what we made Pakistan for.

I hate and feel ashamed of even being called Pakistani.

They had guns, bombs, rocket launchers in a palce of worship. They took law in their own hands. Is this the work of simple Muslims in madrassah or masjid? Did 1500 of them not surrender, why couldn't the rest? Because of Ghazi's ego and pride? Think laeeq khan think!

They were the modern day kharajites indeed. And if you feel ashamed of being called Pakistani or Muslim don't call yourself that. Move out of Pakistan and live happily ever after.

There is only one guy responsible for it - Ghazi. Shame on him and terrorists like him. They used the mosque to carry out their dirty deeds and hold hostage and murder innocent people. I am not ashamed of being either a Muslim or a Pakistani but I am ashamed of having people like Ghazi in our midst. May Allah save us form such evils.

In a single brush stroke Laeeq Khan declared so many people, he does not know, murtids. Mashallah, says a lot about your brand of Islam.

Either people of your ilk are totally devoid of skills to analyse events on your own or just have very short memories. How did it all start? Who fired the first bullet? Who killed the first person? This site has all your ppast posts saved where you just keep changing your opinion with every new news article.

Stop hijacking the religion. This is not about religion. It is no bodys personal property where you can declare your fatwas against people.

You are ashamed of being a Pakistani, then please leave, right this second. I, and i am sure others, will contribute to that cause, send me your bank details.

And please dont keep us posted, we dont care.

Ghazi ka chamcha. Why people believe some mad mullah over reality is beyond me... he has phone intercepts between Bush and Mushy or something.

I am so ashamed of what has become Islam that I dont recognise it. I am ashamed to see myself associated with a Mullah. That is what these crazy weirdos have done. Time to reclaim our faith. I want all those who are against Talibanisation, terrorism to come out in force to voice their support. We cant let some halwa fatty hold us all to his views becuase he has the loudest, dumb followers on streets. I want someone to organise a nationwide rally, a peacefull march get over a million people and that will scare these mullahs.

idiotic post Laeeqkhan. you say they should have been brought to courts, when repeatedly the sticking point in negotiations with them was that they would not surrender to authorities to face trial in court.

suppose you are the head of a state, you have a few thousand armed people consistently violating the law and kidnapping people, vandalizing and intimidating legal businesses. you want to try to arrest them but they KIDNAP the police. you want to try to empty their stronghold but they are too well armed and they burn a ministry building.

now you tell me what would you do? bear in mind that they absolutely refuse several time to face the courts. would u just let them continue what they were doing? are you saying a criminal does not have to face the courts if he is well armed enough?

Interesting article on the subject:

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=64232

What a victory!

Cheers! The so-called liberals have won. Lal Masjid and Jamia Hafsa was ruthlessly attacked and Ghazi, his mother, and hundreds of his students killed. The state has had the bloodiest bloodbath right in the heart of the capital and the irony is that the very same liberals who talk of peace and protest against invasion of Iraq and war in general have supported it and are even now congratulating the government. But, at least people who write about these things should refrain from making absolute claims of the majority being happy with it (a claim that one newspaper has made). I for one as a researcher who had come to know Ghazi and the people inside the madressah during this period and as an individual who believes in tolerance and respect for human life want to make a statement that I view the whole military action as a crime and I know so many others who do too. So lets us not speak on each other’s behalf. Clearly, Pakistan is a divided house right now.

Who gives the state the right to massacre its own people just for crimes like kidnapping or challenging the state authority? They had not killed or physically harmed anyone so how can their punishment be so severe. It is clear that the whole bloodshed could have been easily avoided only if General Musharraf did not have a vested interest in proving his loyalties to the west at a time when he is at his weakest and is in desperate need of western backing. For otherwise there are so many things that could have been done to resolve the problem without bloodshed. Cutting off electricity, water and gas would have forced at least the girls to come out sooner or later. Similarly, giving a couple of days more for negotiations could not have risked Pakistani’s existence.

It is at the same time interesting to see the parallels between the vocabulary and the logic used by those who defend this operation and that of Bush administration. The first step to the battle is that suddenly the other side becomes ‘militants’ and ‘terrorists’. Any resistance met by US soldiers within Iraq and Afghanistan is quickly labeled as militancy and the attackers are labeled as ‘militants’ and ‘terrorists’. What is completely forgotten in this equation is that it is actually the Americans who are invading and the locals are simply resisting an aggression imposed on them. Secondly, the Bush administration has from the beginning used force as a means to crush local resistance. The results are hardly impressive to win critics over. Iraq today is an irresolvable mess and the so-called writ of the US supported Karzai state in Afghanistan does not extent much beyond the presidential palace.

Interestingly, exactly the same logic and method has been used in case of Lal Masjid and Jamia Hafsa. They were labeled militants quickly and force has been thought apt to settle the issue. However, just like the US use of force in Iraq and Afghanistan has increased rather than decreased militancy in these countries, the impact of this operation is going to be no different. We already have the gift of suicide bombing as a reaction to military operations in the tribal areas. To think that the Lal Masjid massacre won’t lead to long-term repercussions is naïve. Pakistan is heading for major civil unrest. These military operations are fuelling jihadi sentiment; not lowering them.

And before closing off the chapter on Lal Masjid let us not forget what motivated Ghazi, a master’s degree holder, and his students (many of whom were from the middle classes who had come after doing matric or FA) to take up this resistance. The discussion around them in the media remained focused on their public morality drive. But, the fact is that they were mobilized into action on basis of very basic human rights demands. They argued for end to military operations in the tribal areas which were killing civilians, they argued for end to handing over people to US without trial in country, and those of us who bothered to go inside the madressah and talked to him and his students, know that he argued for rule of law. The route he chose to score his points was clearly not the right one. But, it is important to remember what mobilized him and his followers because it is eventually the moral convincing power of these ideas that mobilizes people to give up their life. No one, not even the absolute poor, want to die just for the heck of it.

Even if Ghazi was allowed to leave, he could have been easily caught later, and he did ask for a judicial inquiry. If water and electricity was cut off 6 months earlier, they wud have been forced to come out. I'm sure if it was only ghazi who died, lot of mderate people like Hamid Mir, Shahid Masood or Nazir Naji will not have been critical of government. Or if they had fairly prosecuted May 12 killers.

^ While I agree that bally-hooing about this whole situation is over the top and there will be long term effects, she is minimizing the crimes of the lal masjid crew and exagerrating the govts response to it

their crimes beyond the kidnappings included

a) arsoning a government building
b) threatening to suicide bomb in the country
c) stockpiling illegal, very dangerous weaponry inside masjid premises
d) vandalizing legal shops and intimidating shop owners

A lot of governments would have acted much sooner had these things been going on. Waco comes to mind.

If Ghazi wanted the siege to end all he had to do was to face the courts. He preferred to gamble the lives of all those under his care rather than risk his own freedom. the height of selfishness is where your personal safety is the only reason why a deal involving the safety of thousands of people is rejected.

Rahi baat cutting gas and electricity for six months, how can you put your capital on hold for six months? Would the army/rangers also surround the masjid for six months? Have you seen the interviews of the neighbourhood surrounding the area, how hard the gas and electricity and curfews were for a few days? How is the same situation practical for any longer?

^^ everyone who's supporting the govt here is forgetting that Ghazi and the ulema+ministers' delegation had come up with a final deal the the morning before the final operation..which was ofcourse approved by the Mush otherwise he wont have approved the members of the delegation if they were not authorized to make ddecisions.. and later , at about 3 30am , when everything seemed to be resolved peacefully, the delegation went back to tell mush about their success and mush suddenly vito-ed the whole deal,made big changes (in other words,he backed up from his words) and ade a new one which his own delegation denied to agree with and they all walked out..after which mush gave the orders for the final operation! Maulana Rasheed Ghazi Shaheed WAS READY FOR THE SURRENDER/GIVE UP ON CONDITIONS WHICH WERE INITIALLY ACEPTED BY THE GOVT !

does court trail really matter???..i mean there is so much corruption in pakistan tht even if u want to do sosmething legal,u have to give some rishwat...
abt judicial system of pakistan..people say tht "lawyer ko paisa mad do...judge hi ko khareed lo"..

many "facts" regarding lal masjid will neva appear on media..but these two brothers were plain idiot...they chose wrong way to implement islam and our government is even bigger churya as how badly they handled the situation..

Very Sad…May Allah guide us muslims to the straight path.

No he wasn't, he wanted safe passage for his foreign terrorists as well. Why???