Bulleh Shah and Punjab University

Read in an article written by Ahmed Saleem about Amarta Pritam that when Punjab University started its classes for Masters in Punjabi, the head of the Department Dr Waheed Qureshi didn’t include Bulleh Shah in syllabus.

When agitated and enquired by Punjabi writers for such decisions, he gave an excuse that ‘it will spoil young students’ :smack:

Its an extreme that we found such sentiments about poets like Bulleh Shah who always promoted message of harmony.

My Baba was looking at my book collection and he saw ‘Nuskha e Hi wafa’ by Faiz on my table along with Parveen Shakir’s ‘Sad e Barg’. He asked me today ’ I’ve seen many books by different poets in your collection, but why not any book on / of Iqbal’. I replied because I don’t like one thing about him and that is he never wrote in Punjabi and about Punjab. If he had written in Punjabi about Punjab, I would certainly include him in my collection. I also don’t like how he glamorised looters like Ghaznavi.

spoil?? Like how?

Bulleh Shah and Punjab University

Oh and I didn’t get this, you don’t have iqbal’s collection only because he never wrote punabi? :confused:

Re: Bulleh Shah and Punjab University

I like his poetry and respect him a lot, but I would idealise him if he had written something for the land he belonged to. Moreover, my point for mentioning him and this incident here in this thread was that our Institute feel danger in promoting poets like Bulleh Shah who promoted peace and harmony, but they don’t feel danger in promoting Iqbal’s poetry which can easily be construed as against someone’s faith.

Time and again, I’ve seen posters in PA quoting Iqbal’s poetry (where he glamorised Ghaznavi’s act of destroying Somnath) to prove that Muslims are intolerant towards others faith.

Right wingers consider Bulleh Shah's poetry spreading anti-Islam sentiments

I have a book of Parveen Shakir and one of Faiz under my table.

How freaky is that.

lols. Thats not freaky

If u have not read Iqbal its ur loss, and i didnt know Parveen Shakir wrote in Punjabi.

BTW, unlike the popular perception, most of Iqbal's poetry is about self realization(if i am using the correct phrase) and self assessment rather than politics.

And about Ghaznavi, Iqbal mostly uses him in context of his loving relationship with his slave Ayaz like,

Na wo ghaznavi meiN tarap rahi, na wo kham hai zulf-ayaz meiN

or

meiN ghaznavi somnat-e-dil ka hooN, tu sarapa ayazho ja

However, muqawwee, i find it a bit odd that you are a very humanistic person yet you eulogise plain barbarinism & thuggery when its local, i was amazed at u posting the utube clip from chakar-e-azam which u like, where baloch sardars make promises like i will kill whoever will wake me up from sleep.

Icono bhai

Parveen Shakir was not born in Punjab and probably that was not her Mother tongue too. I didn't say that I don't like Iqbal at all. I said I found certain things in his poetry not appealing to me (i.e. glamorising invaders). There are parts in Allama Iqbal's poetry which are used by people like Zaid Hamid to promote adventure against people of other faiths.

Regarding Chakar-e- Azam video, if we look at the promise taken by Chakar e Azam himself, it was about respecting his Peer o Murshid and I don't like promises taken by other sardars except Shah Mureed, who promised to give anything, if a beggar begged for that on a certain day.

New generation will take to the wrong path whenever and however it wants to. As they say that water makes its own path you can’t make a way for it.
I haven’t read Bullay Shah’s poetry in details so I don’t know what was so anti-Islamic in it but if we see today which students are on the right path? And if they aren’t taught anything anti-Islamic in their curriculum these days then why are they so influenced by the west? Music, dressing, going out and all, misuse of cell phones and internet...which school teaches them to indulge in such activities? Yet it’s very common now.
Is there really anything anti-Islamic in any of Bullay Shah’s poetries? If so please do share/quote that material and explain a little bit about it.

Bulleh Shah was against the religious hatred and his poetry like this has been taken as against religion:

Masjid Dha Day, Mandir Dha Day
Dha Day Jo Kujh Disda
Par Kissay Da Dil Na Dhawee(n)
Rub Dilaa(n) Wich Wasda

Interesting never knew about this.

Irrelevant dribble/

Clearly, no logic in your argument. If anything it’s sad. You’re unable to read a book purely based on the writers preference of language rather than the books/poetry itself. Not very academic of you.

My point is not language only. My point is why did not he write something about like local people. Its nothing disrespectful if anyone construed that from my post.

We in Sindh, see immense respect for poets like Shah Latif and Sachal Sarmast, because they raise voice for the people of land. Their characters were from this land and therefore people of the land own them. So is the case with Bulleh Shah, Waris Shah, Baba Fareed in Punjab. Bulleh Shah detested invaders like Ahmed Shah, which has been glamorised as heroes by the same people who opposed including Bulleh Shah in syllabus.

My grudge is against those so called thekedars of society and not Iqbal. I'm just more tilted towards Sufi poets of land than Iqbal and I think I got right for this.

I was also surprised to know this and was like WTH they banned Bulleh Shah :smack:

Here is more details and restrictions / atrocities about Punjabi poets and literature that prevailed in Punjab University during Zia regime :smack2:

https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgroups=#!topic/soc.culture.indian/3-AYxPFpCSE

The Department of Punjabi at the Punjab University The demand for opening the Punjabi department at the university became stronger. Apart from the old champions of Punjabi like Faqir Mohammad Faqir, even people otherwise associated with Urdu like Dr Waheed Qureshi, voiced this demand on 5 August 1969. General Bakhtiar Rana, a member of the Punjabi Adabi League, also made the same demand and numerous small organizations lent their voices to it. The Punjabi Adabi Sangat, for instance, gave several statements in the press demanding M.A in Punjabi (Muzawat 24 August 1970). [See Punjab University did not have Punjabi Department for more than 20 years after Independence]

Faqir Mohammad Faqir’s role in the establishment of the master’s degree at the Punjab University has acquired legendary overtones.

Junaid Akrarn, his biographer, says that he met Alauddin Siddiqui, the Vice Chancellor of the University, and persuaded him not to oppose the idea. Finding the Vice Chancellor willing he met members of the Academic Council and other decisionmaking bodies and won their approval (Akram 1992: 56). The popular legend has it that he lay down in the office of the Vice Chancellor saying that he would live on the floor unless the M.A was instituted. The Vice Chancellor, completely dismayed by these unorthodox tactics, made the required promises to persuade Faqir to lift the siege. According to Syed Akhtar Jafri, who has written a critical appreciation of Faqir’s life and works, he was helped by Abdul Majeed Bhatti and Rauf Shaikh who visited the opponents of Punjabi and persuaded them by all means orthodox and unorthodox (Jafri 1991: 37). In any case in 1970 the M.A Punjabi classes began at the Oriental College, Punjab University, Lahore.

Faqir Mohammad Faqir’s jubilation knew no bounds. According to a witness, Arshad Meer, he celebrated this great advance in the status of Punjabi at Gujranwala. The Vice Chancellor, Waheed Qureshi, Mian Mohammad Shafi and other notables attended. Faqir paid homage to the Vice Chancellor in verse and the activists of the Punjabi movement felt that their dream had come true.

The first members of the faculty in the Punjabi Department were people who lacked formal degrees in the language but were known for having written in it. Among others were Alauddin Siddiqui, the Vice Chancellor, himself; Ashfaq Abroad, the noted Urdu dramatist and short story writer; Khizar Tameemi, Sharif Kunjahi and Qayyurn Nazar (Akram 1992: 56). **In the beginning, under the influence of Dr. Waheed Qureshi, right wing views dominated. Even Bulleh Shah was not taught because of his allegedly ‘heretical’ views (Saleern. Int. 1999).
Punjabi was also taught at the masters level in the Shah Hussain College in Lahore in the early seventies. Ahmed Saleern, one of the lecturers in the early years, said that all lecturers were volunteers in that college and the students took the university examination as private candidates (Saleem. Int. 1999). In 1973 Najam Hussain Syed, a well known intellectual whose book on Punjabi literature Recurrent Patterns in Punjabi Poetry (1986) is still a milestone in the field, was invited to chair the new department. Najarn, himself a creative writer of somewhat left-of-the centre orientation, made a comprehensive curriculum for the M.A which did not exclude leftist, identity-conscious, Punjabi literature (Syed. Int. 1999). His colleagues were AsifKhan, SharifKunjahi and Abbas Jalalpuri. All of them were part time lecturers and Najam himself was on deputation from government service. Najam and his colleagues, being liberal in views, included the socio-economic background in which literary texts are created as part of the curriculum. They even taught Gunnukhi, though it was not part of the approved curriculum, so as to enable students to study Punjabi literature from India.

**The teaching of Gunnukhi was especially suspect in the eyes of their right-wing opponents because they thought Indian Punjabi literature would dilute the ideological orientation of sudents. Later, when Zia ul Haq took over, all institutions had to move towards the right because the regime was not only centrist, like all previous regimes, but legitimized itself so emphatically in the name of Islam that it became paranoid even about trivialities (Khan, Asif. Int. 1999). Thus, according to Khalid Humayun, lecturer at the Department of Punjabi, some lines of Anwar Masood’s humorous poem’ Aj Ki Pakaye?’ (What shall we cook today?) were expunged because they referred to Pakistan’s friendship with the U .S.A (Humayun 1986: 231 ).

**Shahbaz Malik, who became the chairman of the Punjabi Department during Zia ul Haq’s days, was known for his rightist views. It wasduring his tenure that most of the changes mentioned above, such as the exclusion of identityconscious, political or Sikh literature, took place. Complaints against the department kept corning (Sajjan 30 September 1989), but Shahbaz Malik continued to head it (see his interview in Chowdhry 1991).

Khalid Humayun complained that so absurd was the ideological witch-hunting at this period that theses on Ustad Daman and the folk songs of the Punjab were accused of subverting the ideology of Pakistan -the former because Daman had criticised martial law; the latter because popular values were contrary to those which the state supported (Humayun 1990. Also Humayun. Int. 1999). :smack2: folk songs could be dangerous to Pakistan’s identifty

In an interview Afzal Randhawa, a prominent writer of Punjabi, also accuses the Punjab University authorities of being selective allegedly for both personal and ideological reasons, about the texts to be taught to students (Randhawa 1990:15). **

^ Zia is considered to be a Punjabi, he could be or not I don't know. I have never heard him speak in punjabi. Anyways, as per your article it seems as if this was all part of the Islamisation of the society which is biting us now.

Right, following poets like Bulleh Shah and Waris Shah will not provide opportunity for any adventure on the name of Islam, so why should not they be promoted as anti-Islam for rulers own interests

Muaq! Our national language is URDU, why English is dominant language on GS?
I cant understand why it is important to write poetry in local language. If you say, poetry about local people, Iqbal addressed people from every region of the world. It’s all about kind of nature of poet and what type of peotry he/she do.
Punjabi main poetry karna aaisy hi nahi hai jaisay k Urdu main karna, I am talking about civilized poetry not poetry of songs sung by Naseebo. In addition, it is not that simple task to choose sophisticated words and to decide on words for Punjabi script.
I personally not a big fan of sufism but give an example of insight Iqbal had about sufi/punjabi poetry. Following shair of Peer Mehar Ali was corrected by Iqbal.

Kitahay Mehar Ali kithay teri sana
Gustakh akhian kithay jaa Larrian
What Iqbal sugessted was Arrian in place of Larrian and Peer Mehar Ali acknowledged that mistake.

p.s As peotry is mater of interpetation so is poetry of Iqbal and Bulleh shah. People can get what they want easily out of poetry.

I do agree that poetry is matter of interpretation, but don't consider it justified that to promote your favorite poet, you give new interpretation to the poetry of those poets, who were never considered as non-Islamic by masses.

I've also quoted that Ustad Daman's poetry was also banned by right wingers besides folk songs from Punjabi syllabus.

I would love to see Iqbal's poetry addressed and mentioning people of Punjab or quoting any local heroes in his poetry. I found most of his poetry revolving around foreign invaders and I do respect the people who like such poetry. I myself like many of his poems like 'Utho meri duniya ke ghareebn ko jaga do' and 'saqi nama'.

I have so many things that i dont like about sufi poetry but i generally dont disuss those cuz of respect of views of other people. Making demand on a poet and saying like you dont like a certain aspect of poetry is not kind attitude IMHO.