Broken Engagement

Salaam everybody I’m new to this. Hope your all well.

I just needed some advice. Earlier this yr I was suppose to get married but my rishta broke of. We argued like every couple does over little things here and there, but we put it down to wedding stress.

However he was the type of guy who use to tell his mum about our arguments therefore she would ring me telling how to behave with her son and that he needed love. He was the only son living with his mum only as his parents split up when he was young.

As it happens one day his mum rang me out of the blue asking me if everything was oky between me and her son, I was like yes Aunty everything’s fine. She replied well my son doesn’t look too happy, I asked have you spoken to him. She said no I’m asking you have you two fallen out I said no were fine. She was like bayti I know what I’m about to say is harsh but I have to say it. I was like it’s oky Aunty you can say whatever to me. So she was like a man can find another partner not another mother and that if you and my son ever argued id take his side. I confused at to why she was saying all this anyway I stayed quiet and listened and said Aunty me n him are oky and il speak to him.
Anyway few minutes later after I put phone dwn he rings me saying what have you said to my mum she sat here crying. I was like i didnt say anything and here’s what she said to me. He was like grow up and so what if she said what she did. I got really upset and didn’t have a clue were all this was coming from therefor I just said look I need space and put phone dwn.

I didn’t speak to him for 3 days then my mum spoke to his mum to ask if everything was oky she was like yeah nothing’s wrong etc etc. then I get a phone call from his day later saying y I mentioned to my family what is mum said and that I should be ther garment protecting them. I basically told him his mum was harsh and what she said hurt but he didn’t care.

Anyway couple days went by again we didn’t speak. Then one morning he rang me and said btw I’v thgt about this and I don’t want to marry you. I’v done istakhra and it not looking good.

But how can one do istakhara after Zaban had been done. We had booked venue bought outfits ring etc. ther was only couple of months to wedding.?

i have been feeling so lost since the day things ended. I mean they didn’t even come dwn or his elders try sorting things out. I feel soo bad thinking why did I make issue about what his mum said and now each day im
beating myself up about it, thinking had I not been so stupid in making a bit deal about what his mum said I would of been happily married.

Plz guys would you have reacted any other way in my situations?

Re: Engagement breaking

Unless you're leaving something out of the story, his mom sounds like a psychopath. There wasn't anything that prompted her to call and tell you that you're replaceable but she isn't? That sounds like a really odd/random thing to say out of the blue.

If it IS the case that she just randomly called you, then...you're probably better off in the long run. sounds like a momma's boy to me.

No I wish I was leaving something out but that's the true story. Even after he ended things I went round to his house to speak to his mum. He was at wrk she saw me through the window and shouted from up stairs go away.!

You should be very happy that things ended here and you did not marry a crazy guy with even crazier mother

uhhh yeah. definitely crazy. I know it hurts a lot right now and it's terrible they did this, but Allah SWT saved you. God only knows what she would've done if you guys HAD gotten married.

Engagement breaking

You escaped! It will hurt but Allah swt always does things for a reason. Dont contact him or his mother. Leave them to it. And move on. Someone better is out there for u xx

Zamzam.....I don't think you would have been "happily married" if only his mom didn't start that drama. I think that you would have just had a happy shadi....or chaar din ki chandani.....and then the drama from this guy and his mom would have started. I don't think you'd be a happily married woman.

Also, Istikhara is about seeking Allah's guidance....and Allah's guidance is superior to "zubaan." In the name of this "zubaan" practice...so many problems have occurred, so many people have gotten hurt...especially when zubaan is being honored for things that are unhealthy or an injustice.

The money you've lost on wedding preparations is nothing compared to a lifetime of marital drama and misery. Recite this dua frequently: Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raajioon. Allahumma ajirni fi museebati wa akhlif li khayrun minha. The second part of this dua basically asks Allah to reward you for your problems and to compensate you with something better. Keep reciting it with firm faith; you will find strength and peace inshaAllah. The way has now been cleared for you to find a much better guy who not only respects you but also trusts you. If this was an arranged rishta where you both had only been engaged for a few months, then I don't think you can call it love. It's just that you became attached to the idea or fantasy of being happily married to him. But of what use is the fantasy when the reality is that him and his family have given you grief time and time again? If this guy and his family have a tendency to create drama, they will do that with the next girl as well. Cut your losses and move on.

Engagement breaking

^^ cant find the like button on app. But great advice !

You should throw a party and celebrate that fact that Allah saved you from making such a huge mistake. At this point, its stupid for you to think you would have been "happily married" with this man. Sooner or later he would have left you. Be glad and thank Allah this happened before the nikah....compared to this happened AFTER nikah and even worse, after you have a child.

Re: Broken Engagement

Salaam everyone and thank you soo much for your support and kind words I really am touched and understand what your saying. It's just that I'm finding it difficult how one minute I was planning to move into the next chapter in my life and the next it all ended with the blink of an eye. And the way them ppl behaved was very very embarrassing not only for me but me family too. My parents would never in a million yrs even think about doing or saying somethin so nasty to their future daughter in law. And if things ever did get to breaking point you sit down and talk things through. Even after he rang me and ended things I txted his mum starighg away before I went to the house. And she replied back saying bayti I have to support my son I will do dua for you that you find happiness. I was like but you called me your bayti you can't just leave me like that, but she just didn't reply. Everything was just one big joke for them, it hurts to know that someone I trusted broke my trust in such a way and embarrassed and hurt not only me but my family too.. :(

However he was the type of guy who use to tell his mum about our arguments **therefore she would ring me telling how to behave with her son and that he needed love. He was the only son living with his mum only as his parents split up when he was young.

You already know the problem, so why feel bad?

There's no room for a third person between a husband and a wife (in your case, soon to be), whether that is your mom, his mom, his chachi, sister waghera waghera. And clearly he thinks otherwise, so be happy you got out in time :)

Sorry to hear that. Sounds like it was probably the right thing to do. Try to move on and settle down with someone soon and don't stay hung up over each other.

The sooner you thank Allah for saving you the sooner you will find peace with what has transpired.

Wish more girls thought this way...:D

In my case I wish he thought that way too, instead of running to mummy every two minutes!

What a loser. Youre better off without him.

You did notice the OP is talking about a guy right? :halo:

I did…but sharing stuff is more of a girl’s thing..and not just with mom and sisters..but also friends.

Not disagreeing with anyone here, it is a blessing that she got away from this family.

That is true, but we all need a few selected we can vent to, I guess it becomes a problem when you have blurry boundaries and let them interfere/meddle in your relationships.

ps. was just pulling your legs tho :p

Everything in life is a choice. Some people get married to families like his because they make that choice and they willfully stay in those situations. Sounds like you were not happy with his mom being so involved, and that he runs to his mom when he has a disagreement with you.

Secondly, look deeper into this the problem is you were having disagreements with him. That's a huge problem. Shaadi has not happened already and people are arguing - never bodes well.

I had a soft-baat pakki earlier this year, and the guy and I had a handful of arguments over the past months and I broke it off.

1. Arguments only get worse AFTER marriage
  2. You should love each other and care for each other, and if you are not able to understand cope with each other, then there will be arguments.

Maybe there is some other girl out there that can handle a guy like him, and he will be able to handle a girl like her and things will work out. And that girl will know how to deal with his interfering bipolar mom.

But that girl is not you, and there is nothing wrong with that. You have a right to not be in such a situation.

Best of luck.