British ctizens in Pak asked to register with Embassy

Dunno if you guys heard it but I was just told that British Citizens in Pakistan have been asked to register with the embassy in the event they need embassy services (read: evacuated)

My plans to visit Pak have been shelved as I have been asked by the dad dude to not go.

He summarizes

when u see british embassy ask to register, make sure you have cash, meds, travel docs, and suitcases ready. when you see americans beginning to leave, dont travel too far from your home area and, when you see, when u see americans continuing to leave..bail, when u see brits leaving, stay home and seriously think about getting out, if the continue to leave get on the next flight.

back i the 90’s at one point they recieved the instructions that have your documents, meds in carryons and also suitcases ready. depending on the situation u may get 24-72 hrs to leave, or with embassy vehicles outside giving you 15 mins and allowing just carry-on bags to be evacuated.

Luckily it never came to that, but its rather interesting that the embassy is asking people to register.

Re: British ctizens in Pak asked to register with Embassy

phir abb kia hoga :bummer:

Consequently what should you do when you see Pakistanis leaving ?

dunno, right now I think they are just being cautious, which means they estimate that things can go bad. In past they had no evacuations for all citizens from there when the 'get ready' notices were sent.

per my dad's logic..pray and realize that unless you get out in a matter of hours, you are responsible for yourelf.

having lived through Nigerian civil war, he saw mass evacuations first hand, did not go with teh brits (workaholism ki bhi had hoti hai) finally as Pakistan ovt started airlifting its ppl out, he had mum leave, because he wanted to stay back and finish off a few quick things and then got stuck, airports were closed, borders sealed..He had to hide, pull favours from ppl and walk, take those banana boats in rivers, hike and finally get on some sailboat with others to brave the sea and go to the next country and then showed up at UK embassy who then had him repatriated to UK. meanwhile my mum was in Pakistan with no word from him for months and thinking the worse happened. Exciting lives they have had :)

your dad is a brave and honest man! ALLAH SWT always have his blessings on such peoples.

Sounds like a Hollywood photoplay sire !

yeah it does, I guess it sounds exciting and all to us, but they were pretty terrified, and with all that my mum went thru for months thinking that my dad was killed.

My hubby is leaving within a week to go over for his neice's wedding. I am SO very worried....

they have asked canadian citizens to get registered as well

^ :hayaa:

Fraudia bhai, what do you feel about it? it is good. this is not bad. is it?

I was plannign to go to pak for 2 weeks in late dec. I have been asked by my dad to not take a chance. earlier mum said that if I go come over than I am just staying at home. Now its been changed to, save your vacation time and take it when we are over.

in all seriousness it will be fine, he knows the place well and what flashpoint type areas to avoid. My folks are just extra cautious.

I am still going around baqra-eid :insh: … and :insh: everything will be fine!

wht is the source of this news and how authentic it is? i have family members in karachi and if this is a true news then i have to let them know.

when did this happen?
anyone know if the US citizens in pakistan have also been contacted by the embassy

Could be, it is mostly precuationary. There has not been any situation in Pakistan for as long as I have been looking at it that UK/US?canadian citizens needed to be airlifted out. it gets serious when embassies ask people to leave or stay back at their own risk and even non essential embassy personnel are withdrawn.

Additionally, the point is that if you dont stick out like a sore thumb then you are in no more danger than everyone else around you. so for Pakistani dual nationals, its not that big of a deal. It does however mean that the UK govt, and from what I just read, canadian govt feel that the risk has gone up.

my dad was contacted by British Embassy. I think he also noted that there was notice published in newspapers as well.

I suppose you are looking more at the Canadian angle? lets see what a5z1 knows

I don’t get it..why the caution? is something bad happening in Pak? :confused:

dunno man, They may be just cautious about any phadda during rallies that gets out of hand or post election hulla gulla.

btw US embassy visas have been pushed out because I guess the embassy is predicting that it may have to close around election times.

^ Could that be the reason to move March interview date to mid January for US Visa?