British Boy Kidnapped for Ransom in Pakistan

I have heard a few stories from various people about foreign kids being kidnapped for money in Pakistan, but this is the first time I’ve actually seen it in the news. Maybe it has been, but I’ve just not seen the stories.

This is disgusting. I hope they find this child. He’s so beautiful and just an innocent little boy.

BBC News - British boy kidnapped in Pakistan for £100,000 ransom

A five-year-old British boy has been kidnapped by robbers in Pakistan, local police have said.

Sahil Saeed, from Oldham, Greater Manchester, was taken from Jhelum where his family were on holiday.

Robbers broke into where they were staying, in the Punjab area, on Wednesday night and demanded a ransom of about £100,000.

The British High Commission is in touch with his family and local authorities have launched an investigation.

George Sherriff, a spokesman for the commission in Islamabad, said they were “continually monitoring the situation”.

The spokesman said the family had been due to fly back to Britain on Thursday following a two-week visit.

The boy’s father, Raja Naqqah Saeed, said he was visiting sick relatives in Pakistan with his son Sahil.

They were about to leave for the airport to return to the UK at 2300 local time on Wednesday when four men - armed with guns and a grenade - approached the house.

Up to 10 family members inside the house were beaten by the intruders during the night.

The robbers eventually fled with the boy, demanding a ransom equivalent to £100,000. They also took household items, believed to be jewellery and money.

The intruders said they would be back in touch at 0700 GMT, although the boy’s father said he had not heard from them.

Mr Saeed told BBC News his son is a child who “loves everyone”.

“I don’t have any money at all. They can take me if they want - just let my son come back,” he said.

“I am nothing without him,” said the boy’s father.

And, speaking at the family’s home, the child’s mother, Akila, told Sky News there is “no chance” her family would be able to pay the ransom.
Weeping, she said: “He’s just a sweet little boy.”

Earlier, Mr Saeed, who has been based in the UK for about seven years, described the incident, saying: “They took my son. They were fully loaded with guns and hand grenades. All Pakistan police know about this, and the British Council.”

He added: “[The kidnappers] are going to ring me. I don’t know what they are going to say to me - I don’t have that much money.”

The BBC’s Aleem Maqbool reported that Punjab police are taking this very seriously and a large team is working on the case.

Our correspondent said kidnappings occurred in some parts of Pakistan.
He said: “There are criminal gangs, some associated with militant groups who make their money by kidnapping rich people, whether they be Pakistani or foreigners, and demanding money in return.”

Re: British Boy Kidnapped for Ransom in Pakistan

It's so sad! The little boy is beautiful MashAllah. May Allah keep him protected from such jahil, unphar, gawaar.

My mamoo's house got robbed in Pindi but they didnt take any of my cousins. Alhumdulilah

This is the kind of psycho behaviour that happens in Mexico. This is just so sad. He really is a beautiful boy, mashallah. I hope to God they aren't hurting him.

so sad to hear..may Allah grant him safe return to his family.

I saw this on the news.. its just so disgusting.

May Allah swt protect the 5 year old and re-unite him with his family, Ameen.

Uh.. they should hang the kidnappers.

Ameen.

Feel very sorry for the family. Hope they get their child back soon.

Allah osey apni hifz o aman main rakhey aur walden se milwaey ameen sum ameen

This is really sad, i cant imagine how he must be feeling with a load of strangers.

really sad!

This is a very common thing going around in Pakistan.

The Pakistani Economy has collapsed and middle class educated people are resorting to kidnapping because there are no jobs and no money.

Pakistan has become a very dangerous place.

yeah its so common that being kidnapped for ransom is the new status symbol.

our country seems to be sinking lower every day. :(

Yeah this happens all the time, this time it happened to a Britian so coverage is greater.... but happens in Pakistan and everywhere really.

Allah keep the boyt safe, and burn the dacoits alive!

InshAllah he will return home safe and sound..

The media are reporting it might have been some sort of ‘inside job’:

Mother begs Pakistan kidnappers: He’s just a little boy, please don’t hurt him (includes video)

Omg this is horrible.

The boy could not be found yet. Punjab Police is totally failed organization.

This is horrible . Allah reham karay . Ameen .

Poor baby, he must be so scared in a strange foreign land.

He can't even speak Punjabi or Urdu.

I read about him in the paper and it said he spoke to his mum on the phone and said he couldn't wait to come home and have a jacket potatoe because he was sick of chapatis..

Today I had jacket potato for my lunch and it got stuck in my throat, I couldn't eat it thinking about the poor bacha, what if they're not feeding him.

May Allah Ta'ala keep him safe. Anyone who can should read Surat Yasin and do dua for him.

I was wondering why the mum hadn’t flown out to Pakistan, turns out the dad had taken her passport so she couldn’t follow them out there and the papers are saying the marriage was in trouble, poor kid and what a mess if it’s true :confused: Parents of kidnapped boy, 5, had ‘major falling out’ | Mail Online

jacket potatoe?