Bride and Groom's Own Dance Number

So what’s the verdict on this nowadays?
Taboo or not to see the bride and groom do a rehearsed dance number at an event during their wedding festivities?

Re: Bride and Groom’s Own Dance Number

I think it’s cute!

Love this one

But I guess it depends on what kind of family you belong too and how comfortable you are dancing in front of your entire families.

Re: Bride and Groom's Own Dance Number

yeah...that one's always been popular with the public.

i think its cute! my brother and his wife, and my cousin and her husband did them and they were adorable.

My best friend and her hubby had hired professional choreographers to set their sangeet dance (indian wedding :) ). The choreographer provided a dance troupe to accompany the bride and groom and also the music. There were group dances too, so cousins and friends from both sides took part. They were practicing for weeks! It was a great informal setting to break the ice and get the families closer.

The dance itself was awesome, but then so was the choreographer's bill!

Just depends on your social circle.I belong to a very strict, traditional fam. but I unintentionaly danced on these tracks on my sisters wedding(mehndi day), Mah tu pagal hee ho gaya tha!!
Sanu Sohni Lagdi Tu Sari Di Sari - Lehmber Hussainpuri - YouTube
De le gera punjabi song - YouTube
Husnaa di sarkar - jazzy b - YouTube

i had a joint mehndi and i had alot of group dancing going on which was nice i remember every1 wispering in my ears dont u go up and dance acha nai lagta u know the scene my hubby asked me to dance i had to say no :naraz: but i still had a fab mehndi :slight_smile:

We're going to do one at our reception.. I also want to participate in the dance my friends are going to do at the Mehdni. I think its fun!

i think its unecessary but like everything else...people want to be modern and times have changed..i feel the 'sharam' element from weddings is no longer present :(

LOL yes because its 2012 not 1901.

Why should the bride and groom feel shamed? I can see how maybe if it was arranged but I've been with my bf for 6 years. Our wedding's going to be a giant party.

^Sharam is not necessarily from shame. It can be from *haya *and I guess it all boils down to how openminded your family is in the end.

I personally find it a bit awkward when bride and groom dance at their own event. But that's just me.

I love watching the bride/groom dance! This is definitely a common thing in Indian weddings these days. Bride/groom at all Indian weddings I've been to have danced during their sangeet/garba and receptions. I think with time...Pakistani weddings (especially the one's in the West) will move towards this too.

Hubby and I did a Rumba for our 1st dance (we took lessons for almost 2 months..lol). And of course danced later on after dinner with all our guests. But yea....as mentioned already....much of this depends on how conservative the families and the guests are. If the families are not super traditional and guests (especially friends of the bride/groom) are ready for a big party....then this is a blast. :)

would luv to see this dance number in wedding :meeno:

^ You won’t see that number cuz most times nowadays they know a lot more than just each other’s mobile number. :cb:

On a more serious note…it is entirely dependent on the families. But what to do if one family is very liberal and the other is quite conservative.

I think it also has to do with the kind of dance/number they choose. I’ve seen bride and groom dance together when they were “dragged” onto the dance floor with the dulhan all shy…looked very cute.

Then I saw some highly rehearsed and choreographed numbers that didn’t seem natural and appeared to be “put on” like some hired entertainment. Not classy at all.

It must be highly difficult to strike the perfect balance.

:wink: :hayaa:

Muzna: go ahead, all those conservative are actually more liberal when it comes to their sons and daughters wedding. :wink:

good point…people are definitely more critical of what goes on in other folks events…always easy to point a finger isn’t it?

I’m just not sure that the wedding is the right venue for bride and groom to show off their dancing skills.

To each their own!! Some families are ok with it, some are absolutely not, I would only dance if it were an all women event - perhaps I am old fashioned but thats just how I feel!!
I think getting up casually at the mehndi or dragged into by family/cousins to do a little luddi/bhangra is perfectly okay and kinda cute, however I do find a choreographed numbers a bit tacky, takes the charm away!! I wouldn't want to shake it in front of other men that I have never seen in my life before (if the mehndi event is being together by both families)

It's also not necessarily the families though. When my cousin got married, it was mostly arranged, and her brothers tried to push her and husband to dance together and it was SERIOUSLY awkward because they barely knew each other. I think a lot of it has to do with the comfort level the bride and groom have with each other.

Wah ji Wah, shadi bhi attend ki aur mujra bhi dekh liya