Bridal Wear in the GTA Review

Hey everyone, I visit this site almost daily and love reading everyone’s ideas, vendor reviews and wedding advice. I am a December bride and I just wanted to share my experience with finding a bridal outfit within Toronto and the GTA. I too was told by many aunties and family members that the only place to get a custom gown is Pakistan. However, I was able to find a lot of local stores and designers that had some beautiful dresses.

Here are the ones I visited: Dream Couture, Dhaagay, Shabi’s, Oriental Costumes and Naz Fashion Bug. Other than those stores, I also saw some designers that worked from home, one of them was a Pakistani designer whose label was called Ramira and the other one was an aunty located in Oakville whose labels name was Resham Zari.

I bought 3 outfits from Dream Couture (required a lot of bargaining, their prices are marked up too high imo), 2 from Ramira (very glamorous, elegant and classy) and 2 formal wear, 1 casual and my bridal from Resham Zari.

My mom and I first went to see the aunty in Oakville in January when my date was fixed, although I liked a lot of her bridal gowns I did not want to get something too early in case fashion trends changed. We made a lot of trips back and forth whenever new bridals or shipments came in because we liked the quality of the work, the fabrics used and the styles. This designer definitely put in a lot of time and attention into details even things that you wouldn’t think twice about like the fabric on the inside of your dupatta (palta). Unfortunately I was unable to make up my mind and order something during our multiple trips. Eventually we were shown two dresses that I fell in love with. One of them was the exact colour that I wanted (I didn’t want the traditional red bridal) and the other had work that I really liked. I liked elements of the original dress like the border but wanted the work from the second dress to be on my custom gown. I also added work and a train to the back of the dress. Despite some uncertainty from me in the beginning we finally decided on the colour combo, changes and finalized the order in June.

After that I didn’t ask about the dress until I started looking for matching jewelry. At that point I asked aunty for a picture of the work. She was hesitant with sharing it with me because she felt that it would not do justice to the work in real life but after a bit of persistence from me she sent me the picture. After I saw a picture of the work on the shirt I was heart broken, it was nothing like I had imagined. I called aunty the next day (after not being able to sleep all night and worrying about another Husn-e-Afza fiasco) and explained how I felt. She reassured me, was very patient and professional and asked me to wait until I saw the dress in person before we decided anything further. She also assured me that in the worst case scenario I could choose from her ready made samples. She was confident that it would not come to that. She also placed a rush on the delivery so that the outfit could get here sooner and I could see it in person. She called me as soon as it had arrived and I went to see it with my fiance the next day. I was so stressed out that it didn’t even matter if he saw me in my “potential wedding dress” before the wedding.

Once I had arrived and saw the outfit in proper lighting, with all of the pieces together (lehnga/dupatta) I was blown away. The work, design and colours were exquisite. The picture definitely did not do justice to the fine details that were on the outfit and how beautiful it looked in real life. With the proper lighting in the room the pictures we took came out a lot nicer than the one I had seen before as well. My advice for all brides going through this experience is to find a designer who understands your vision, is respectful and professional and whose outfits match your style. After you’ve found someone that you feel makes the cut then trust them to do their job. It is possible to find a beautiful outfit without going to Pakistan, you just need to look around. Luckily for brides in the Toronto/GTA area, there are lots of options these days! Sorry for the long post, just wanted to give credit where it is due and hopefully provide some helpful advice to those of you in similar situations. Best of luck with your hunt for the perfect dress!

Re: Bridal Wear in the GTA Review

thanks for sharing your experience :)

i've seen resham zari's work a couple of times at their stall during eid melas.. i was surprised looking at the good prices they had for their bridals so i took their business card just to keep for the future ;) nice to know that you had a good experience with them! all the best for your wedding in December

You're welcome marigold :) I really liked her formal and casual wear as well! The best part was that everything is sown well so you get the perfect fit even in ready made clothes.

Hi there, I’ve been following your post on bridal wear to look for my own bridal wear : ) I visited Shaabi’s and Dream Couture, and found their bridals to be nice, but pricey. I’m planning to see the aunty located in Oakville. Just wanted to ask you if you thought her bridals were similar to what Shaabis and DC had? Also, did you have the contact info of the designer Ramira you mentioned? Where is she located?And are there any other home-based aunties I could check out? I would appreciate any help! It’s all soo confusing.

Hey nadz I have lots of contact info of home based and store based designers. As for dream couture I have heard that they can make you a nice custom outfit if you buy a bridal trousseau package from them (starting at $5000) which will include bridal, valima, mehndi and jahez outfits. The aunty in Oakville has very reasonable prices for her bridals and the quality is amazing. Her formal wear was pricey though so see if you can work out a deal here is her number: (905) 847-3880. Other designers that I have heard of are Eastern Collections, Saba Aparell, Alia K Designer Studio. Ramira by Mahreen is based in Pakistan (she has a fb page under her label Ramira) and she visits Mississauga occasionally. She can be contacted on fb. Her outfits are custom and absolutely stunning but they can get pricey as well. You'll need to be clear about your budget and expectations. Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any more questions :)

Thanks for the great info! I recently got engaged a week ago, so I’m on the hunt for all the info I can get within GTA :flowers:

Thank you so much! This is great information. I’m a little confused about the budget and how much I should be spending. I guess when I start checking out all these places, I’ll get a better idea. My dad thinks we should order from Pakistan directly, but I really think that is so risky. The aunty in Oakville sounds like a good option. Could you please provide me with the contact info of other home-based aunties as well? Thanks! (I might bug you with more questions again!)

Glad to help mausam! Good luck with the hunt for your bridal! :)

Nadz: the number for saba aparell is (905) 824-6720 and (416) 371-6720. I haven't been there but one of my coworkers bought her bridal from her. Here is the number for eastern collections 416-818-4025. Once again I haven't purchased anything from her but one of my coworkers did and her bridal was traditional but very pretty. In terms of budget I think you can manage to find a nice bridal starting at $2000. Personally I wouldn't spend more than $3000 on a one time wear outfit but everyone has their own priorities and preferences. If you order from Pakistan make sure that you either order from a trusted designer or have someone there that you can trust to get everything done. I liked having someone to take care of all of that here and who could ensure everything was to my size and liking.

I paid $2300 for my bridal this included the shirt, lehnga, dupatta, a matching churidaar so that I can wear my bridal shirt with it for formal occasions, matching chudiyan, a matching clutch and matching heels. I was also able to customize everything to my liking, ie. Choose colours I wanted, colour of work I wanted, add jewelled balls to dupatta, customize border, add work on the extended train. I would love to post a picture of the outfit but I want to keep it on the dl until after the wedding in December. Also since it was a custom outfit no pictures have been taken of it nor has anyone else been able to see it so that it stays one of a kind.

Thank you for the info! I agree with you, I think $2000 is a very good budget for a bridal dress. My ticket to travel there would cost the same! Also, I did want to get something that I could wear again for other occasions – so what you got with a churidaar, purse, bangles sounds like an amazing deal! I too like the idea of having some control over the process, sizing and design.
Would love to see your outfit – but I totally get you wanting to wait till after your marriage. It’s soon right? You must be excited!! Good luck to you!
On a side note, I spoke to this girl the other day who got her bridal – a copy of Nomi Ansari for $500 from Pakistan. That sounds super cheap to me!
Anyhow, hoping to check out some of the places you mentioned this weekend. I’ll keep you posted : )

That sounds like a good deal! Can't wait to see the pix :)

Ya going to Pakistan is quite expensive these days. On the plus side though if you do plan on going you can get a lot of additional items for a good price from there (jahez clothes, jewelry, mehndi decor etc). I have been living in Canada for 17 years so I'm not too familiar with the places in Pakistan and am not a fan of shopping in the crowded and hot bazaars lol. $500 for a bridal sounds like an amazing deal! You should definitely find out where she got it from and try to get other reviews from there. I'll be happy to share the pics of my bridal after we come back from our honeymoon in January :)

I checked out Resham Zari this weekend, her is stuff is really really nice! And I think you get a decent deal. Thank you for telling us about her! I saw Saba Apparel too, found her bridal wear to be really nice but just though there were older designs IMO.

And haha I agree I don’t like the crowds and the heat either. Though, I think if you had a month or two, then it’s totally worth going there – you do get more variety and you get more for your money.

Btw majeemjum, who did you go for makeup and photography? We're thinking Studio 95, but not sure how many hours to book for our 2 day event. Do you think 10 hours (5 and 5) would be sufficient between 2 days?

Hey Nadz, I'm glad you had a chance to check her out, hope you're able to find your bridal soon :) I have seen studio 95 and they seem great, my fiancé and I booked Ifty Alam whose work is absolutely amazing and who we generally really like as a person. I think 10 hours may be too little but it definitely depends on how long your events will be. We're getting coverage of us getting ready on the shaadi day so that will start around 2 and knowing desi weddings our night will probably end around 12-1 for the rukhsati. In general though if you want coverage of just the hall event no prep shots or photoshoot I think 6 pm-12 am is good so in general around 6-8 hours of shooting time per day is good. I booked three different make up and hair artists for my events Lesonne Bridals for the mehndi and nikkah, Shirley Wu for the shaadi and Bene Pham for the walima. Bene Pham was the most cost effective the other two were around $450. The reason I booked different make up artists was based upon the location of tje events my mehndi is in Brampton so I booked a mua in Brampton and my valima is in Pickering so my mua on that day is in scarborough.

Keep the ideas coming ladies! this is fantastic! Thank you so much @majeemjum

Happy to help mausam :)

I hope so too! I liked Studio 95 too, but only thing was they are not available on the shaadi day, so will do the couple shoot before, but will send an associate for the event. It’s not ideal but I don’t mind I guess. Will look into Ifty Alam as well and see what he’s offering. His work is great. We’re thinking of not doing prep shots, so maybe 6 would be safer and like you said desi weddings tend to run late. Your MUA choices are great! You’ll get a different look for each event J

I’m so confused because I really don’t want caked on makeup and it’s hard to tell just from the pictures what their approach will be. Also, I want to spend around $350. Guess I’ll do some more research.

One of my coworkers had Angell do her bridal and valima make up, she looked gorgeous on both days I think she was in that price range. Bene Pham is also that much and she was referred to me by another coworker whose sister had her do bridal makeup and hair for her wedding.

You're right that it's difficult to tell how the make up will be from pictures so I found going to wedding shows helped. You can see the artists putting make up on models or get a trial yourself (some of them offer free trials). If you're not able to go to any you can pay for a trial with all mua's and that should help you make your final decision I think they range in price from $60-70. Another thing my coworker told me is that she's known people who have gotten mehndi make up and hair done by saying that they needed party hair/make up which is $150 at Shirley Wu's studio and then they'll get someone from the fam to set their dupatta. You may want to consider that option as well :)

Alia k designer studio did the wedding and valima outfits for three people I know. I can't comment on price but the outfits were beautiful. She is a good option as well.

Thank for the ideas! I think it’s safer to get a trial like you said. Haha it’s crazy to see how the prices change when you say party / mehendi makeup. Sometimes, it’s essentially the same thing! Yes, I heard good reviews on Angell, but I think they both are based in Markham and my events are in Mississauga/ Brampton and would like to get dressed in their studio (or relaxed environment lol).

Yes, Alia K does look good. Hopefully someone will have my dream bridal dress lol!!