yes ive seen that too its looks gorgeous im hoping to get one made like that too, its got the traditional; red maroon but a new contemporary twist..but i don thtink im gonna have enough time to have it made! im gona be going a month before the rukhsati! is it easy to get nice stuff like that ready made?
When in lahore, specify that you want nazuk work not heavy per motive this way you can choose to get bareek kaam. Remeber though that bareek nazuk kaam is more expensive as its more time consuming to fill a fabric with fine embroidery than heavy embroidery which fills up space faster with mota work. You can ask for resham, tilla and dabka/kora of 19 number or finer so that the kaam is delicate. give your self atleast 30 days for bridal dresses though tell the shop keepers two weeks earlier than when you need the clothes cause unfortunately no one is every punctual about delivery times. Best of luck!
All I want to ask you desi women is where in the US can I get a dress made from scratch? Or lets say I buy a very plain dress and I want to add embroidery to it, can I? I only ask b/c Arabs don't wear colorful dresses like you guys for the wedding so I'm going to wear white but I still want it to have beautiful embroidery on it and make it look eastern in a sense.
i am not a big fan of “boutiques” and “ready made” clothing in the bazaar. i like my shalwaar kameez or any dress made from scratch. i am veryyy picky when it comes to desi clothing. we have certain places ( our family has been their customer for 2 generations now) where we get our clothes made from scratch, we have our own tailor, embroiderer, the place where we usually buy the cloth that we want for the dress. so my dress was made in 2 weeks ( it was put on urgent)! since they know us pretty well. but normally it takes a month or so for a heavy dress like my nikkah one to be made. plus it was kundan ka kaam, which at that time wasn’t that popular yet. so there weren’t lot of places that were making that “kaam” yet.
i already have my mayoN dress made, again made from scratch n imported from aligarh, india its a dark yellow (zardi) kameez with churidaar pajama and has a web of “patti ka kaam” with shocking pink roses and green leaves all over it. – there another idea for u guyz
Majestic: i am nikkahfied, rukhsati is at the end of this year inshallah after i finish my studies.
if u r looking for something halka phulka, go for some gorgeous printed silk and have its border embroideried with sitaro aur nago ka kaam. with bareek nazul gold filling. make sure the lehanga/gharah has a big border at the bottom, it avoids any “lachak” in it. u can have the dupatta with small borders though. n leave the shirt plain.
Oh wow suroor those are some very good ideas!!!I especially like the idea of taking printed material and then getting kaam done on it. I guess I can plan all i want to now but i wont know how things are until i land there. :( But what do you exactly mean when you say the border for lehanga should be bigger to avoid lachak? What does lachak do to a lehanga?
it puts a bit weight at the bottom of the lehanga so it doesnt fly all over in the wind ( u dont want that happening infront of so many guests :D ) lehangay ko wazan dena takeh woh neechay gravity say seedha rahay aur upar ki taraf na khiskay. i hope u understand urdu.
great ideas suroor… man i love u girls theres so many people getting rukhsat and nikkahfied.. its so cool! such a happy feeling… arrite me is done being corny
suroor u and I are gonna be in pak at the same time… !
Ira, i dont even get choice of what i wear… im still stuck on wearing a goldy cream colour though.. i just need a picture! ive lost the one i had in mind..
nice sadzz!
maj: because our relatives are there. its much more fun to have wedding with ur family friends and cousins around. and mashallah i have a huge khaandaan. n i love big weddings in pakistan. wahaN shaidyoN ka maza kuch aur hai. :-) my nikkah was huge n i am guessing my rukhsati n valima will be bigger. i am looking forward to all the hulla gulla n parties :D
suroor: thanks for the explanation. I was thinking maybe that was the idea behind it, so the material stays put but wasnt sure. now I really really want to get my dress made from scratch :( If anyone has names/addresses of places in lahore who would do kaam and stich your lehanga in a short time, it would be really helpful!!
Majestic: I aint getting married in Pak but here in Chicago InshaAllah. Just going for the shopping bit :D
sadzz: i was just browsing through GS yest and found quite a few nice pics. I think you should check out previous threads such valima wear by Blushing vision (i wonder how she is doing!) and a few others. Or if i get around doing that, i remember seeing a golden-offwhite lehanga that was gorgeous, and i might post it for ya :)
I like those, yeah I want long sleeves on mine, like victorian sleeves. I don’t know how to upload pix here, but I wanted to show you what I’m talking about. Thanks btw
Majestic i dont think u will find someone here like that easily but then again it cant be impossible hmmm u will probably have to pay alot more n work with a designer