bridal dress color - BLACK

black bridal dress - what is wrong with that, other than being unconventional??

sequins, beads, gold threads and on black chiffon - what is wrong with that?

Re: bridal dress color - BLACK

it fits perfectly because being married is like dying. It's the same experience

i went to a wedding in pakistan and the bride was wearing black!

Why do you have to "challenge" every little darn thing? sequins, beads, threads, chiffon etc yeah it all sounds beautiful but whats the need to fight and argue for it? You can wear ANY COLOUR YOU WANT, except black, now is that really so bad? You have the rest of your life to wear whatever colour you want, to wear no makeup, to wear watever the heck you want, but wedding day is very special and comes only once in ur life..

Why would anyone want to wear black on their wedding unless you are being force into that marriage and you extremly hate that guy. Yes, I am a typical desi at certain things.

@Aisha">lol@Aisha...:D

lol…so right..:CareBear:

a very low opinion u have of marriage :bummer:

its nothing like that :slight_smile:

although i've seen some really pretty black shararas, and i've always said that your wedding your choice, but lately while planning my own wedding i've realised just how much a wedding means to your parents and family. Everybody has expectations, and although you can't please everyone sometimes its best to just let things go. Like sara said you have the choice to wear any colour other then black, so suck it up.

then you woke up? :D just kidding

Dushwari,

Curltural beliefs play a major role and our social conditioning, no matter what country/culture it is. We have been too damn much conditioned by our Indian neighbour, both black and white dresses are considered of death, widowhood.

In Western countries, white color is equated with angel innocence, black with death, or too sexy :smiley: For instance if you go to Victoria Secret, their “Very Sexy” room is filled with black, red and shocking pink color sexy outfits. they call it flirty and bold :smiley: Their Angel room is mostly soft colors like baby pink, sky blue, light green and of course white outfits.

It depends upon the outfit, if it’s beautifully designed, may look nice. But On wedding, people usually want more color, it reflects life, new promises, new life, new emotions :slight_smile: new colors of life! However, there are codes and standards of various activities, ceremonies in every country/culture and people tend to appreciate those following such standards. And in some ceremonies, people not following may just be huge misfit or denied entrance :smiley: So choose your entry carefully :halo:

I think even "pure" white (like western bridals) is not considered very appropriate for a desi/Muslim wedding. Even white lenghas have alot of gold or multi kaam on it :)

as u said dushwari: there is nothing else wrong with it other than being unconventional.
its ultra sexy, slimming and flatters everyone.
i guess the point everyone is trying to make is that u have one chance to wear a full fledged red dress with heavy embroidery and makeup and jewellery on one day of your life (since on any other day it looks a bit too "red") so why not take advantage of that and wear it. u can wear a pretty black lengha in any other party or wedding.
BUT if i knew my mom wouldnt nag me to death about it...i would wear black too.

black is a sad color. color of gloom. it eats up all the 'warm energy' created by other colors like red, maroon, yellow, pink, green, light blue. it breaks down the positive effects of other colors.

red & family is the color of strength, warmth. generates postive energy. that's why it is common for bridal wear.

try it. unless you are an extra extra extra ordinarily happy and very strengthful person by nature, wearing black color will make you sad & worrisome and drain you of the 'happy' energy. never wear black on a bad day. slightly same nature for navy blue.

i used to wear black alot. it took me a while learning qualities of colors. still learning.

For everyday, I wear color as per weather outside. If it is bright sunny and too hot, I prefer not to wear hot colors, blue, turqoise and light green do better.

On rainy or gloomy days, I make sure I wear bright colors like, pink, red, or bright colors and not gray or greyish shades. Not that I read the color characteristics somewhere but with me, colors have great impact on my mood :)

Try a deep burgundy if u wish to wear black but cannot for whatever reason.

That’s called common sense :smilestar:

^^ Acha maro to nahee pls. meine koi ghalat kaha hai? :confused: better having common-sense than not having it at all:halo:

true! thats as close as it gets. and it looks fantastic with gold jewellery....

no no theres nothing wrong with that if you WANT to wear it on your wedding day.

but if ur wearing it only to prove a point, wth that's screwed up.

having said that, black signifies death, darkness, an end. which is why, conventionally, it's avoided for a wedding dress.

:hug: LOL… okay okay… nahi maarta :smiley: