Well dont know if that news has been posted here before…but i just had to post anyways…its really sad!
http://www.bandbaja.org/issues/010/features/brianoconnell.php
Especially reading this is sort of sad…
Well dont know if that news has been posted here before…but i just had to post anyways…its really sad!
http://www.bandbaja.org/issues/010/features/brianoconnell.php
Especially reading this is sort of sad…
I had heared it before and it made me sad. This is the end of Junoon, because I believe that Brian was a very, very vital part of it.
you are right.... that article made me sad too...... strange thing is that brian seemed like the nicest among the 3 of them and this is how he gets treated by the band when things go bad
People also need to realize that while Junoon provide entertainement to public, it is serious business doing music. When a band member over sleeps and misses a concert and is having problems with his personal life what can anyone else do ? Brian I am sure is a nice person and it was a touching story but look at the other side of the picture as well. Salman and Ali need to make a living for themselves. Music is what they do, if Brian's life is coming in the way well then they can feel sorry for him but they cant drag gim aong forever. Plus while Brian has been in the band for a long time Salman has composed majarity of their songs and Ali has composed the rest. In Meekal they have an excellent basist and they also have John Alec who cna play bass. I dont think Brian's departure can be termed as end of Junoon.
now thats one sad story :( ...not him leaving the band...but his personal life story :(
that article is really sad i feel for bri' good luck to u man with watever u do in the future. by the sounds of things ganja takla azmat and salu i'm the best vocalist have treated bri like dirt. he's best of with out em' but then again he needs the money.....
Now where's Spock to confirm the news for us?
Firstly, this is OLD news. What lahorimunda said pretty much sums it all up. For three years, Brian was not doing anything for Junoon's music. Furthermore, he started missing entire tours. The reasons why he was doing that, I shouldnt even talk about them.
What happens if an employee stops being creative, does not show up for work, and is causing embarassment to the company? He gets fired.
All those brainiacs (in particular Mr. LUC), who suggested Salman and Ali should have taken a lifetime 'tekha' to carry brian along should know they gave him 3 years (with a salary) to sort his life out, he couldnt, and in the end all they did was removed him from Junoon. This has also given a chance to Mekaalster to perform with Junoon, and now John (a big name behind Junoon, whom most ppl dont even know about) is the regular bassist for foriegn tours.
I am surprised Junoon even lasted this long. No shareef admi can survive with Mr. Party Animal and Mr. Ego Maniac. This group is way over-rated.
I noticed Brian was very lazy at the guitars. He was not putting his 100% you know. Guitar ki taar bhi aahista aahista angoothay sai maarta thaa. Oye yaar zara jaan shaan say bajaana thaa na. ![]()
I knew he was not on job when I listened to their last year’s album. I don’t know who the hell composed Deewar, Tara Jala and the rest of the crap!
I say bring Nusrat (pilot) back. He was a gem :k:
Tara Jala was the best song of 2003, but then again, you think Bilal Maqsood is one of Pakistans best guitarists, so I wont bother with you. You should go listen to your (pilots) gem’s solo album, that he tried after Junoon, Im sure with your standards, you’ll love it.
*Originally posted by Fayz: *
I am surprised Junoon even lasted this long. No shareef admi can survive with Mr. Party Animal and Mr. Ego Maniac. This group is way over-rated.
Jaltey raho, 15 years and counting...
sigh…bands bhi na…
Oh so that still hanging somewhere
I was not expecting!
Nusrat did a good job in Junoon’s first album or so. But it was Talaash that I guess Brian worked on, and it was marvelous. All sufi crap was Salman’s own mental disorder. Now you can come up with whatever you want. Junoon commited suicide back in 1996. There is no comparision with Talaash, khoi khoi aankhein, husn waalon, Mera Mahi, Khawab, neend aati nahi and dosti :love: The sufi stuff was a cheap publicity stunt that worked more than expected. Good for business may be but by listening to Laal Meri Pat…one would like to cut the ears off. Bhaand kahein kay. I heard Ali was offered by Aziz Mian’s group to fill the late Qawwal in the group after listening to that screaming insult. ![]()
^ Like I said… someone who thinks eP is a heavy metal band or bilal maqsood is the best guitarist in Pakistan
, his opinion does not matter, so quit trying to act like NFP. And like always, youre wrong again, Salman wrote the bass lines for Talash. You should stick to Ali Zduffer, like all good pop-corn fans.
like fayz said, can't believe they lasted that long with Ali (takla party animal) Azmat, Salman ( I have my head so far up india's butt that I can't see straight) Ahmed and Brian (coke pusher) O'connell
Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan we respect, Junoon we ditch ??? What kind of double standard is that. NFK did a lot more work in India for Indians then Junoon did. Call Salman whatever you want thats the guy who had the guts to leave Vital Signs when they were a house hold name and pick up a little known vocalist and turn his band into the biggest thing ever happened to Pakistani music.
Even if someone doesnt like their music I think Junoon still needs to be respected for a variety of reasons. They stood up to corruption in Pakistan when they made "Ehtasaab", while everyone was busy making "Jane Man Kaho Na Kiya Hoa" !!! They went to India as a Pakistani band and won the best band award at channel V awards unlike the latest award won by Strings as "Best Hindi Band".
Salman talked about peace between India and Pakistan for the longest time, it's now some 5-7 years later that others are finally realizing the logic behind it.
The credit should be given where it's due Junoon has worked hard and achieved a lot. Salman is the main man behind the phenominal success and Ali is the power house that worked along Salman in making his dream come true. Brian was coming in the way, I doubt anyone else would have given him 3 years off but there is a limit to everything.
NFAK didn't turn "jaza e junoon" into "pakistan hai hamara, hindustan hai hamara." That is going way overboard. And I do not believe in peace between pak and ind. Infact I think both countries should put up a wall between the borders. I don't want war either. I believe in you leave us alone, we leave you alone, you don't invade into our country with your half naked women dancing in the rain, we don't export militants into kashmir. India is such a big country that our culture would be dwarfed if they were to be given free access. And don't believe for one second that this is not their goal. Akhand bharat is still a wet dream for most of the BJP gang. It is true that junoon created some of the best songs in pak history, but that doesn't give them a free pass when I see them going overboard with their "aao india, let's go to the bedroom and make out since we are the "same"" lecture. As far as our artists gaining recognition in india is concerned. I couldn't give a damn, the fact that "its the time to disco" was a smash hit in their country speaks volume about their music sense. If I were an pak artist, I would much rather like to get an favorable review by Nadeem Farooq Paracha or the bandbaja gang than get an award in india. But then again, I don't have my head stuck up india's ass like some of us in this forum.
Brian is history now. What's the use of fighting over it?