Re: Breastfeedng problems
same.. opps sorry like I said I just read it somwhere on GS a few years ago.. no personal experience at all.
sgs…
I wanna see her too!!!
same.. opps sorry like I said I just read it somwhere on GS a few years ago.. no personal experience at all.
sgs…
I wanna see her too!!!
I dont know about zeera but fenugreek seed is a common spice/herb used for milk supply. Just google it for how much and how to take.
Sahar, breastfeeding is hard in the begining for some of us. Its frustrating when your baby isnt interested in eating. Just keep doing as yoru lac consult recommends. If at some point in time you think its not worth it, then dont stress yoruself out and give formula. InshaAllah your babe will figure it out soon! ![]()
OMG sahar I didnt know..
congrats.. pictures please ..
I don't know how affective it is but I think I read this desi totka somwehre on GS that if you slightly fy the crushed zeera and then eat a spoonful with a cup of warm milk it helps with the production of milk. Probably worth a shot!
yeah.. it works.. but u got to do it few days, not just once and forget about it.
Sparrow -- Do talk to a lactation consultant if you can.
I just called mine from the hospital. I had spoken to her briefly before I left the hospital and she gave me the number to call if I had any questions or concerns as I got started with BF. She had obviously gone over my records before calling and was great with advice. She was comforting and reasonable to help with the transition. I think yesterday's breakdown started when the pediatrician said that if I really wanted to breastfeed, I needed to cut out the formula completely. And then baby just cried and cried because I just don't have enough milk and how was I supposed to let her starve? At that point I hadn't seen any evidence of milk, but I'm feeling better about that now.
I feel better now, basically because I'm not going to let silly advice confuse me. The lactation consultant was very helpful, so I'll try my best to follow her suggestions and see what happens.
Khawa, Thanks for sharing your experience! That's the thing, I don't have much milk yet. But if she's awake she will latch on properly. The problem is she's a preemie newborn. She's only interested in sleeping. And I can't coax her to suck then. Anyway, I'm going to follow the consultant's advice (she said let her suck as much as she's willing, then supplement with formula and pump for five minutes after each feeding). Then we'll see what happens.
SGC- thanks for the link! I'm reading it over now.
Sahar, how's the bf going? i feel like such a failure but i hope it's going well for you...
baby is already 8lb so atleast she is healthy and happy. i'm just sad i couldn't do more for her in terms of the nutrition you get from bf.
^ Have you given up, Sparrow? Are you giving formula, expressed milk, a combo? Don't worry! So many of us are formula-fed babies, and we're fine, mashAllah! As a mother you do so much to care for your child's health and happiness. Whether or not you BF is not a reflection on how good a mother you are. I know that's hard to let go of, tho.
Things are better here, but still stressful. She has made it this whole day without any formula! It's been BF and expressed milk all day for her. But I'm still not making enough to keep up with her appetite. She's two weeks and a day, and it's only first thing in the morning that I can get 3oz out. Overnight I'll probably have to let her have formula. It's like all day all I'm doing is BFing, pumping, cleaning, wiping, eating, napping for 15 minutes, and then back to BFing again.
Also she'll easily spend an hour suckling away, but when I stop the BFing, she'll cry and cry from hunger after a few minutes. Then she'll finish off almost a whole meal from the bottle. I worry that eventho she's suckling she's just not getting enough from me. After the initial latch, her suckling tends to become weaker. She keeps going, but she seems to have fallen asleep too.
mashAllah it sounds like you have such a cute goloo! I can't wait till mine gets big and chubby!
Did anyone try “Mother’s Milk Tea”? When I mentioned to my OBGYN that I was having production issues, she recommended it and said she’s actually seen it make a difference for a few people. I figured it’s worth a try. The ingredients seem pretty healthy and harmless.
Organic bitter fennel fruit [PhEur] 560 mg, Organic aniseed fruit [PhEur] 350 mg, Organic coriander fruit [PhEur] 210 mg, Organic fenugreek seed [PhEur] 35 mg, Organic blessed thistle herb [DAC] 35 mg.
Amazon.com: Organic Mother’s Milk Tea 16 Bags: Health & Personal Care
I was only able to give expressed milk to my baby for 1 months. At that time she was too weak to suck on her own so I used to express. I dont know the reason of it but slowly and gradually my milk supply went down and I was getting hardly 20-30 ml a day . I had to give my baby formula milk. She has been adjusting well to formula . Till the due date I gave her enfalac premature formula and now she is taking enfalc A+ . My personal feelings are that formula helped my baby gain weight more quickly as compared to breast milk.
^ I had a preemie too, but thankfully she did not need any special care. But because she was early and because I had a c-section and I think maybe also because of my PCOS, I just haven’t been producing enough to fill her up. I didn’t start strong, and now can’t seem to catch up with her appetite. Every feeding I nurse for a while (20-40 minutes, sometimes an hour), then I give her a bottle of formula. Sometimes she’ll have another 3 oz (she’ll be 6 weeks tomorrow, mashAllah). She will cry and cry for more after I nurse. There have been very few times where she has seemed satisfied after nursing, and I think those times were just because she’d rather sleep for a little while. I worry she’s not actually full. I’ve been trying to pump, to maintain and increase my supply, but since I give her the formula after, by the time I have time to pump I worry I am too close to her next feeding and she gets frustrated.
MashAllah she has not struggled too much with latching on. Sometimes she won’t do it properly, but if she’s hungry and angry, she knows exactly what to do. :D.
But I’ve heard from many people that it is very difficult to maintain your supply by pumping alone. The baby does a much better job at triggering production with her suckling. The pumps can’t match that.
Anyway, I think I’m going to try this tea and see if it helps. My OBGYN said that her colleague used it after her supply had stopped for like 3 months, and suddenly she was spraying milk!
Also, the doctor said that she has found that eating a handful of dates and almonds regularly helps, so I’ll give that a try. I also have the panjeeri Ammi made.
Having a stomach bug has not helped things.
I’ll start properly once I’m recovered from that.
duplicate
I may be repeating this the thousand times but here it is again.
Ricinus communis D6 .. 5 Globuli every hour!
I had this homopetic medicine to increase production from my hospital that worked like wonder with me the first time and the second time, thought I didnt need it much for the second baby as she is fully breast feed MA ..