Breastfeedng problems

congrts sparrow!! i m preg with my frst baby... have no experience, sorry! but i just love ur daughters name. infact i have told my husband since 2 mnths already i will name our daughter(if it is) anaaya.. but urs is inaaya. i was wonderin is there any diffference between the 2 names and which one is correct that means Allah's inaayat???

Re: Breastfeedng problems

Its with an "i" or an "e" I believe... not an "a".
Inaya or Enaya.

Sparrow congratulations on the baby! I also had trouble with my baby in the begining, she just wouldnt eat. I tried a lot of things like you and got help from teh lactation consultants quite a bit. In the hosp i delivered at, they do free out patient visits which was a surprise to me.

Also like Devil said, if you can, try a medela pump. I got the Pump in Style advanced (covered by insurance) and had to pump and feed all day since for a few weeks there my baby would run the other way as soon as i tried feeding her directly. It was really really stressful but Alhamd with some help from her ped and lac consultant i was able to live through it.

My advice is to pump and feed her from a bottle BUT always let her latch on first. She just needs practice. Did you feed her with a bottle early on? sometimes that confuses them.

My baby is now 10 months old and Alhmad i am still exclusively breastfeeding her (she neevr took accepted formula, always spit it out). So if breastfeeding is important to you, pump and feed. No need to take stress out if she wont eat directly. Taking care of a newborn is hard enough as it is.

Breastfeeding is tough. sigh

Congratulations once again!

Breastfeeding is only tough at the beginning, afterwards you can also sleep while nursing. :d

And how is it going for you?? :) :) :)

^ Sometimes she latches on great and it's really exciting! but most of the time it's a struggle. And the last few times she's decided that it's not worth suckling at all -- even when mommy is giving her the bottle. Of course if Nani or Dadi are giving her a bottle, she's all angelic.

whoa whoa.. why are u giving her the bottle so soon sahar?

i think the reason she takes a bottle easily from everone else but u is cuz she can smell ure milk and knows where the boob is.. and that the bottle is not the boob.. she would rather ahve the real thing.

and ya.. its so insanely tough that women should get a nobel peace prize just for bfeeding a baby… mine gave me postpartum depression! it sometimes would take 2 ppl to make him breastfeed.. i would hold the boob whilst my husband struggled with his head :smiley: honestly some babies :rolleyes:

thanks for all your advice i'm gonna start expressing so milk supply doesnt go down and i'll keep putting her on the breast in the hope that one day soon she just grabs it and starts sucking...definitely agree that women should get an award for bf cuz it is hard work.

Sahar i didn't realise you had your baby i thought baby wasn't due till later. congrats hope all is well. So are you going thru same bf issues as me?

Mall i did a lot of research for the baby's name and in my opinion Inaaya is the correct spelling and means gift of Allah.

khawa -- after the c-section i wasn't really able to sit up and hold her and get in any position to feed her. so she's been taking formula. and it's taken a while for the milk to come in and such. after the second day i started trying with each feeding, and then supplementing with formula.

sparrow -- i wasn't due till end of january. but on dec 24th i got a call from the doctor that tests results showed that i had developed preeclampsia quite suddenly. i had a c-section that evening.

mall -- i felt inaya, inaaya, or enaya were the best spelling and closest to the correct pronounciation. anaya seemed a bit different to me. we've also named our daughter the same, but spelled with an "e".

why some women has small light in colour and less prominent nipples
their nipples didnt develop properly or what???

because some women has big sharp and dark nipples?
why is so?

i hear you sahar.... i remember crying after and before every bfeeding session.. alongwith the husband :D

hey u have a blog? i wanna see her!!!!

Okay ladies, I've just been sobbing and sobbing and need some advice. I'm on day 5. Is it possible I just don't have any milk....yet?

^ oh sahar!! hug don’t cry!
i wish i could offer some personal experience, but for what its worth, i googled it and this was one of the articles that came up-
Delayed or Not Enough Milk Production - My Child Has - Children’s Hospital Boston

sahar.. u sound a lot like me when i started bfeeding.. my milk supply wasnt awesome.. i would be in the pumping room with other moms pumping away... we were told to pump each breast for 10 mins... and i would be there with my pathetic 2 oz whilst i swear other moms would just attatch the pump and it would be the nile just flowing through..

some of it was just how my body is.. but most of it was cuz my son was just not sucking enough, nor hard enough... nor was he latching on properly... i got help for a week with hours of consultation and sessions of breast feeding.. in teh end i just gave up.. it was the hardest time of my life i think.. even worse than labour and delivery... u have this perfect idea and then it just bursts into a million pcs

have u tried reaching out to lactation consultants.. hospital where u delivered, can they not help you with bfeeding? sometimes when the baby is just hungry it wants the flow going immediately.. when u pull at ure breast.. does any milk come out? i would sometimes pull my nipple until milk was flowing and then put the baby on..

how do u know u dont have any milk.. is there no flow?

and love.. it can take upto a week for milk to come flowing.. but what it really needs is for the baby to suck and suck.. and where that isnt great.. try pumping.. pump every 3 hours.. its hell .. i know it is..

sometimes i would even put in ear plugs cuz its the most heartbreaking cry.. that of a newborn.. and dont get scared of the crying.. just focus on the latching.. let her get the hang of it.. just try for 10 mins... then pump... same thing for next feeding time..

and if she loves her bottle nipple by now.. she will nto go back.. when i first introd bottle feeding, it was meant just for the night as per my doctor's advice, cuz my milk wasnt enough to sustain him... and pumping in the night was just absurd.. but once he realized he could get milk fast.. no matter how much i let him cry.. he refused the breast

ure not the only one out htere love... it was enough to make my husband cry :)

Sparrow -- Do talk to a lactation consultant if you can.

I just called mine from the hospital. I had spoken to her briefly before I left the hospital and she gave me the number to call if I had any questions or concerns as I got started with BF. She had obviously gone over my records before calling and was great with advice. She was comforting and reasonable to help with the transition. I think yesterday's breakdown started when the pediatrician said that if I really wanted to breastfeed, I needed to cut out the formula completely. And then baby just cried and cried because I just don't have enough milk and how was I supposed to let her starve? At that point I hadn't seen any evidence of milk, but I'm feeling better about that now.

I feel better now, basically because I'm not going to let silly advice confuse me. The lactation consultant was very helpful, so I'll try my best to follow her suggestions and see what happens.

Khawa, Thanks for sharing your experience! That's the thing, I don't have much milk yet. But if she's awake she will latch on properly. The problem is she's a preemie newborn. She's only interested in sleeping. And I can't coax her to suck then. Anyway, I'm going to follow the consultant's advice (she said let her suck as much as she's willing, then supplement with formula and pump for five minutes after each feeding). Then we'll see what happens.

SGC- thanks for the link! I'm reading it over now.

I don't know how affective it is but I think I read this desi totka somwehre on GS that if you slightly fy the crushed zeera and then eat a spoonful with a cup of warm milk it helps with the production of milk. Probably worth a shot!

Sahar.. we want to see your baby girl.. please?!?!?!

OMG Sahar, congrats. :)

GTG, i tried that zeera trick...laikin koi farq nahi laga :(

Sahar, Congrats!

i’ve seen her! i’ve seen her! she’s a living, breathing doll, masha’Allah! :wub: