Breaking someones heart

I’m feeling really really upset, I have no idea what I should do, the circumstances seem to dictate everything by themselves, they are wholly and completely out of my control :frowning:

We have some family friends in Pakistan who we have been close to since before I was born, the husband works in the Gulf, they are quite a well off family, and they have just wonderful personalities, so honest and sincere. We get all our clothes sewn from them and they post them, they even buy the gold we want and send it, they have perfect taste. And in turn whenever they need anything my family always helps them so much because of the closeness.

2 years ago when I went to Pk for their eldest daughters wedding I really got to know them properly, they were so wonderful and so so sincere, and we spend a lot of our time with them whenever we went, even the night before the wedding I was there with their daughter reassuring her and preparing for the next day with them.

The whole thing seems like out of a fairytale, even the wedding itself, I have never been to one more perfect or more beautiful than this. The girls family even had our clothes sewn for their daughter wedding and valima, and some linen suits for when we returned to England.

They threw a party before we left in some gardens of a hotel, it was a dream. Towards the end the father of the bride came to me and started talking to me, he was really really nice, he asked about what I wanted to do at university what my eventual goal was.

Then he told me that the next time I came they wanted to see me on a similar occasion. I realised he was talking about me marrying his son, I knew what he meant, it was so blatant, and it explained why his wife had been introducing me to her in-laws.

His son was a really nice person, I mean I’ve known him since I was a child, we used to play together, he was sweet and funny and a great personality with wonderful prospects. I already knew he liked me. Khair, I thought it was so nice of them to think of me like that, that they wanted me in their family.

My parents never found out about this, the one thing I wish they had known.

Two years on and living thousands of miles away makes you face reality. I realised a lot of things that I probably wouldn’t be compatible with their son, that even though he was nice he wanted to stay in Pk, and as much as I loved it I couldn’t move there because I was brought up here, I couldn’t leave my parents, and also I have changed a lot in the last 2 years, I’m more inclined to Islam than before.

Anyway I’m engaged now, alhamdulillah I’m really happy, I know it was the right decision, the way I felt – everything was so perfect…

And of course I thought of them, I’ve been thinking about them for the past 2 years…I was torn btwn convincing myself I wanted to go for it and btwn the fact that I didn’t want to change…and how could my parents ever refuse anyway?? The way this family is I would have accepted a proposal out of sheer love for the parents.

When my parents phoned this family and told them, they were surprised….the situation is pretty much out of control, I couldn’t tell my parents about the whole affair from 2 years ago, it just wouldn’t be right. Maybe it would cause the friendship between my parents and them to be destroyed. I couldn’t live with that.

I don’t know about the rest of their reaction but right now I’m in compelte anguish, the fact is that all my gold my mother has bought me has been through them, my fiancé has told me that I should if I want choose all the clothes etc and obviously they will pay for them (some rasam), so my mother decided to get everything done from this family.

I’m going crazy out of my mind with guilt. I don’t know…I wish Allah would help me, or give me some strength to face this situation, I cant tell my parents because it would be terrible if they knew.

And theyre doing it as well, all the clothes, the jewellery, they’re shopping for them and desiging everything themselves, its breaking my heart…I really don’t know what to do…I cant tell my mother to get it done by anyone else bcos she will get suspicious, that’s how natural it is for us to get our clothes sewn from them.

sighz

My mother was talking to the lady of that family, and she told her that when I was 2 she sewn some dresses for me, and now I’m getting married and she is getting all the clothes ready for me.

I just know they must beheart broken…oh Im such an awful person! How could I do that to them?? They were so sweet, so caring so nice!

I’m so distraught, so awfully dying inside with guilt. The situation is completely out of control and there is nothing I can do to stop it. :frowning:

(okay…that’s off my mind finally)

Xara... im so sorry... i read thru the whole thing and i will inshallah get back to u tomorrow morning... my mums having a deep and meaningful with me at the moment... and i cant give proper advice is waqt...

poor baby... dont be stressed

Babes, don’t feel guilty. I mean not like you lead him on or anything? Did you ever actually say to this uncle you were going to marry his son. Or did you give the son any reason to believe you were going to marry him? And if this Uncle did want you to marry his son in the last two years wouldn’t he AT LEAST have mentioned this to your parents so they would have had some idea ? I mean i find it odd that your parents didn’t know in which case they haven’t mentioned it which probs hints towards them having changed their mind too? Like you yourself said two years is a longgggggggggg time - and within that time maybe this son started liking someone else and even if he didn’t he really should have booked you earlier by getting his parents to talk to yours. They lost their chance due to inaction and that worked out better for you as your happier somewhere else. Make sure i get to see pics haan :slight_smile:

And don’t feel guilty, had that other family been so full of hatred then chances of them actually helping to arrnage for your engagement wouldn’t be as forthcoming.

Congrats :flower1:

no i didnt lead them on at all, and i didnt say yes or no, it wasnt that kind of situation he just told me he hoped ‘that’ would happen,

and i wish he did mention it to my parents :frowning: it would have been te ideal thing to do, everything would have been so much more open and easier to handle, ill send u the wedding pics inshaAllah :slight_smile:

thanks DD that really helped :slight_smile:

got ur pm xara , m in office , will be back soon to ur thread frm home ....dont worry hugs....

Xara, I think you're over thinking this thing. Like DD said, they never formally proposed. Hell, they didn't even propose informally. It was an off handed comment. If they really wanted you, don't you think they would have talked to your parents, seeing as these folks are on very good terms with your folks?

Also, I don't think they are heart broken or anything. You may be blowing it all out of proportion. Just enjoy your engagement and get married to the dude you WANT to get married to, you can't go around feeling sorry for the remote possibility that you hurt someone else.

*Originally posted by aahmed: *
Xara, I think you're over thinking this thing. Like DD said, they never formally proposed. Hell, they didn't even propose informally. It was an off handed comment. If they really wanted you, don't you think they would have talked to your parents, seeing as these folks are on very good terms with your folks?

Also, I don't think they are heart broken or anything. You may be blowing it all out of proportion. Just enjoy your engagement and get married to the dude you WANT to get married to, you can't go around feeling sorry for the remote possibility that you hurt someone else.

I hope I havent hurt anyone, bcos at the time they were acting as though they were really keen

lekin your right :) they shouldve made it formal, i wish i could implement that kind of mentality, i mean stop feeling guilty abt hurting someone else

thankyou :)

hey xara :slight_smile: everyone has already said what i would’ve said 2 :flower1: don’t worry bout it, just remember and believe that everythin happens for a reason…so if they didn’t ask ur parents formally etc in the 2 yrs, there must be a reason behind that as well…

now enjoy ur wedding…its not everyday that one gets married (for most ppl newayz :D) :flower1: :flower2:

inshaAllah it’ll be as you say, i hope it is - ide hate to be the cause of any distress in their family

and I will enjoy it inshaAllah :wave: :flower1:

To say that you broke their heart is a little extreme. They were wrong to assume that you would marry their son, that’s the consequence of these ristahs "assumptions " from childhood. Neither you nor your parents are at fault unless you said yes before and than went on to get engaged to someone else. As far as the we made gold for you and clothes, that’s their loss they should have waited. Once again another form of a guilt trip.

I don’t mean to be rude but this is just a guilt trip they are trying to put you through, I think they should really move and you should stop feeling bad, because you have done nothing wrong. I’ve kind of have been through the same thing where I thought I did something awful, but its something they made up and now their going to have to get over it. You might want to not worry about them and consider your fiance who might think its strange that you worrying about someone else so much.

Best wishes

I do it atleast 4 times a day

*Originally posted by belle: *
To say that you broke their heart is a little extreme. They were wrong to assume that you would marry their son, that’s the consequence of these ristahs "assumptions " from childhood. Neither you nor your parents are at fault unless you said yes before and than went on to get engaged to someone else. As far as the we made gold for you and clothes, that’s their loss they should have waited. Once again another form of a guilt trip.

I don’t mean to be rude but this is just a guilt trip they are trying to put you through, I think they should really move and you should stop feeling bad, because you have done nothing wrong. I’ve kind of have been through the same thing where I thought I did something awful, but its something they made up and now their going to have to get over it. You might want to not worry about them and consider your fiance who might think its strange that you worrying about someone else so much.

Best wishes

ah no Belle its not like that

theyre really nice they would never even try to put me through a guilt trip - in fact theyre sending me presents, she even talked to me the other day and said she was happy

but i keep thinking over and over again how she sounded so surprised when she found out - but now she keeps giving advice to my mum and asking how all the clothes should be etc so im hoping theyre taking it well

and thanks for reminding me :) he would be thinking its wierd...

ithink your right this probably is jsut a guilt trip im putting myself through :)

awww Xara hugz

i will completely agree with what DD and DM have already said :slight_smile: you really are getting worried over nothing kasam se, i think you’ve thought about this issue a lot and its just magnified in your mind but believe me and i’m not saying it to make you feel better i really think there is NO reason AT ALL for you to feel guilty or even be thinking about this. You just got engaged, enjoy this time yaar, ye time baar baar nai aana, dont spoil it by worrying over this issue which is not really an isssue :slight_smile:

if they were serious they would have come to your family with a proposal. and even if he was serious he would have proposed to you or atleast asked you if you liked him? that’s the simple basic fact yaar.

mashallah you’re engaged now to the guy you like, ab bas, try to forget about all this and enjoy yourself ok? :slight_smile: and no need to feel guilty that they are sewing your clothes or providing jewelry yaar. to be very honest, i am sure they do they have some emotional/financial reason behind this? its not like you are taking advantage of them, you know :slight_smile: nobody is forcing them to do that. u get me?

and they were probably surprised that you were getting engaged because it was sudden news you know and coz u r so young :slight_smile:

so, i think bas now you shouldn’t think about this issue anymore…lakh mubarakan again on your mangni :slight_smile: :flower1:

thanks irem :slight_smile:

we always get the jewellery designed from them bcos the aunty’s taste is perfect, she always chose exactly what we liked, we payed for the things of course but they always had them designed for us

and thanks again :slight_smile: really I’m going to look back on this thread whenever i start thinking like that again :flower1:

awwww Xara ki bucchhhii…:smash:…dont wurry na..:)…i totally agree with DD and others…they should have propsed and if they didnt then im sorry darl maybe they wernt serious or somthing…but concentrate on whats coming next not on whats in the past…greet them properly…like u didnt take it seriously…and i think u SHOULD tell ur mum now even that ur enaged and all…just give her a hint for future…i know that i would..:slight_smile:

your right i should :slight_smile:

inshaAllah i wont take it seriously, but i think telling my mum wouldnt be a good idea :bummer: it would make her uncomfortable and i dont want to cause any problems btwn them, i mean she loves their family alot and I know for my mum even if she says she doesnt mind abt something it will always be on her mind

better to keep quiet and not disturb anyone abt it :slight_smile: thankyou Aashi :flower1: yaara it really makes me feel so much better

aww…im just jealous u got there before me…:rotfl:…but i want u to be here for me too ok?..:hug:

always and forever inshaAllah :flower1: :hug:

would u like me to sew you some dresses ? :( and can i give you a ring?

:flower1: Gammey you are truly a genius, whoever heard of a man who knows how to sew :slight_smile: save the talent for sweet talking Matty :wink: