Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"'

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"

Ok I saw the interview. I can see why you have some concerns.
But in all honesty there were a lot of positives in his attitude that tell he can be a good leader. Let me list some of my observations:

1. He does not have a chosen role in mind as far as batting. He wants to perform for his side. Period. Evidence is his reponse to batting position. So if the time comes (and this won't happen tomorrow - PCB has to persist with him and let him get groomed) he will definitely lead from the FRONT. I am 100% sure of this.
  2. He is organized and not sleeping all the time.
  3. He motivates the team and keeps them laughing. Very important characteristic for Pakistan! When the team will be down from a loss, I am sure Malik will be looked towards to provide the comic relief. And I am sure he will pull them out of ruts.
  4. He is a very hard worker. Extremely fit and has the same metallity as a sprint runner. He will lead in running b/w wickets and fielding by example.
  5. He is non-eventful off the field. Absolute GOLD for team descipline. You don't want galmour seeking captains who distract the team such as one such Wasim Akram. You might think he is too tableeghi. I hope he can get out his own wings and come out from the shadows of senior tableeghis in the team. This could be a concern I agree.
  6. He is not playing for money. So you won't have the matches thrown away for money.
  7. He is very laid back. This is what comes off to you as dull. However, I think this is also important for conflict resolution and managing player temper tantrums in the dressing room.
  8. He admitted his match throwing although in his mind was the correct thing, however, was immaturity of his age. Excellent response in my book.
  9. He knows all the players. His character sketches, shows you he is very observant and this will help him spot talent and use players accordingly.
  10. At the end I would say he is definitely Captaincy material. Those who want to look at stats and argue against this, let them. I think his stats will improve as well. If he lets us down, then be it may. Nothing is certain in life.

This is my humble observation.

Re: Breaking News…Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to “The Nation”

Kamran Abbasi -
Malik rises above the heirarchy -

April 17, 2007
Malik rises above hierarchy](http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/)
**Posted by Kamran Abbasi at 15 hours, 12 minutes ago](http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/) in **Captaincy](http://blogs.cricinfo.com/pakspin/)

Shoaib Malik is seen as a good choice for the future as Pakistan look to rebuild

Later this week the PCB is expected to confirm the rise of Shoaib Malik. His appointment as Pakistan captain will be a welcome change to the tried and failed method of handing the job to the most senior player.
Younis Khan’s perplexing decision to snub the captaincy left the PCB with a testing decision. In the seniors corner, Mohammad Yousuf was expressing his willingness to lead his country. In the less-seniors corner, Shoaib Malik was keeping quiet. Elsewhere, Shahid Afridi (with some justification) and Abdul Razzaq (with no justification) were probably wondering why they’d blown it. Salman Butt might have begun to picture himself as Pakistan’s first non-playing captain. And Shoaib Akhtar will have been regretting nandrolone more than ever.
In the end, the PCB has done well to choose a young captain, a smart cricketer, and a star of Mobilink Jazz adverts and Hum Aik Hain videos. If ever there was a time for Pakistan’s cricketers to heed the words of a song this is it.
Factions and disloyalty should be greeted with a zero-tolerance policy, a young captain requires a clear demonstration of confidence from his cricket board. It is disappointing that the first leaks about Malik’s elevation have been accompanied by an official stating that “there isn’t really another suitable candidate around.” This new era has to be launched with positives about the new captain and not any grudging excuses. Let’s hope for better at the press conference.
Similarly, the PCB has to rethink its decision to appoint Malik on a “series by series” basis. A captain can be sacked at any moment and this series by series approach simply breeds uncertainty and disloyalty. Indeed there are hardly any series to speak of over the next few months and this policy becomes a way of undermining the new captain’s authority right from the start.
Malik has to face a few challenges of his own too. It takes skill to handle people who are more experienced and win their full support–particularly in a culture steeped in hierarchy–but it is by no means an insurmountable problem. Imran Khan faced similar challenges when he took over but he quickly established his authority as his own performance jumped to a new level.
But Malik, unlike Imran, is yet to convince everyone that he fully deserves his place in both teams. His footwork–or lack of it–is a particular worry. Nonetheless, Malik strikes me as the kind of cricketer who will lift his game, fight, and accept the responsibility. I don’t expect captaincy to propel him to the level it did Imran but I’d be hopeful that he can quash any doubts about his selection.
Malik’s leadership is unproven on the world stage although he has captained with some distinction in domestic cricket. Unfortunately any good work was undone by his decision to deliberately lose a Twenty20 match. But his critics are being unfair. Malik’s behaviour while unacceptable was a protest against the way the rules of the competition were being implemented and not a case of match-fixing in the sense that we understand it. Still, Malik’s conduct will be under strict scrutiny and he needs to restore some credibility for himself and his country.
For the first time in months Pakistan cricket has moved in the right direction. It feels good to write that. It will feel even better if Pakistan begin to display urgency, bravery, competitiveness, and above all professionalism. The talent, we know, is there already. Can Shoaib Malik make the most of it?

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"

^ inshallah he will!

But his batting average is below Hasan raza, who should be the captain based on averages. What does PCB or the Pakistani nation know?

Nothing. We are zombies. We need great thinkers like Sa1eem to lead us.
Oh great leader, where art thou?

First of all, Shoaib Malik must improve his batting and confirm his place as a Test batsman. If he can not do that, I doubt he will be able to maintain his position as a captain for long. People over here are missing a factor, before Inzamam's retirement, Shoaib Malik seldom had the responsibility to help us win games. He was in same category with Razzaq, Akmal and one of the openers. He was a supporting factor. Majority of responsibilities were on Inzamam, Yousuf and Younis shoulders. Inzi retired and Younis is thinking about it. In the end, Yousuf is his only choice of batsman for victories. So, either he plays first down or 6th...he will not be able to continue as a captain if he plays like he has been before. He will be like Michael Vaughn of England. Sometime clicks, but majority of time is kept as captain because of potential. Its an entire different situation when you are captain, prime target and have the responsibility to score consistently. Looking at the middle order, PCB must help him out in that department.

Re: Breaking News…Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to “The Nation”

I am 100 percent sure that very few amongst Pakistani nation really know whose performance is what in Pakistan domestic cricket. If BB (forget PCB) tells them that Asif Ali Zardari is better cricket player then Imran Khan, they would accept that too :blush:

Pakistan is a country that went to world cup with mostly fast bowlers but their bowling coach was spinner, why? Because coach had beard and Captain likes passing finger through beard, be it his beard or his bowling coach :rotfl:

Nevertheless: what can one say? It is Pakistan we are talking about :chai:

There is an Idiom (Mahawarah) that represents Pakistan very nicely.:hoonh:

Andhi nagree choupat raja
Takay saer muli takay saer khaja

Regarding Pakistani Nation, and selection of cricketers in Pakistan team, this Idiom is very appropriate to Pakistan:

Andhi qaum corrupt selector
25 run 50 per burtur :halo:

25 runs per inning is average of Shoaib Malik and 50 runs per inning is average of Hasan Raza. Nevertheless, 25 is still better then 50, because … Andhi quam and corrupt selector :smiley:

I sometime wonder what made Selector select Shoaib Malik in test, was it his looks, his Jack, his clothing, his way of talking or .. I don’t know .. cause he was selected long time ago and I wonder that when even now his average is so low (he only made 1825 runs in 82 first class innings), what could have been his performance when he got selected first time? :konfused:

Waisay I should not get confused. I should be a Pakistani, so forget everything and relax :music:

You have three choices:

1. Sialkoti
  2. Experienced match thrower
  3. Experienced ball’s polisher

Answer can be one, two or all three, now u have exactly 30seconds to respond.

I'm sorry Saleem bhai but your logic doesn't stand up to any sort of criticism.

According to your logic Graeme Hick and Stuart Law should have been 2 of the greatest batsmen ever.

Surely 18 matches is enough for an average to even out... Oops... Faisal Iqbal still averages a measly 25.76.

I'm a fan of Hasan Raza, and definitely feel he should be given an extended chance, but definitely not on your logic.

Edit -
There is a public opinion poll on GEO's website, we should vote there. The results will be announced soon. It will be a good measure of what the ppl think.

You are a freaking joker. Because Shoaib Malik's TEST average is reasonably acceptable, you decide to start using his First class average, because it suits your argument more. This is why I called you intellectually dishonest and why I don't have respect for your arguments anymore.

Your argument is, that if we take TESTS out of his average and take first-class only, then he's inferior to everybody else in the team. Are you on freaking drugs? Instead of realizing that Shoaib is doing BETTER than what his first class average would predict for you (you= YOU and YOU ALONE), you take go with the negative perception and focus that his first class average is worse than his tests. I don't care how many runs he scored against PIA ...he is doing fine at tje INTERNATIONAL level, whre it COUNTS. Are you suggesting that we punish him that he didn't make enough runs against PIA and Habib Bank?

What good is somebody's first class (past) average if cannot perform in TESTS (now). And if Shoaib's Test average is better than the other people you have listed, why should I drop him because in his past, his first-class average was lousy. What fool!

Sa1eem…

Hasan Razas average at Test level is 26.11 and 18.61 at ODI level…

Shoaib Maliks average at Test level is 37.64 and 33.56 at ODI level…

Now since your only mode of discussion is averages i guess Shoiab Malik really is better and since averages really are the be all and end all if Shoaib Malik can increase his ODI average by 3.5% he will actually be twice as good a batsmen as Hasan Raza :halo: …

Now please dont bring a rational response cos remember we only deal in averages here…

^^
Brother forget it, sorry, you wont undertand or do not want to understand. :)

Anyhow, here is my proposal for Pakistan Captaincy and future team:

I believe that Mohammad Yousuf should be made Captain of Pakistan Test as well as ODI team.

Reason: He was vice captain for long time. His vice captaincy was withdrawn and Younis Khan was made vice captain, a stupid decision that cost Pakistan cricket a lot. Most importantly, Mohammad Yousuf has best figures in Test as well as ODI.

There should be no Vice Captain. Leave it to Captain and coach to decide who should be VC before each match (or series).

Test team and ODI team should be separate. Mohammad Yousuf deserves to be Captain of both teams because of his performance alone, not because if he is to be Captain, he should be Captain for both form of cricket. Well, Inzamam could stay as Test team Captain and Yousuf as ODI captain, no problem.

All players should be sacked and new selection should be made for team members entirely on merit (there performance in first class cricket). Well, Captain should also justify his selection and I choose Yousuf because he deserves to be member of both teams on performance.

No more nepotism, personal like/dislike, or Shafarish. Performance should be such that anyone (even one from outside cricket management) can say that who would be in next team. Team management had to come to press to expalinall their selection decision, with facts and figures.

Last 10 first class match performances should be criteria for any selection for test team and last 10 limited over match should decide ODI team.

Once a player is selected, he should be given 10 continuous innings to perform in the team and should be expected to fulfil certain performance criteria. In ODI, 5 continuous ODI performance should decide future inclusion of a player in team.

If performance is below standard, player should be dropped and then he has to come back to the team again after showing his performance in domestic cricket. A player can be dropped and come into team as many time, as long as that player is playing first class matches, that player is eligible for the team on performance. No such thing that one player has better perfromance than another player, and still he is not in national team and other player with lower performance get included.

No such thing that a player is dropped on performance and then come back into team without showing his performance in domestic cricket. Required domestic cricket performance should be known too and all can tell if a player qualifies or not.

[Actually, domestic cricket should mean, any first class matches anywhere in the world, not just Pakistani domestic cricket].

Pakistan should also look for new wicket keeper that has safe hand behind wicket. A wicket keeper should also have good batting figures, if not at par with batsman then at least not too far behind. Again, the best wicketkeeper in domestic cricket on merit should be given the place.

I think Sa1eem should declare retirement from KK in protest.

*Sa1eem from your many posts here, I just wonder if you actually managed to finish your exam papers on time in the past *

Bhai, because of few mentally incapables, why I bother? I only get amused when I see some people trying to understand and argue on things that they have no capability to understand. I get more amused when people start calling names in discussion, because they have no arguments. Can’t you see that when some starts calling names, they are actually getting frustrated? I brush them aside by saying to them, sorry! you win :D

I think he is still trying to complete them... :D

Antumul alona and GoldenAsif:

Well, I finished passing exams long time ago. Now I teach and take exams:). What you both just wrote is your show of frustration due to trying to comment on something without ability to read. I never asked anyone to read what I write. If you could not read something, just do not comment. Ignore it and Keep quite... thats all :D

Yaar dil par mut lo. I only wrote it in jest :)

^^
Its OK Bhai, I was also jesting :slight_smile:

Hence now I am quoting one of your own post :slight_smile:

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/apr-2007/19/sports1.php

So, even according to Imran Khan, Shoaib Malik could not get selected in team on his performance.

Now if a player could not command his place in team, how can that person going to be Captain? Even if that person does become Captain, no players would respect such Captain. If there would be no respect for the Captain because of his performance, who in the team would care for performance and what would happen to the team?

If this would happen, what can be expected of team performance under such captaincy? That is obvious.