Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"'

Re: Breaking News…Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to “The Nation”

Now, those mentally incapables criticising me when I was questioning Shoaib Malik place in Pakistan team, they should start criticising Imran Khan too, calling him joker or whatever… but would they? No, because these mentally incapables could not think or accept truth, as they cannot digest truth, these people are human worshiper.:halo:

They do not see if something is said is true or not (even when it is presented to them with all facts and figures), they can only see who said a thing and what, and if that appeal them or not. Since they do not know me, they criticise me and even start calling name, but since they know Imran Khan, their mouth would get shut (even when Imran Khan just said it, without showing any facts and figures).:hoonh:

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"

^ You very conveniently ignored my opening line in that post. Imran Khan has merely reinforced what most people have been saying in cricketnama that 'Malik does not at this point command a place in the test team as a batsman'. Younis Khan was leading the race in cricketnama poll before he declined the captaincy and Malik was not my first (or second choice) either. That said Malik's test record is not appalling, it's just average but as Imran also mentions in the same article, Malik may improve his game with time. So let's wait and see.

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"

^ Yea, Shoaib may improve with time. I neither anyone can say with certainty that he would or would not improve, we can only hope that he does. Shoaib could improve as batsman in time, only time would tell. It is ‘May happen’ in time, its not that he has reached that level.

But why make him Captain, when at present he does not even command his place in team on performance? Is it not right to make Captain a player that does command his place in team?

Are you saying that there is not a single player in Pakistan team at the moment, that commands a place in team on performance, and that is why management is making the best available person Captain that do not even command his place in team on performance?

If that was the case, it would be a different matter. But it is not.

The problem with making Yousaf captain is that his own place might be in jeopardy in the ODI side. He is a terrific batsman, there is no doubt about that. He is also a horrible fielder and a terrible runner between wickets. Since he cant score heavily in every match so any time he fails he is a big liability in the field. We try to hide him from the opposition. Plus the fact that his running and judging of a run is so bad he is also a danger for the other batsman on the crease. He needs to raise his fitness level to a much higher standard if he is to command a place in the ODI side let alone be made cpatain as some suggested in this thread. Johnty Rohdes did not have a terrific batting average but you can almost always add an extra 10-15 runs to it due to the amount of runs he saved plus the incredible catches he took.

Now Yousaf might be an awesome batsman but that alone should not get him in the side. Cricket is different from what it was 10-15 years ago specially in the ODI's you need a fit, energectic side. Rickey Ponting is not just a great batsman but also a terrific fieldsman as well. SriLanka and Bangladesh have shown both India and Pakistan that quality fielders can be produced from our part of the world. It's a big shame that Bangladesh's fielding is superior to that of Pakistan. If they can put in the extra effort why cant we ? Why do we have to live with the same standard that was acceptable 25 years ago but laughable now ?

I use to like Younis Khan but after the latest whinning episode even if he doesnt retire he should be booted out of the ODI team and Malik should bat at the #3 position where he actually delivered when he was given a chance. He is along with Afridi and Nazir one of the best fielders in Pakistan cricket team and is a useful off-spinner. InshAllah he will take his game to new heights after being made the cpatain and Pakistan cricekt's fortune will go along with him.

^ You are right that Yousuf is pathetic fielder. He needs to improve his fitness. His ODI batting performance is quite good but no doubt that his fielding is not up to standard. Still, as player I believe he command more respect then any other players, just because of his performance. He could be made Captain because of his performance and because other players would look at his performance for inspiration and would give him all respect.

Nevertheless, if management does not want Yousuf to be Captain because of his weakness in fielding, that is fair, then one have to find another player that can guarantee his place in both games.

Actually, Pakistan cricket team had contract category between PCCB and players. This contract was made on basis of player performance and their permanent place in both types of game. Those that had permanent place were given A class contract with higher retainer money. What I know amongst players having A class contract were:

Inzamam
Yousuf
Younis
Shoaib Akhtar
Razzak
Afridi

[Note: Razzak and Afridi are considered all rounder for test cricket and ODI. There overall performance deserves that status].

Thus, if it is not Younis or Yousuf, then obvious choice should have been Shoaib Akhtar, Razzak or Afridi. As these players can be considered as players that command permanent place in both test and ODI. Well, from performance, Mohammad Asif can also be considered as a player that can command permanent place in the team.

I believe that if not Yousuf, Captain should be chosen from any of the remaining permanent players (Shoaib Akhtar, Razzak, Afridi) that command permanent place in Pakistan team. Not a player that does not even deserve a permanent place in the team.

^ Razzaq (his batting comes good only once in a while in tests and his bowling has been in decline for quite sometime) and Afridi (esp. on seaming pitches abroad) don't command a permanent place in the test team. That said Razzaq and Afridi have a permanent place in the one-day side because they are multi-dimensional players.

Mein an maanu,mein na manu. mein right baaki sub wrong. :D

2 Likes

Re: Breaking News…Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to “The Nation”

Try presenting your idea of hassan raza and the weird logic behind it to Imran and probably his comment won’t be decent enough to be published in a family forum like GS.

everyone have their own views and can we please refrain from personal attacks.

Younis I feel is still the best option at no. 3 in tests. ODIs are a different matter. Maybe Malik should come in at 3, Yousuf at 4 and Younis at 5 (now Inzi is not there)

When you cannot understand a thing, why you try to use your brain to understand that, and further comment on that?

I never tried to manipulate Shoiab Malik Averages, but since you shoot from hip and do not see what and where you are shooting, jokers like you always shoot foolishly and idiotically.

You should realize, though I doubt that you have that intellectual capability to realize, is that first class matches includes test matches.

Shoaib malik average in first class matches (that includes his test match figures) is 28.47 runs per inning. That figure is lowest amongst all Pakistani test playing players.

Second thing you do not realize and I believe with your retarded intelligence, you could never realize is that, a player gets his place in national team due to his performance in first class matches, so performance of first class matches comes before performance of test matches, unless player Jack pushed the player in the national team regardless of his first class performance, thus doing injustice to other deserving players. It is due to such players that other players in the country lose interest on performance.

What I wrote is that, if we take out Shoaib Malik test figures from first class figures, his average goes down to 25 runs per inning. I gave that figure because that is the figure a selector could take to give Shoaib Malik a place in test cricket in the first place.

Anyhow, please stop commenting on my post, as I have no respect or time for ignorant like you. If you cannot understand what a person is writing, don’t use your incapable brain full of preconception and no ability to think, to comment on what you do not know, understand or have ability to understand.

I am sorry if you got upset from my post as that may have hurt your foolish person, full of pre-conceived ideas and bias mind. I won’t like to start calling names as you did. I can only say is that: Ayesay loogoo ko mooh hee nahi lagana chahiya jou na seedhi zabaan samjhtay hain na baat karnay kee tameez rakhtay hain.

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"'

Sa1eem unkil, thand rakho sarkaar. Ainaa ghussa??

Koi lassi shassi piyo

2 Likes

Re: Breaking News....Shoaib Malik Gets Pakistan Captaincy according to "The Nation"'

Man. He's still trying to convince me that Malik's First Class stats really are bad, while I have been disputing NOT THE COMPUTATION of his First Class stats, RATHER their weight or role in determining our best option for the Captaincy. Theek hey bhai. Call Ashraf and have him appoint Yousuf as our new Captain.

p.s: Thanks for keeping your lastest post shorter than your usual million plus words diatribe.

Sa1eem...

Lol its a bit rich of you to judge other peoples intellect...

You gave a post where you gave first class averages and judged players on first class averages alone...some players are brilliant in first class crikcet but cant produce at the highest level...

Lol in the long form of the game check Rana Naveds averages last season he was the best bowler around if you want to make judgements on that...

And if you want to go on first class averages Iftikhar Anjum has a better first class bowling average than Shoiab Akhtar so does that make him a better bowler cos he did well on the domestic circuit...

Fact is if we are talking about test batsmen then we should look at test averages and Shoiab Maliks is up there at 37 while your boy Hasan Raza is down at 26...

Being good at domestic level doesnt ensure success at test or odi level...one such example i can think of is Michael Bevan who averages over 57 in first class cricket yet only 29 at test level...some players pull it off some dont...

If you had a rational arguemnt then we could discuss his legitimacy in the team but your argument is one track and a weak track at that...

I second that !

2 Likes