Breaking News: Shoaib and Asif BANNED

Re: Breaking News: Shoaib and Asif BANNED

^ I thought currently two years is the minimum under the anti doping rules.

I don’t think it was just the tribunal who came up with the harsh decision. It was a decision influenced by PCB and ICC. In return PCB and the tribunal got a pat on the back from ICC, for doing something which no one has done before, i.e. banning a cricketer for 2 years :clap: :rolleyes:

I really hope the 2 bowlers appeal against the decision in order to get the punishment reduced. A 1 year ban for Shoaib and 6 months for Asif won’t look that bad as compared to the current situation.

bhai corruption ka rona kaheen aur ja ke ro, ye kis ne bola ke PCB Chief ek “elected” person hona chahiye? … wait

2007 Elections: Elect your PCB chairman, vote for Sheeda doodh-wala for PCB chairman post

:hmmm:

bhai, unhon ne jurm kia, PCB ne dhandhora peeta, to sazaa to zaroori thee, warna kal ko WC har jaatay to aap rotay howay aatay ke in saalon ko sazaa kewn nahi mili thee DRUGS ke qissay mai.

Let us get it straight Shoaib and Asif are the keys to our world cup victories. Without them Cricket is incomplete, I still can not get over the verdict, it was unfair to both of them. I do not know why ICC and PCB acting all crazy, in sports right now everyone gets invovled in banned substances. Pressure, less knowledge and many others could be the reason. Two years ban, you idiots, what the hell are you thinking? Do they see NFL, NBA and MLB every season has half of its players get involved in banned substances and after 5-10 games ban they make a come back. Fine them but to end a ravishing career like that is uncalled for. Like fartguru wrote, Shoaib had too many enemies and they did their demise. What if he does whatever he does after match, he plays his heart out every game with so many injuries.

I hate the verdict and hope it overturns because the people who made the decision do not have the criteria and experience to handle this kind of cases. PCB just ended Pakistan's Cricket for two years. The two Box Office Cricket crowd pleasures are out, now you have Tendulkar and Lara in big games failing. Watch and enjoy.

and as uusal our beloved PCB wanted to get Malcom Speed and ICC’s Ashhirbad.

It was hard for them to miss such an opportunity to be the first ones in the history to ban their cricketer for 2 years, eventhough the report clearly said that PCB have no protocol or policy on guiding their players.

PCB as usual acing like freaking dopeheads:mad:

shane warne was banned for only a year.i just hate these goras n their ghulams i.e. Pcb

[quote=Man with a Plan]
Let us get it straight Shoaib and Asif are the keys to our world cup victories. Without them Cricket is incomplete, I still can not get over the verdict, it was unfair to both of them. I do not know why ICC and PCB acting all crazy, in sports right now everyone gets invovled in banned substances. Pressure, less knowledge and many others could be the reason. Two years ban, you idiots, what the hell are you thinking? Do they see NFL, NBA and MLB every season has half of its players get involved in banned substances and after 5-10 games ban they make a come back. Fine them but to end a ravishing career like that is uncalled for. Like fartguru wrote, Shoaib had too many enemies and they did their demise. What if he does whatever he does after match, he plays his heart out every game with so many injuries.

I hate the verdict and hope it overturns because the people who made the decision do not have the criteria and experience to handle this kind of cases. PCB just ended Pakistan's Cricket for two years. The two Box Office Cricket crowd pleasures are out, now you have Tendulkar and Lara in big games failing. Watch and enjoy.

^i agree as athletes few people are more indisciplined than some of the 'kalas' in American sports,but NFL,NBA or MLB is not so uptight that it would end their career for their lack of discipline. But in cricket you are dealing with people of British mentality who think disciplining players is more important than saving the charm of the game,so here you have it,2 of the greatest bowlers in cricket are out of the biggest tournament in cricket.

Yes ! :slight_smile:

The explaination is given in the detailed decision by Anti-doping commission.

You can read it here
http://content-pak.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/266575.html

For better understading read the detail, it might take some time …
If it is lengthy for you then read the following summary

Re- Shoab

**36. Our above observations do not, however, affect our judgment that Shoaib Akhtar has been unable to establish that he did not know or suspect and could not reasonably have known or suspected that he had been using prohibited substances. None of the supplements being used by Shoaib Akhtar were offered to us for getting them analyzed for possible contamination. Shoaib Akhtar was, by his own admission, prone to injury and constantly consulting his own doctors. It is the admitted position that his personal physician Dr. Touseef Razzaq was allowed to go with him on foreign tours. He cannot possibly claim that he exercised utmost caution in this matter. He could and should have consulted his doctors. In fact we find it difficult to believe that he did not do so. In the totality of the circumstances we are not convinced that there was no fault or negligence on the part of Shoaib Akhtar or even no significant fault or negligence. We hold that he has committed a doping offence as defined in clause 4.1 of the PCB Anti Doping Regulations. There are no mitigating circumstances which would justify the imposition of a sanction less than the minimum prescribed namely a ban of two years. Consequently in accordance with clause 7.1 read with clause 8.1 of the PCB Anti Doping Regulations we impose the following bans on Shoaib Akhtar for a period of two years commencing 15th October 2006 viz the date on which he was suspended by the PCB:- **

Re- Asif

37. The case of Mohammad Asif is on a somewhat different footing with regard to the level of his responsibility. Mohammad Asif became a regular member of the Pakistan Team in March 2006. He was not tested previously. It is not shown that he was ever present at any lecture or session with regard to the Anti Doping Regulations or list of prohibited substances. There is some doubt whether he was even handed over the WADA 2006 list of prohibited substances and WADA Athlete Guide prior to the departure of the team for the England tour in August 2006. He was amongst those who gave his sample on the very first date of sample taking viz 25.9.2006 and did not try and delay the sample taking. He said in response to a question put by us that he had been using Promax but had stopped as soon as the Team Physiotherapist told him to do so. Mr. Darryn Lifson the Team Physiotherapist has confirmed before us that Mohammad Asif stopped the use of Promax-50 (purchased by him locally) as soon as he was told to do so. We have ourselves noticed during the hearings that Mohammad Asif’s command of English is limited and we are clear that he could not possibly have understood the WADA publications without someone helping him to understand their contents. No such guidance or counseling was provided. He has stated before us that he is unable to explain why his urine sample has tested positive for the nandrolone metabolite

IMO- Shoab’s punishment is barely minimum considering his attitude and proven guilty of taking prohibitted substance even after repeated warnings.
Mohammad Asif’s sentence should be suspended, and should be spared after a warning. One year ban on him is unjustified after reading the detailed judgment of tribunal

Edit= Consider the blue part, these are very strong points in support of Asif., I hope that the ban on him is lifted :k:

Implementation of law by a lawless Board,it,s ridiculous
pahle apna tu constitution bana lo ,phir doosron pay ban bhi laga laina,sadyon say kisi law air system Kay baghair hi kaam chala rahe ho.
Strange thing is that even Pakistani media bhi iss baray main zyada kuch nahi bolta,nahi PCB ka constitution aur nahi Players per accessive ban,yahan tu away ka awa hi bigrda hua hay,if any thing like this had happened in India wahan Kay media nay tu aasman ko sar pe utha Laina tha.