Breaking News: Shoaib Akhtar Banned for 5 Years !!

Re: Breaking News: Shoiab Akhtar Banned for 5 Years !!

How come nobody is able to say what exactly he did that requires this kid of harsh career ending punishment?

It cannot be for hitting a colleague because he was already punished for that once

And what's wrong if he socializes with Indians? Obviously he prefers better company than (don't yell at me for this) what I understand has been happening within the Pakistan team - ie more and more players becoming religion and ritual oriented. How can a fun loving guy have fun with such a group?

So he is being banned for being a fun loving guy.

kudos

what do you know about cricket

Okay you and some other posters have this confusion on what he has done.

When he hit Asif, he was placed on a probation that further disciplinary problems will get him banned. After that he was included in Indian tour and as usual could not perform at a consistent level because of his ever-going fitness issues. As a result, his contract was reduced to a retainer ship pending his fitness issues. He took personal offense for that and issues unneeded press releases. Furthermore he just left his team in pentagular cup because of this issue and went to India or north pole or whatever. Any sane person cannot do this when he is on a probation from his employer. His arrogance got better of him. He was and is such an incredible talent which was never fulfilled to its desired level.

Btw I have no issues with him hanging out with Indians but his discipline has reached an unbearable level.

Firstly, for those who don’t know why he got this ban, they should read the timeline of events. He was on probabtion and was already warned back in October last year that any sort of misconduct will lead to a life ban

Secondly, this will again turnout to be a comedy circus because his ban will be overturned pretty soon :smack:

unlike some people I do have an issue with him hanging out with indians. i hope this will set an example for cricketers to come, and will reverse the discouraging trend.

Excellent and bold decision by the PCB. This decision had to be taken...the sooner the better. A sad day indeed for Pakistan Cricket...such a talented player like Akhtar, completely self-destructed himself. He has no one to blame but himself.

I really hope this ban is not overturned and also I hope this Cricket board remains...as they've been doing an excellent job, especially the selectors...never have I seen young players getting picked on merit like this...and I love how the selectors actually go the domestic games to watch the games and not just pick players by the statistcs.

Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Bazid Khan, Nasir Jamshed, Sarfraz Ahmed, Fawad Alam are all examples of players getting picked based on merit...and not just because they are all 'friends' of Lawson and Malik..eg like the case of useless Akmal.

**Dr. Nasim Ashraf..needs to see a DOCTOR asap!

Either he has lost his (whatever) mental balance or he is in slumber!

Having become the Chairman PCB on account of being buddy to President of Pakistan's brother---does not merit upon him to take such stupendous decisions!

I have been most critical on Shoaib Akhtar...in fact I have dealt with Shoaib in past...and indeed he may have some attitude problems...but then again who isn't....and Inzy was the known person on attitudes..and the only difference was that Inzy expressed attituides cleverly while Shoaib went bereft each time.....while at the same time...he proved a match many a times....and became the glory of Pakistan Cricket...always proving a threat for opponents.... hence his 5 years expulsion will have a telling effecton our team's performance overall....with looser being the PCB itself!

CRICKETER is not a banker or some Corporate bigwig! and there's a difference in the code of ethics and conduct for both of these professions....

It may befit the Bankers but not Cricketers....

Moreover, what will happen when Shoaib Akhtar at the age close to 30+ completes the ban limit? he will be an unplayable commodity...!

It is the silliest decision on any code of conduct.....on cricket that I have seen or heard since I started watching Cricket matches from 1958-59 !!

PCB.................PAKISTAN CRICKET BORED !

Allah Kher Kare...aur nayee Govt ko taufeeq de (not Taufeeq Zia) k DOCTOR SAHEB ko jald wapis Washington rawana karen...aur koi Majid Khan ya A.R.Corneleus jaisa Chairman paida karen.

lots.

RJ unkil, Dr. Naseem is a missfit in cricket management. I totally agree. But this has to be his first sane decision, which should have been taken in Tauqeer Zia and Shereyar Khan's time. The guy has brought more shame to the country and cricket then any pride. He played for himself only from day one.

**I don't agree with PCB

PCB made Shoiab Malik Captain of Pakistan despite involving Match Fixing in domestic competition and this is a bigger crime then Shoiab Akhtar's case.

I hope Board will will change and Shoiab Akhtar will come back again in cricketing world inshAllah**

chalo kahani khatam paisa hazam!

btw who is he starring opposite in his first bollyflop?

He is not such a bad singer. He could probably make a new career for himself out of re-singing some of the all-time classics of Kishore Kumar!

You guys are so gullible. He will be back as soon as Unkil Naseem Ashraf is booted out of the PCB setup. 5-year ban? Take this as an April Fool's joke and get on with life, because Shoaib isn't done yet.

I think it was Mr Suit (Anver Baig) who said Naseem Ashraf is going to be replaced a while back and now his party have backed him after hearing of the 5 year ban. Kahani main twist!

Let's play a 3 test series (5 would be even better for the purpose) with Australia in England. Then we will see who gets banned, Nasim or Akhter after a full-scale chitrol!

Shoaib bhai sahib ne India ke khilaf kia kia thaa jab woh Pakistan aye thay? He WAS good bowler, but mostly out of Pakistan (I think).

I think its good riddance long over due.

^he was the only bowler who looked like taking a wicket while the rest of them were just getting thro their overs
i would say big loss for pakistan

*"I think"? Get your freakin' facts straight before you question his talent.

I don't condone his off-the-field behavior either, but nobody in the current Pakistani bowling attack can match him on-the-field (and neither has anyone done so since the time Wasim and Waqar retired).*

This is a pretty interesting article on Cricinfo. It also laments the current political situation in Pakistan.

The final episode in the Shoaib soap opera?
Osman Samiuddin
April 1, 2008

In Pakistan, the rule of the conspiracy theory is complete, possibly because they are so damn good at coming true. It is the grease on which life turns. Pakistan is also a land with no full stops, only commas, brackets and colons, semi and full.

In this land corrupted, exiled politicians can not only not be written off, they can return triumphantly under the charade of national reconciliation, where resignations are sneaky ways to prolong a tenure, where cricketers can admit to doping, be banned and still be reinstated, a land where as former wicketkeeper Rashid Latif says, only the dead cannot be raised again. Here then is another humble conspiracy theory and a sad truth.

Shoaib Akhtar has been banned for five years. Shoaib might very well have his ban overturned soon enough. The beauty of it is, of course, that no one is surprised at his ban and no one will be surprised at its overturning. It happens in Pakistan. It has happened with him before.

Journalists had long ago started whispering among themselves like a gaggle of schoolgirls about Shoaib’s attempts to establish contacts within the new government, precisely in event of something like this happening. Before the ink on his ban had dried, he promised to take the battle to court and the member of parliament of his constituency has vowed to bring the matter up in the national assembly.

A new government also means, inevitably, chit-chat about a new cricket administration and if and when there is change, it is the way of Pakistan that all that has gone before is forgotten, if not completely wiped away.

It is the way of Pakistan cricket that no decision, no policy can ever be said to be truly fair and without holes. Is this punishment not too harsh for his latest transgression, which essentially is a verbal blast at the board’s policies? After all, he was banned for two years for taking steroids. He now gets five because he pointed out - justifiably as it happens - that the board is run by a group of incompetents?

Article continues…

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/344724.html