Breaking News: Sharif lands in Pakistan/ deported to Saudi (Merged)

Re: Breaking News: Sharif lands in Pakistan/ deported to Saudi (Merged)

Actually Pakistani Musalmano ko pata hee nahee siasat kia hey, enkee siasat sirf mehdood hey kaise money lootee jae, kaise industried lagaee jaen, kaise ek doosre ko laraya jae, kaise logon ko majboor aur ghulam banaya jae, kaise jhoote waide kye jaen. yeh hey en kee siasat. yeh log balke pakistani sare hee army , minister, officer Quran Sharif par halaf lete hen contry aur awam ke benefits ke lye kam karne ka magar sab half ke ult karte hen, jo Quran Sharif ka halaf utha kar us ko jhutlaen en se kia nekee kee umeed rakhee ja saktee hey

Re: Breaking News: Sharif 'taken to Pakistan jail' (Merged)

solitary imprisonment? Sharif is no great hero, but under solitary imprisonment with the threat of death on your head..most people would do the same.

saudi arab wale corrupt aur luteron ko hee panah dete hen pakistan me aur bhee bohat log jhoote cases me sazaen kat rahe hen un kee fikar kion nahe saudi arab walong ko, phir kehte hen pakistani terrorist hen , British hakoomat , saudia aur doosree countries khud hee criminal logon ke support kartee hen

Musharraf YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

LoL musharraf is a good man. He did the right thing by deporting the baldy. I don't know what I would have done to someone that had tried to kill me in the past.

http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/09/10/pakistan.sharif/index.html

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/global/story_tools/text_size.gif

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/global/story_tools/txt_minus.gif

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/global/story_tools/txt_minus_dn_.gif

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/global/story_tools/txt_plus.gif

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/global/story_tools/txt_plus_dn.gif

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan (CNN) – Former Pakistani Prime Minister and opposition party leader Nawaz Sharif’s attempt to return to Pakistan after seven years in exile ended quickly Monday as police ordered him to board a flight for Saudi Arabia, government officials said.

The move to block Sharif’s return by Pakistan’s embattled president, Gen. Pervez Musharraf, could bolster Sharif’s standing ahead of elections expected later this year.
Sharif was briefly taken into police custody at the Islamabad airport about 90 minutes after he arrived aboard a flight from London.
He was placed on another commercial airliner a short time later for a flight to the Saudi Arabian city of Jeddah, where he arrived at approximately 3 p.m. local time (1300 GMT), Pakistani government officials and a Sharif representative told CNN.
The exiled ex-PM was then whisked away in a convoy from the airport, according to a report from The Associated Press.
Clashes intensified following Sharif’s deportation, with his supporters burning tires and blocking roads in Islamabad and the neighboring city of Rawalpindi, police and members of Sharif’s party said.
His wife, Kalsoom Nawaz, has vowed to return to Pakistan in coming days to fight on her husband’s behalf, she told CNN.
“I really wanted to stay inside the house as is our country’s tradition, but dictatorship and cruelty forced me to fight against that,” she said from her home in London.
The two-time former premier, charged with corruption, was deported despite a landmark Supreme Court decision last month granting him the right to enter Pakistan and urging authorities not to obstruct his return.
“It is a violation of the constitution, and it is a violation of the court order under which Nawaz Sharif was allowed to arrive and stay in Pakistan,” Sadique ul-Farooq, a close aide to Sharif said according to an AP report.
Sharif’s brother Shahbaz Sharif, also charged with corruption, said their party will challenge the deportation in court, the report said.
Shahbaz Sharif, who was chief minister, or top executive, of Punjab province, is charged with ordering police to kill five men in Lahore in 1998. At the time of the killings, his brother was Pakistan’s prime minister.
“This will be counted as the blackest day in Pakistan’s history,” he said on Geo TV. “I do not have words to describe my grief. This is a tragedy for Pakistan that a dictator is disregarding the people.”
Authorities in the capital defended the decision, saying it was in the “supreme interest” of the country.
“Sharif’s deportation is in accordance with law and ethics,” Interior Minister Aftab Khan Sherpao told local media, AP reported.
As the jetliner that flew Sharif from London stopped on the tarmac Monday morning, it was immediately surrounded by police commandos who boarded it along with government officials, sources said.
Fearing he might be arrested if he stepped off the plane, Sharif refused to hand over his passport and calmly sat in his airline seat, surrounded by a crush of aides, reporters, and others.
“Frankly I don’t know what is happening,” he told a reporter in a soft voice. He accused Musharraf’s government of “dramatizing the whole issue.”
“The police officers came up on the plane. They have no reason to come up into the plane and then interact with the passengers directly,” Sharif said. “It is not their function.”
“I have a message of hope, I have a message of tranquility, peace and national reconciliation,” Sharif, hoping to campaign against the country’s military ruler, had told reporters on the plane.
After 90 minutes of negotiations he was allowed to enter the airport where he was taken into custody and then put on a plane out of Pakistan.

http://i.l.cnn.net/cnn/.element/img/2.0/mosaic/tabs/video.gif

Watch Sharif’s plane at Islamabad airport »](http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/09/10/pakistan.sharif/index.html#cnnSTCVideo)
Meanwhile, police used tear gas and batons against Sharif supporters near the airport Monday morning and arrested 635 of them, the sources said.
Federal Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed said those taken into custody would be released soon.
Ahead of his arrival, the Pakistani government arrested at least 3,000 Sharif supporters, including members of parliament, police sources said. Most of those arrested were in Punjab province, a stronghold of support for Sharif, police sources said. Also arrested early Monday were Pakistan Muslim League Chairman Zafar ul Haq and Acting President Jawaid Hashmi.
A government official said the arrests occurred because the government has banned public rallies. Security around Islamabad’s airport was also tightened, police sources said.
A number of journalists said they had been beaten by police.

It was Nawaz Sharif whom Musharraf](http://topics.cnn.com/topics/pervez_musharraf) deposed in a bloodless coup in 1999. Convicted of tax evasion and treason, Sharif was released in 2000 in exchange for agreeing to 10 years of exile. He has been in exile in Saudi Arabia since then and under the agreement was not allowed to travel or directly take part in Pakistani politics.
But that agreement changed last week, when Pakistan’s Supreme Court lifted the exile order and Sharif](http://topics.cnn.com/topics/nawaz_sharif), who retains his Pakistani citizenship, announced his plans to return.
The top court’s ruling came after the recent reinstatement of Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry, whose brief house arrest and suspension by Musharraf in March sparked widespread protests against the Pakistani ruler. Since then, Musharraf’s popularity has plummeted and he has discussed a power-sharing deal with opposition leader Benazir Bhutto in an effort to remain in office.
Since his reinstatement, Chaudhry has played a leading role in key rulings that have weakened Musharraf’s grip on power, including lifting Sharif’s exile order.
Sharif has hinted that he may try to regain his position as prime minister and has blasted fellow opposition leader Benazir Bhutto](http://topics.cnn.com/topics/benazir_bhutto) for negotiating with Musharraf on a possible power-sharing deal.
“How can a democrat share power with a dictator?” he said shortly after his exile was lifted.
In a recent interview with CNN’s Nic Roberston, Sharif was vague on whether he would try to reclaim his previous position, only saying he planned to “keep the struggle on against dictatorship.”
He called on the United States to support democracy in Pakistan, particularly because it “is preaching democracy in Iraq [and] preaching democracy in Afghanistan.”
Nawaz Sharif also said he was not concerned that he would be jailed upon returning to Pakistan because “I am absolutely clean and clear.”
“There are no charges of corruption against me,” he said. “If Musharraf tries to fabricate false cases against me, we will face them.”
Musharraf was elected president in a 2002 vote that was widely viewed as rigged. His five-year presidential term expires in November and he is seeking to retain his position as president.
As part of the negotiations on a power-sharing deal with Bhutto, Musharraf agreed to abandon his bid to remain Pakistan’s army chief but has yet to make a formal announcement.
Aryn Baker, a reporter for Time Magazine, described Musharraf’s actions against Sharif as a blessing for the opposition leader.

“If Sharif can campaign as he wants, his support is only going to grow,” Baker told CNN on Monday. "He’ll be able to give speeches and rally more people to his side.
"However if he’s arrested – as about 100 of his top party leaders have been – people will rally around him even more."E-mail to a friend](http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/09/10/pakistan.sharif/index.html#)

He's lucky to be alive. Criminals like NS and BB should be hanged for their crimes against the Pakistani people. There is no doubt that Pakistani people suffer from amnesia when it comes to politicians, perhaps that is why the state is being pulled in several contradicting directions.

While it is true that NS should have a right to be in Pakistan as a citizen, however his ability to be involved in politics should be erased completely. Although President Musharraf may have made missteps in the recent past, he was fully justified in expelling NS. New politicians must emerge in Pakistan.

To those talking about "rule of law," please review the charges under with NS/BB governments were dismissed.

Pls enlighten us with ur thoughts about the angels sitting in the cabinet, including the 50 year old chaste virgin, Railway Minister.

I do NOT like Nawaz sharif and his antics. Specially the way he was thrown egg on his face after his constant denials about the agreement etc. However, the way Govt. overreacted today (yet again), it just played into his hands. He had no moral ground left after the intervention of Saudis and lebanese, but he just got saved by stupid overreaction today (all the roadblocks, heldups, captures).

No, I will call for eliminating the biggest criminals of Pakistan, NS and BB. The cabinet ministers and even the members of parliment are small fries compared to the top two crimino-politicians of Pakistan.

They looted the treasury on the backs of Pakistani people, destroyed Pakistan's institutions and acted like dicatators under the garb of democracy. Who are you kidding? If Nawaz Sharif had not tried the funny business with Musharraf, he would've ran Pakistan into the ground. He is damn lucky to not have gotten the ZAB treatment, even though he fully deserved it.

I would say Pakistan will have taken a huge step forward if the big two are eliminated. If Pakistan is to go back to democracy new leaders must be selected.

What a sad state of affairs. Mush should have let the Waddi no-more-Tind land and maybe arrest him or let the courts decide whatever law he broke or face him politically. With secret deals that he has been making with BB (anyone read his book where he mentions how corrupt PPP has been and her previous two terms, calling her a traitor and all that), I have lost all respect for this man. And this is the man I had all the respect for not only for he has done for Pakistan in general but more importantly he fought alongside my father in 1965 war. His fate has been sealed, im afraid.

haha you are too cool.

Yup, but as I said in another thread Nawaz Sharif committed a monumental blunder by trying to come back to Pakistan from London. Had he remained in London he could have continued his political activities which he started in 2005 when he moved there. Now in Saudi Arabia he will be a virtual prisoner. The already angry Saudi's will never allow him to conduct any political activities or public appearances, and his movements will be carefully watched.

In fact whatever the Supreme Court of Pakistan decides now is redundant, as the Saudi's will never allow Nawaz to come back from Jeddah, as long as Musharraf is ruler. That much is clear now. Unless Shabahaz braves a return to Pakistan, the PML Nawaz party is now totally rudderless.

So Musharraf does not have to execute anyone - he can just deport them to Jeddah where they will not be allowed any space to do anything.

Ok, a guy comes from a palace sits on a big azz plane to Pakistan, waits for 30 minutes in a VIP lounge with his entourage and than goes back to his palace. Why are we sad about state of affairs?

he should have been allowed to contest the elections because musharraf is making deals with other corrupt former premiers

You Sir, are too civilized, for a country like Pakistan. If you look Musharraf's rather loose leash given to these khar politicians, it has yielded more problems and difficulties for the stability of the country.

On this very message board, Musharraf opponents have launched vociferous attacks against him, even when he is playing nice. So I say execute the scumbags like NS/BB. I mean Musharraf is an evil dictator right? Why should he care about BB or NS supporters? Or better yet, stick those suicide squads on them (Jihad Inc. is international, baby).

I mean what is the point of appeasing these two thugs? Return ti the 90s? More corruption, more influence peddling and destruction of the state infrastructure.

We have a lot to learn from China, they deal with anti-state elements rather effectively, and yet the Chinese dragon has continued its torrid pace of development. All this high minded democracry talk is just that.

Take out NS and BB, then we can begin to talk about democracy with a cleaner slate.

Brother, InshaAllah Musharraf is going to be there in power for foreseeable future (hopefully, at least for next 10 to 15 years if nothing happens to him) and he does not need to execute these parasites (though that would be a loving solution). Actually, if Musharraf would execute them corrupt politicians new corrupts would surface again, thus it is best to try to execute corruptions itself.

I think that It is best to expose them corrupts, humiliate them, destroy (or hijack) their political parties, destroy their political career, confiscate their ill gotten wealth, let them suffer a slow political death and thus make them an example for any future corrupt politicians. Later when they are downtrodden entity, prosecute them, convict them, confiscate their ill-gotten wealth, and put them in prison to rot forever. That would be ever lasting punishment for them and a bigger blow against corrupt mentality of politicians.

Brother, we do not have to worry if President shed his uniform or not, because as long as army would be behind him, it would make no difference if he has uniform or no uniform. Only thing is that he has to keep his liaison with the army (Jawans as well as officers) and make sure that they understand his intentions and they believe that he is not working for personal gains but he is working for the betterment of the country.

Some people have this illusion that army is wild animal that once rein is lost, they would revolt. I believe that the fact is much different than that as army just like civilians think and love to see country prosper. Every citizen likes to see the country in good hands and abhor even the thought of country falling in the hands of corrupts, same way people in army also like to see country in good hands.

That is different matter that loyalty to ethnicity, connections, ignorance (lack of knowledge about a person reality), disbelief (believe that what is said about a person corruption are biased and wrong), personal benefits, personal relations, or even hate politics can make a group of people love and support a political person who is corrupt, liar, thug, and crook. Similar to civilians that support a corrupt person on basis of basis of connections (corrupt person whom people believe that they represent them because of some connectivity), army also support and trust a person with army background more than a person with civilian background.

[Note: All religiously retards use to support Zia believing that Zia is religious (well, religiously retard) and thus they use to find that connection with Zia. Many of those who were genuinely religious also use to support Zia because of their ignorance about real Zia.].

Anyhow, one should remember that on 12th Oct 1999 there was time when officially President Musharraf was not in uniform, still army gave full support to him and not only reinstated his position as Army Chief but pushed him on the chair of ‘Chief Martial Law Administrator’ (something very unprecedented in history that Army revolted so that to reinstated their sacked Chief and make their sacked Chief ‘head of the country’). That happened even when President Musharraf was Army chief for slightly over a year. Today, President Musharraf is not only Army Chief since last 9 years, but almost all officers at crucial positions are his own selected appointees. So, if Army backed and supported President Musharraf at that crucial situation, I do not see that Army would not support and back him in future.

It does not mean that President should shed the uniform, rather it would be nice that he keeps the uniform until the day he retires (and keep the uniform forcefully, and without caring for anyone). If Judiciary comes in between, he should even bulldoze judiciary. That is the way of Pakistan and in this matter, Musharraf should behave like true Pakistani commando and military man.

What I am just saying is that uniform is not a big issue and President would stay in power (be in uniform or without uniform) as long as Army would be loyal to him and would keep supporting and backing him. Though today I believe that many amongst masses are also happy with President in uniform. On the other hand, if President would start loosing support of army, he would lose power even if he stays Army Chief].

and how did u reach that conclusion? What if the majority of the people in the country "Call for" electing these same folks as prime minister? what would u call for then? Revolt? Civil disobedience? Martial Law? Foreign Invasion?

Nothing dramatically different from what is happening today.

would've could've should've

Right. After one military dictator sets such high benchmarks, u know it is difficult to surpass them every time. Maybe the next tin pot will. Fingers crossed.

How exactly and where exactly would that "huge step forward" come from? How many "huge steps forward" have we taken since '99?

Nice choice of words.

ooo laa laaa. I propose we send Gabriel on exile too when he comes knocking.

Who's with me?

Gabriel?