Breaking News: Finally Mr. Hair has opened his mouth

Hair comes out fighting

‘People who know me know I would not take action unless I really thought it was necessary’

The besieged Australian umpire, Darrell Hair, has used the Australian media to launch his defence against claims that his stubbornness, combined with Pakistan’s petulance, has brought cricket into disrepute.

And the Australian press is also reporting that India, whom many felt would support Pakistan’s stance to push Hair from the game, could well save the veteran umpire’s career. Hair, in his first interview since The Oval fiasco, told Brisbane’s Courier Mail newspaper that he would fight to retain his position on the ICC’s elite umpiring panel, despite the fierce criticism he has attracted this week. “People who know me and the sort of person I am know I would not take action unless I really thought it was necessary,” said Hair. "I stand by what I have done but if anything comes out at the inquiry that proves me incorrect I would accept that too. The process would have been followed.

SOURCE: http://sport.guardian.co.uk/englandpakistan2006/story/0,1855849,00.html?gusrc=rss&feed=7

Umpire Hair denies anti-Asia bias

Australian Darrell Hair, the umpire at the centre of the forfeited Oval Test, maintains he was correct to penalise Pakistan and award the game to England.

And he dismissed criticism of his past performance officiating Asian teams.
“People who know me know I would not take action unless I really thought it was necessary,” he said.

“I have umpired quite a lot in the sub-continent and when the ICC have asked me to do a job I try and do it to the best of my ability.” Hair told Brisbane’s Courier-Mail: “I stand by what I have done, but if anything comes out at the inquiry that proves me incorrect I would accept that too.”

SOURCE: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/england/5275414.stm

Re: Breaking News: Finally Mr. Hair has opened his mouth

If he says **"I have umpired quite a lot in the sub-continent and when the ICC have asked me to do a job I try and do it to the best of my ability." Hair told Brisbane's Courier-Mail: **Its mean he accepted his incompetencies. If he is making such decisions, as he made in third test, and few during Eng tour of Pakistan, then he should know that he is not fit as an umpire, he is totally incompetent, and rather pick some other sport, where he may be less harm to the game.

Additionally, cricket is a gentlemen sports, and if gentle men play it then we need even a nicer person to police gentlemen not someone like Hair. He could be a good asset for G.W. Bush cabinet as Home Land Security or Immigration Advisor. He can police well all the terrorists (per Bush administration definition of terrorists).

Thats not the point guys......the point is not who is right or wrong.......... ICC will protect their man no matter what.........Its diplomacy right now..... Pakistan has to get Srilana firmly in its corner and ICC will try to single out Pakistan. My feeling is that Inzi will get a punishment how much that depends on ICC's effort. If they really make it work by threatening ICC by pulling out by support of other boards and by legal action Inzi might get a suspended punishment

Yup, ICC bungled the whole affair up and now they're in the damage control mode. What we need is more ARTICULATE noise from the Pakistan side rather than stupid statements about respect, honour and the rest!

Only one man would have saved us but too bad we don't have that man to present us. On top of that we don't have any other man in our current squad or in the PCB officials who has the balls to act link that man and that is Imran Khan.

All we need is a good sports lawyer who can tear them into pieces on Friday

^^ Ye! Imran Khan !! Yaar kahan ho aap!?

Anyways, this is how it will go down, ICC will workout the charges with PCB and continue the ODI series and maybe just maybe Hair won't be there. :) InshAllah that won't happen, we want to see Pakistan stand up for their rights!

Hair is not due to stand in the ODI's. That was decided before all this happened.

A reader in Islamabad holds a newspaper featuring a cartoon showing Darrell Hair as a chicken.

Yes, it will be his partner in crime, Billy Doctrove during the first 3 ODI's, and Daryl Harper for the last 2.

HAIR SURPRISED BY CRITICISM

Darrell Hair has been surprised by the amount of criticism he has received in the wake of the ball-tampering row but insists he will stand by his actions in the fourth Test at The Oval.

Hair and fellow umpire Billy Doctrove have been under fire for the events which led them to award the fourth Test, between England and Pakistan, to the home side after deciding the tourists had forfeited the match - the first such occurrence in Test cricket’s 129-year history.

Hair has found himself labelled the villain of the piece, with Pakistan already expressing their displeasure over his appointment for the third and fourth Tests after a history of run-ins with the Australian.

However, Hair, speaking in his first interview since the match, has defended his decisions and insisted the episode would not force him into announcing an early retirement.

“The media criticism has been hot over here…that surprises me,” he added. "But life goes on…nobody died.

SOURCE: http://www.sportinglife.com/cricket/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=cricket/06/08/22/CRICKET_Pakistan_Hair.html

hayee Allah
massom bacha (Darrell Hair), Roti ko CHO-CHEE kehta hai

iss saadgi pai kaun na mur jayee eeey khuda

His mouth is as ugly and filthy as his mind and body. Overall a pathetic man.

It is interesting that he has not said a single word regarding the incident. What said, why did he change the ball? I mean what is there to hide, every camera capture the move of fielders and bowlers, why is he keeping it quite now? His no answer on the baseless accusation is only making him guiltier, while Inzamam is ready for any action as long as it is fair. I see his comments more apologetic and hey, I have been doing this for a while.

well put, uncle.

lets see what he has to say on friday..if he says that he made the decision solely on the basis of the condition of the ball then this guy should be fired by icc and all charges against pakistan should be dropped ...but i wonder whats gonna happen if he says that he saw someone scuffing it up,theres no camera footage out there to prove that ,but icc will take his word and punish pakistan.
i just saw a news item where they showed that asif was being warned by the umpires during a county game..wonder if asif has been a bit naughty.

why is he surprised…btw I found out what hotel he was staying in…Mariot Hotel in NW london and I am in west london :hmmm: when is the next oval test and hair is umpiring

Hahaha, Uncle I have never seen you such mad..

well put though :k:

He would not accept his fault.....he is an idiot who believes in dictatorship...& none of the dictators accept thier mistakes...

He can hide behind his Ozzi testamonies of how ‘Nice he is’ and how well he behaved when doing what he does’ is all all rubbish. No one is suggesting that he cannot umpire a match or see a googly when its googled! Idiot :grumpy:

He can hide in Tora Tora mountains or under the Old faithful , but he will never be able to umpire another elite match. I promise you !!! :aj: