What are your views on that? What are the limits, benefits and cons… if any?
Re: Boys and girls playing together
I think it helps them build good social developmental skills, when boys and girls are allowed to commingle.
If they are not - then obviously there is an awkwardness in meeting the opposite sex, shyness, etc...which is not beneficial in anyways.
I think some parents take it to an extreme. Realistically speaking, you have to work alongside the opposite sex in most jobs. And apart from your family of mahrams, you are going to come into contact with the opposite gender in life on a regular basis such as while shopping, in schools, hospitals, what have you. You can't run away from them can you? Parents who overdo it don't realize that overdoing the isolation of sexes is not exactly the best way to teach your kids coping-skills or communication skills.
And some parents will tell their kids when they're young that "your fellow female classmates are like your sisters." Or "your fellow male classmates are your brothers." But let's face it.......there will come a time a few years later.....when children naturally develop an attraction toward the opposite sex (and some even toward the same sex).
I guess it's best to teach your kids about Islamic values such as lowering your gaze, mahram/non mahram, decency of clothing, marriage....and what Islam allows/prohibits as far as the development of exclusive relationships is concerned and the appropriate way of handling them.
^totally agree! well put!
And also that reminds me of an incident. I was in my ceramics class in high school when this girl said in a conversation with her friends that "innocent people can potentially have the dirtiest minds."
And in a way, what she said can hold true. Sometimes the more "innocent" become more "curious"......and as the saying goes, "Curiosity killed the cat."
Because they may not be able to deal with things that they were never exposed to.....so these unfamiliar influences/situations seem more confusing, exciting, thrilling, scary......and they don't know how to handle the newness of it.
It's not healthy to over-shelter kids from something as impossible as encounters with the opposite gender. Better to educate them, give them the gift of knowledge.
I think its good up to a certain age and then most ppl choose to jus hang out with the same sex and have secret crushes on the other lol
It better to let girls play with girls and boys play with boys. There is no need to let them play to deal with guys later in life. Many things we don't need to teach.
Larkon kay khail aur pasand alag hain jubkay larkion kay alag. Buchpun say Islami taleem dain aur Islami rule apnain agar buchchon main sahi Islami rules istawar karna hai to.
Mingle honay say jungle main mungle ho jata hai. Pehlay aap khailnay dain aur phir mana karain to do opposite baat ho gi. Kioon na jo islami code hai wo shuru say apnaya jaay.
I'm sure agar aap buchpun say aisi tarbeeat karain gi to aap ki buchchi kisi larkay main interest naheen lay gi.
Sometimes some innocents can heve some problems as a poster said but not always or all innocents are same.
Innocent always remain innocent that is why they are called innocent.
Aik aham baat in western mulk main to buchchay buchchay wahiaat say jankari rakhtay hain so better to keep your daughter safe keep them away at any age.
i wish i could understand this ..but i think to myself that boys and girls should interact .. lekin but to the limit .. but uptill the limit ..they get to know each other .. now the Islamic system kicks in as to who is ur mahram and na mahram ..
dunt know which way i would go ![]()
I think its good up to a certain age and then most ppl choose to jus hang out with the same sex and have secret crushes on the other lol
LOL and the ppl who stay with them don't have any crushes with them and don't even sleep with them and don't go to party and don't become bf/gf and don't change after few month and friends sleeping with best friends bf/gf blah blah blah. LOL
bhai sahab, desi mulkoN mein laRkey apney aapko SHarukh Khan samajhtey haiN aur meri betiyoN ko Preity Zinta aur Rani Mukerjee samjhey gaiN
There are problems in both societies.
We were talking about this yesterday because my mumani has told her 4yo son not to play with girls! I think that's just going to make him hyper-conscious and curious. It will cause more issues than avoid them. I think there should be some distance maybe by 10 or 11. But 4!?!?
LOL agree.
We were talking about this yesterday because my mumani has told her 4yo son not to play with girls! I think that's just going to make him hyper-conscious and curious. It will cause more issues than avoid them. I think there should be some distance maybe by 10 or 11. But 4!?!?
Yes, someone brought it up to me that how come I allow my girls to play with boys... as many of our friends have boys their age, so when we go over or they come over, of course they play.
Now I am very conscious of hanky panky situations and I am one of those paranoid moms (:o) but I also know that the more you make the differences obvious, the more curiosity you instill in the kids. So I just have simple rules like, when boys come over, they have to play in the family room and aren't allowed in the inside rooms... not that I expect 6 year olds to be naughty but because I want to gradually make them understand that playing with the opposite sex has different rules if you may...
A
boys will eventually grow up and become handsome JERKS / PIGS...so in my view letting your girls to play with FUTURE JERKS is a BIG NO NO. though we know GIRLS to eventually grow up [God knows if that really happens or is just a myth] to be aunties and then MILS....but no one really cares about them bcos they don't care about themselves too.
handsome jerks sounds better
… more promising ![]()
why the discrimination based on looks? aar yan paar wali policy aapna’in.
for example…look at the bold part above and then keep looking until it turns to red with shame and hayya.
:hinna: I was only joking.