Re: Boycott Bollywood movies
how many of u boycott hollywood movies? n why just movies?
we dont boycott Hollywood. so bollywood?
That's where the hypocrisy and years of brainwashing sets in. Talking about anything good about India will make their blood boil, but they're pretty contented with products and ideals of the West whose atrocities their earlier generations had to endure and some would argue we're still suffering under.
The fact remains that it's years of brainwashing and political propaganda and those stupid biased accounts in "Pakistan Studies" books and the like that have made some blindly believe that anything anti-India is "patriotic".
I watch a few bollywood movies a year - specific ones that interest me because of their subject matter... so watching them doesn't mean that I'm endorsing their industry - and those people who watch other normal commercial/masala movies aren't doing anything wrong either... they watch'em just because sometimes they want to to be entertained. The argument that their movies are crap anyways doesn't hold either. There's tons of pathetic movies comin out of hollywood too. Leave it to the audience to decide what's good and what's not for them. Don't decide it for them.
I would like to request Pakistanis specially those living abroad to boycott Indian movies (not watch in cinemas). This might be a small hit to a big Indian economy but I think it might be satisfying for patriotic Pakistanis that at least they did something and not just lament about the situation.
It seems you are asking the overseas Pakistani's to watch "pirated" copies of Bollywood movies ... but not to go to a theatre and pay for watching them.
The revenues from overseas market are not that substanial that they will have any impact on the Indian economy.
But if people in Pakistan stop watching Bollywood movies (and since all movies shown in Pakistan are pirated), it will have an impact on the markets in Pakistan ... will leave a lot of people umemployed and "might" in turn lead to chaos .... so for Pakistan's sake watch Bollywood movies :)
That's where the hypocrisy and years of brainwashing sets in. Talking about anything good about India will make their blood boil, but they're pretty contented with products and ideals of the West whose atrocities their earlier generations had to endure and some would argue we're still suffering under.
The fact remains that it's years of brainwashing and political propaganda and those stupid biased accounts in "Pakistan Studies" books and the like that have made some blindly believe that anything anti-India is "patriotic".
I watch a few bollywood movies a year - specific ones that interest me because of their subject matter... so watching them doesn't mean that I'm endorsing their industry - and those people who watch other normal commercial/masala movies aren't doing anything wrong either... they watch'em just because sometimes they want to to be entertained. The argument that their movies are crap anyways doesn't hold either. There's tons of pathetic movies comin out of hollywood too. Leave it to the audience to decide what's good and what's not for them. Don't decide it for them.
exactly i agree with u.....everyone knows what america is for pak but ppl didnot stop watching hollywood or buying american products or even living there...i also watch bolly not becos i am supporting indian economy but becoz for entertainment...
ill watch whatever the hell i want to watch.
abay yaar, mar jaa’ain ge sab pakistani if they dont do deedar of shahrukh and salman, at least once a week ..
koi aur suggestion do .. this one is not going to work ![]()
Definitely. Bollywood is really the gutter of world cinema, its amazing how dumb Pakistanis patronize it. But then, these are the same people who love Geo...haha
I agree..I have not seen a bollywood movie in theaters in 3 years and don't intend to anytime soon. i don't have the time these days to waste 3 hours doing so. I am no longer going to buy Indian movies. I saw an Indian store going out of business and was tempted to buy a few old movies at cheap prices but no longer shall..
^ Thats great. bolly is a propaganda machine against pakistan and islam.
^^ exactly. Thats what i have been trying to explain. DO NOT WATCH ANY INDIAN CHANNEL OR MOVIE. Just restrict yourself to GEO and Zaid Hamid Programs.
^^ Chintu it sucks that Pakistan has had the political instability courtesy inept leadership, otherwise you have the most goodlooking and talented people of all sorts -- actors, musicians, models IN Pakistan who would have done wonders if things had gone the correct way. Still, we're doing OK and pretty happy with what we have.
^yes we have the most talented people in the world. considering, there is no formal acting/music educationin pakistan we have produced the best of singers/musicians like nusrat fateh ali ,the best of actors shafi mohammad, waheed murad, qavi khan the best of writers haseena moin, ashfaq ahmed, and the best of directors pervaiz malik, shahazad khalil etc . wonder, what we could have done if he had financial support from the government.
I actually feel bad for bolly mafia they have so much money but technically they're even worse than than bangalidheshi films. they have a good propaganda mahcine thats all. slumdog mllionnaire has shown the true face of shinning india. it is slum land of the poor LOL..
Bolly is an evil mafia.
i completely agree with the thread starter.
Two issues have been raised in the thread that are worth addressing. Firstly, the livelihood of pakistanies who work in the industry. Fine.. if thats what they want to do, and if Indians hire them, go for it. I dont see why Pakistanies not working in India need to concern themselves about that.
The second is comparison with hollywood. Every country in the world has a specific 'worldview'. Every country indoctrinates its youth in some manner of thinking. If you think you havent been indoctrinated, you're giving yourself far too much credit. So, the inculcation of certain views is a given, regardless of who you are. The same applies to religious and moral attitudes by the way. If your parents never brainwashed you not to lie and steal, you most likely would find nothing wrong with that either.
Once you've grown up, its all about what part of your identity you wish to retain. As far as I am concerned, western movies and culture is foreign enough as to not be directly adoptable into our own, and will be assimilated and given a local colour whenever something is taken in (which is completely okay). However indian culture is very similar to ours, and can be adopted piecemeal, stifling our nascent national identity through sheer volume. The lobotomizing impact of cheesy indian soaps on pakistani dramas is one very obvious example.
I agree..I have not seen a bollywood movie in theaters in 3 years and don't intend to anytime soon. i don't have the time these days to waste 3 hours doing so. I am no longer going to buy Indian movies. I saw an Indian store going out of business and was tempted to buy a few old movies at cheap prices but no longer shall..
Good to know that there are some sensible folks like you out there :) I frankly think their films are disgusting and not worthy of an intelligent audience. Little wonder they had to have a Hollywood film about the slums of Mumbai, which called them collectively "slumdogs" to get their cinema a modicum of acceptability at the world stage. And they're celebrating lol
itna gharoor na karo logon allah ka lakh lakh shukar ada karo ke tum kisi aisi jaga paida nahi hue or yeah ke pakistan is state main nahi hai
I am sure that if Lollywood started making better movies, Pakistanis would not watch Bollywood films.
Its the pathetic state of Lollywood thats driving Pakistanis to watch Bollywood movies.
wats the point of not watching pathtic movies of pakistan and watching pathtic movies of bollywood?
bollywood movies r no less pathetic IMO.
lets not consider the boycott thingy for a moment and jst analyse the bollywood movies. they are pathtic overall. i cant imagine how a person in his/her right mind can tolerate 3 hours of torture?
mostly movies r crappy desi versions of foriegn/hollywood movies. wats the point of watchin same thign over and over?
Good to know that there are some sensible folks like you out there :) I frankly think their films are disgusting and not worthy of an intelligent audience. Little wonder they had to have a Hollywood film about the slums of Mumbai, which called them collectively "slumdogs" to get their cinema a modicum of acceptability at the world stage. And they're celebrating lol
Actually danny boyle is a british Director he's not from hollywood.
and why wouldnt india Celebrate it. That movie was fantastic, and very creative captured the audiences attention and kept it till the end.
Regardless of Alot of bollywood films being crap, you do get the odd one here and there which is creative good to watch. Just because of a few sport issues you want pakistani's to stop watching bollywood movies?
Why dont you start your protest on the street were you would get a better answer to your question rather then an online forum. :D
wats the point of not watching pathtic movies of pakistan and watching pathtic movies of bollywood?
bollywood movies r no less pathetic IMO.
lets not consider the boycott thingy for a moment and jst analyse the bollywood movies. they are pathtic overall. i cant imagine how a person in his/her right mind can tolerate 3 hours of torture?
mostly movies r crappy desi versions of foriegn/hollywood movies. wats the point of watchin same thign over and over?
You are entitled to your opinion and totally free to not watch Bollywood movies. But please, Bollywood movies might be bad but don't compare them to your Lollywood trash :p
LOL we knw how trashy lollywood is and im not denying it.
and i didnt compare the HIGH class bollywood movies to lollywood movies if u check again.
i jst told the truth and it hurts sumtimes :)
LOL lollywood movies have become trashy though most of the bollywood films are copied from lollywood. even the trashy lollywood films have been ripped by bolly copycats(syed noor's sargam, ajab gul's khoye ho tum kahan are recent examples).
and no matter how much money, resourecs and proganada bolly does, the greatest film made in the sub-continent would always be the Pakistani Heer Ranjha. While bolly can make itself happy through self-praising and propaganda, it can ever get over this inferiority complex.