BORING thread - take a tour of my uni/2nd home

Rule: I. For my own reasons that are important to me, i don’t want to mention which city/uni this is. Agar aap ko na qabil-e bardasht khujli ho rahi hai and you really have to find out, pm me (that still won’t guarantee i’ll tell you - that’s my right). Those who know, please don’t say it in this thread.

No more rules :stuck_out_tongue: Enjoy (i really hope no one gets bored:( ).

Beginning with the Canadian flag - looking slightly limp in the snowy weather.
[thumb=H]pictflag0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Our uni’s official symbol - don’t ask me why it’s a bull. :~p It’s symbolic (i’m guessing) of the provincial economy that is partially agriculture-/farm-based. All that white ‘stuff’ outside - yes, that’s snow. Now you Torontonians know why i do this :rolleyes: when i hear you guys complaining about ‘suffering’ through +5 weather. :stuck_out_tongue: Wimps :mocking:
[thumb=H]picttmotto0_8830148.JPG[/thumb]

Part of the library - this is around that area where i saw those snotty desi girls when i was dressed like a tree-hugger: :p
[thumb=H]pictlibr0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Another shot - empty cuz only geeks like me are in a library at 7.45am:
[thumb=H]pictlibr20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

This is the International Student Centre...no, that's not my friend standing there, just one of the employees there. They've got these cool masks hanging (dunno if you can see it, for once it's not the quality of my cam, their lighting was kindof dim) - but cool masks nevertheless.

[thumb=H]pictisc0_30184331.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]pictisc20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Some sort of international photo week competition that i (as always) learned about after the contest was over:
[thumb=H]picisc30_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Basketball, anyone? Sorry i took it through a window, quality deterioration. This is where they had a speech by Mikhail Gorbachev when he visited here some time back. Bunch of other things happen here too besides basketball/volleyball games. On the top-right hand side if you look carefully, you can KINDA see some exercise equipment (okay they look like shapeless blobs but take my word for it, they exist there) - bikes waghera. Our fitness centre rocks.

[thumb=H]pictrec0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

"Brothers of the wind" is what it states at the bottom of this 'sculpture' - the uni has an olympic-sized skating rink where Olympic athletes come to train, like Canadian Jeremy Witherspoon.
[thumb=H]pictbotw0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

The Olympic Hall of Fame - still in the uni's fitness&lifestyles part of the campus:

[thumb=H]pictooval0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Through these doors you reach the Olympic-sized pool that doubles as a skating rink when it's needed for practice sessions by speed-skaters. There was a lot of construction going on at the time i took the pic, so there was no use in taking pictures of a bunch of machines. Place looks very torn up...undergoing renovation, expected to finish by August 2004.
[thumb=H]pictooval20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Branches laden with snow - what more can you say about Canada. Snow snow snow - har jaga snow.
[thumb=H]pictoutside0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

That's the library from one angle:
[thumb=H]pictoutside10_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

i bet someone around here remembers this room. ;~) This is also where i wrote one of my exams couple weeks back. It's usually a Bio class for first year students. This is the view from the bottom (duh)...

[thumb=H]pictst1480_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

...and the view from the top. That's where i was sitting when i wrote my exam :p yes i remember exactly where it was, i don't know why prolly cuz i was stressed like anything about the exam.

[thumb=H]pictst14820_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

That's the Atrium. All it is, are a bunch of tables, small fountain, trees, and imprisoned birds - relaxing place to study (or in my case daydream).
[thumb=H]picatrium0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

If you look carefully, you can see three statues at the very back...
[thumb=H]pictatrium20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

...of Socrates, Plato, and Crito. (Crito who? i don't know myself but no doubt some extremely intelligent toga-wearing Greek intellectual).

[thumb=H]pictatrium30_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

i don't know but i wanted to take some pics of the business schools/departments at my uni. If for no other reason than to contrast how much funding they get versus the non-corporate inclined depts (like humanities/english/drama/anthropology/geology/archaeology - all of which are always struggling for more funds). Neechay stock quotes scroll around on the tv's. Usually this place is jam-packed with mocha-sipping students...but early morning time is less crowded.
[thumb=H]pictbsm0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]picbsm20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Blurry, i know, i can see :p But this was a list of their corporate sponsors. jeez itnay saaray thain - i've worked with profs who are working in short-staffed, little-funded, very miserable departments that don't get sufficient funding... but they try to make do how they can without taking it out on the students. Aur yahan tau eik sai eik corporate sponsor tha, ALL the big-shots. i know for most desis it's not a big deal, but for some who are part of departments that don't get the massive funding, it makes a HUGE difference in terms of the quality of your education.
[thumb=H]pictbsm30_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

Bahir. duh:
[thumb=H]pictoutside20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=H]pictoutside30_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

See what i mean - this is the Primatology section. The sign broke last year, dun't think anyone's called anyone in to fix it. :~/ Anywho, i took a class here as well during the time i thought i was the next Pakistani Dian Fossey. i dun know how many of you remember, but couple years back, a Canadian graduate student was kidnapped in Uganda alongwith seven other foreigners; they were all killed i think. But he escaped at night and was the only one out of seven to make it alive. He graduated from the Primatology department at this uni, and his professor is/was the man who built up this department at my uni from scratch cuz it didn't use to exist before. It is one of the very few in Canada.

[thumb=H]pictprima0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

At the main Student Centre building. Olympics is a constant theme around here.
[thumb=H]pictgofd0_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

"Goddess of Democracy". At the Central Academy of Fine Art in Beijing, students sculpted a Tiananmen "Goddess of Democracy" an effigy of which (i think) they had carried into Tiananmen Square in 1989 during the massacre. This is a replica version that was created by the uni, Chinese Students Society, and the Alliance for a Democratic China... subsequent to the massacres at Tiananmen Square.
[thumb=H]pictgofd20_3018433.JPG[/thumb]

i took a bunch more pics but kinda getting darn bored now of my own thread. Any comments and/or criticisms? Anyone i put to sleep?

Wow nice pics.

Nice, now that Ive graduated, I think I should do the same with my college, photograph everything, but I figured it would take me too long, its the entire city!!!

Nadia i am truly sorry, but i feel it is my responsibility to tell the public the truth.

[thumb=H]CHICHORAVILLE10355_6125139.JPG[/thumb]

PS: No wonder you're so embarrassed to admit you go to this school :p

Same here our Spock city is only complete with our university intact.

Nadia, your university is beautiful, (it wasn't boring at all I had fun browsing through it) I kept comparing everything to my university your's looks more new. Despite all that ice your university is very green and colorful, actually the ice gives it a nice touch. Hey your lecture hall chairs are hard ours are cushioned, we have hard chairs in our discussion classrooms, they squeak and their really uncomfortable.

P.S. Is cheegum lying?

wow nice pics :k:

my uni is NEVER empty.. so i could never take pictures like that. Actually i wish i felt something for my uni, but i dont :frowning:

good stuff Nadz

I offer only the truth and nothing but the truth.

( :rotfl: )

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
Part of the library - this is around that area where i saw those snotty desi girls when i was dressed like a tree-hugger: :p

haha Nadia you are too cute! :p

We had a heavy snow here eh Nadia? Waise, I've never seen the library area empty! I see people hanging around even if lectures haven't started. I've never been to the business school area either, looks pretty cool.

Very funny Cheegz!