naam kee nokree

yeh sab perh lo

Re: Books... Books.... And More Books

the secular mind by roberts cole.
non fiction.

Re: Books… Books… And More Books

did any one of you read “No Logo” by Naomi Klein :smokin:

its a book about Brands, Globalization & Resistance

ps. btw do you actually discuss these books with ur sibz or frndz or anyone, or just keep this ilm to yourself? :hmmm:

the last templar is it the one those 3 horsemen break in to a museum......if it is then its a tooooooooop book.....:)

read it in summer of 2002, thinking it was more about neo brand-ing, but it turned out to be different than I thought it was, its less about brand building, and more about negative effects of globalization, some of it a bit too naive. as if exploitation of workers in third world countries only exists because of western companies..she skips the whole CSR initiatives of the companies, the ISO 14001 and other standards, the focus on procurement and sourcing.

There were other obvious errors in her book which either meant she was biased and hoodwinking the readers, or she simply did not grasp some funademental concepts. both of which made this book shredder fodder soon.

if you understand finance and economics and read her book, u will laugh at some of the most obvious flaws in her thinking.

I wish I had read amazon reviews before buying, but I got it just when it came out due to teh hype surrounding it. simply put teh book was over hyped and promoted as something it was not.

4 horsemen :) yeah
excellent book, although the ending was cheesed up for future movies
actually if the ended the book 10 pages before it ended I would have been happy.
I suspected something was going to go cheesy when he was being cared for by ppl in that town.
and yeah in the end they cheesed it up. ten pages before teh ending i was liek wow what a book, 10 pages later i was saying "ullu kay pathay"

interesting, now i definitely gonna give it a shot (for flaws) :hehe:

• this thing reminds me that one of prof wrote a book against ad agencies. and he was telling us that those advertiser were the people actually reading his book. :hehe:

so i guess u wont gonna see the flaw in DaVinci code as you have nothing with art. :hehe:

ps. i just read a bit :hehe: …i have to agree with you here cuz now my closet is filled with brand label more than ever and i even encourage people to buy branded stuff :phati:

btw do give a shot to

-yeh dono hai patli sii per in dono nay waki may meray damag ke cholain hala dee thee.

btw u gonna be amazed that how they are written. to me they are really a piece of art :hehe:

I m desprately waiting for Dan Brown's next (Solemon Key) ......
The main character will yet again be "Robert Langdon" ... but this time ... we'll see America's Capital like we have never seen b4 ....... the novel will be about Free Masons ....

no need to mention tht i have read
Harry potter series
Dan Brown's novels

One of favourite series
JASON BOURNE (totaly diff frm movie)

Other then those....
Secret Text Series (Diplomacy of wolves, Vengence of dragons, Courage of falcons) by holly lisle
Sympathy for devil by holly lisle

Currently reading
His dark materials (part 1 ... which is Golden compas)

Read these Urdu novels
Ishq ka ain (by aleem ul haq haqqi)
Ishq ka sheen (by aleem ul haq haqqi)
Kaiser-o-kasra (naseem hijazi)
Shaheen (naseem hijazi)
there are more ... cant remember the names right now ...

wanna read
**khak aur khoon **by naseem hijazi

sure, read it, and wonder why she only presents one side and even that faulty, comparing national gdps and corporate revenue, as well as forgeting completely about inflation, population growth, increased media choices, increased competition and all as she looks at growth an ad spends.

sure, ppl need to understand what people are saying, I have read anti islam books as well to see what ppl are saying. But the issue is that she is fairly off base here.

davinci code is fiction, wait, No logo (AKA no logic) is fiction also, it makes no sense.

b*****ng has its values, u can acceot or reject brands, but again that book is not about brand building at all, its about the evil of brands, evil of companies behind the brands and the explotation of sheeple in the west who buy those brands and exploitation of ppl in third world countries who slave in crap factories.

btw do give a shot to

-yeh dono hai patli sii per in dono nay waki may meray damag ke cholain hala dee thee.

btw u gonna be amazed that how they are written. to me they are really a piece of art :hehe:

I skipped Kite Runner after reading the reviews cause it kinda sounds like a blokes book.

I wasnt in the mood to read bout young afghan boys so got the other one.

Echo Park is a murder mystery of a young woman unsolved for 13 years that is unsolved through political games

Ohh yeah .. i wanna read kite runner too ....
one of my frnd is quite fond of it

I have a collection of books too but it’s okay not to tell about it cuz I am not in touch with almost all of them for last year and a half… they are in a box sitting in the attic of a house in New York :slight_smile:

currently, I am mostly reading books on:

• SYMCLI Product Manual

• Legato Backup

• Veritas Netbackup

• CDL

• Connectirx Cisco/Brocade/McData Fiber Switches

• Zoning - scenario based events

• Symmetrix Remote Data Facility (SRDF) disaster recovery implementation

• TimeFinder Snap/mirror/clones backup

… etc. etc.

Hope it helped :halo:

X2- dont u know DaVinci code and holy blood and holy grail controversy! :hehe: (if u know then u wouldnt have brought this fact thing up :D)

ps. hope u consider something “fact” that what you see, not what you are made to see.

besides i did ask your take on some information regarding NGOs and child labor (they were in urdu)…us waqt to app khamoosh rahay thay.

-ok even if we put this child labor on a side, what say ya about the low wages? in fact people are in fact “slaves” for two three generations (as once their grandparent or parents were borrowed Rs.100)

• and what ya say about gap controversy? okay, i know its big corporation (i do know gora mentality) it in our ppl. they get agree to sell their own people.

ps. as a writing student i barely except 100% truth from other writer. she have to show them evil. its a separate advertising strategy. :hehe:

dost … dont u have book on UNIX ?

where are the books :konfused:

may nay abhi publish nahi kerwai :stuck_out_tongue:

I have passed that stage... The only UNIX I am concerned about now is just a vi editor which does not need that much consideration :~)

book ka naam soch lia ?

n wat abt ...........
hmm ............
aur computer say related koi mushkil naam yaad nahin araha :p] .....
MCSE clear kerlia ?

what fact? speak in plain english not riddles :slight_smile:

what you see can be deceving as well clouded by your own judgement and biases.

maybe i was not in a mood to get into it then.

sure, people have low wages, but is it the corporatiosn fault or suppliers? are teh conditions of workers in that country for workers working in domestic products any better? would they even have jobs, and lastly these companies are doing a lot in terms of checking suppliers out, making suppliers comply with ISO regulations from quality to environmental impact to work conditions.

Gap has sourcing policies in place, its suppliers signed on to those policies, the fact that companies like gap have to police these suppliers to make sure they are not abusing their own people speaks volumes about the corporate spirit of companies like gap that they are taking on the added expense of monitoring their suppliers, who btw should have the decency to behave in a responsible manner w/o gap having to do surveillance.

controlling supply chains is a big issue, sourcing is more critical and poor practices by suppliers result in the type of issues we see now with toys showing up with really high lead content.

Sadly the public focus is too much on corporations and not on suppliers and monitoring agencies in the suppliers’ countries. just like when u buy something from a store and expect that teh store and the manufacturer would have made sure that the product works , so do these guys expect their suppliers to have the same due diligence, but it does not happen. so its easy for ppl to get on the case of Gap .. but is gap in the business of policing every supplier 24/7?

How can I say it,? I am the architect of a supply chain, bill of material and product content management solution to deal with environmental issues, and saw first hand the stuff that goes on. It is not in the OEMs interest to have subpar products or products that can expose them to masive lawsuits or the entire product line being oulled from shelves so they wont monkey around but suppliers, contract manufacturers etc continue to cut corners and expose these major companies like sony to risk.

reminds me of a old joke where an elder asks a young man, how much he had studied.. the man replies: Jee B.A kar liyaa hai, abb soch rahaa hooN High School bhee kar hee looN