Hi…there are many Hindi movies which are copies of Hollywood movies…here are a few that I know are
Baazigar was a ditto of Kiss Before Dying starring Matt Dillon and Sean Young
Parinda (dubbed as the best ever gangster movie made in India) bears resemblance to On the Waterfront, and Underworld USA
MohabataiN is (I think) loosly based on Dead Poets Society
and then there are like half a dozen hindi movies based on Julia Roberts’ Sleeping with the Enemy (there is a famous one though with Juhi Chawla, forgot the name)
And of course Criminal is just a translated version of The Fugitive
Can u name any others?
I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work… I want to achieve it through not dying.
Dil Hail Ki maanta nahin , Chori-Chori (Old) - It Happened One Night
Man - An Affair To Remember
Agnipath - Scarface
Chachi 420 - Mrs. Doubtfire
Josh - West Side Story
If the purpose of this thread is to somehow prove that some Bollywood movie-makers copy themes from Hollywood, then this is probably true. If the purpose is to show that this makes Bollywood movies bad then the answer is "no".
Most Bollywood movies are not bad because the writer-director copied from Hollywood. They are bad because the movie-maker is not intelligent enough. He'd put in all sorts of mirch-masala in the movies to make his target audience come and watch it. Illogical dance sequences, clumsy fight scenes and astonoshing plot twists are mostly a slap on viewers' intelligence. At the end of the day, except for a few outstanding movie-makers in India, most just want a return on their investment and not to make a good movie or tell us a good story.
Having said that, plagiarizing a movie plot is not something which is exclusive to Bollywood. Movie-producers copy from all over the world, basically anything which takes their fancy. Hollywood, frequently copies from Europe or even copies themselves (a.k.a. remakes). Bollywood and Lollywood frequently copy from each other and from other countries. Sometimes, they even copy frame-to-frame and scene-to-scene. This mere fact alone, does not make a movie bad. Its the way the director-producer treat the plot which makes the movie good or crap.
The purpose of this thread is to prove that Bollywood steal themes from Hollywood and makes movies with a desi nuance. But you are right, that does not make those movies bad. The only thing I might disagree on is the fact that they never own up to the plagiarism, whereas Hollywood filmmakers do have the courtsey of telling the audience about the origin of the theme.
I am very selective when it comes to hindi movies, and the only reason I watch them is that in my opinion they are a good eye-candy (the ones I watch), some dance sequences are great (especially the ones with Ashwariya Rai), and some are cheesy to the umpteenth degree.
So yeah the purpose was to tell each other what hindi movies we think are based on hollywood themes.
I don't want to achieve immortality through my work... I want to achieve it through not dying.
Mere Yaar ki Shaadi- My Best Friend's wedding
Aamir Khan, Manisha starrer - Kramer vs Kramer
Masoom - Man, Woman and Child
The Burning Train- Towering Inferno
COMPANY scene effects were copied and made similar to TRAINING DAY and other recent action movies
THERE IS ONE THING THAT U WANT, N THERE IS ONE THING THAT ALLAH WANTS,IF U WANT OF WHAT ALLAH WANTS, ALLAH WILL GIVE U WHAT U WANT..
"The shortest distance between a problem and a solution is the distance between your knees and the floor. The one who kneels to the Lord can stand up to anything."
"Wohi Hota Hai Jo Manzoorai Khudah Hota Hai"
The KiNG OF GUPSHUP
Originally posted by durango:
*Masoom - Man, Woman and Child
I think it was adopted from the book by that name (by Eric Segal).Anyways It is one of very well made Indian movie and with very nice songs like 'Huzur us qadar bhi na itra ke chaliye' and 'Tujhse Naraaz nahin Zindagi..'
Originally posted by Pristine:
**If the purpose of this thread is to somehow prove that some Bollywood movie-makers copy themes from Hollywood, then this is probably true. If the purpose is to show that this makes Bollywood movies bad then the answer is "no".
Most Bollywood movies are not bad because the writer-director copied from Hollywood. They are bad because the movie-maker is not intelligent enough. He'd put in all sorts of mirch-masala in the movies to make his target audience come and watch it. Illogical dance sequences, clumsy fight scenes and astonoshing plot twists are mostly a slap on viewers' intelligence. At the end of the day, except for a few outstanding movie-makers in India, most just want a return on their investment and not to make a good movie or tell us a good story.
Having said that, plagiarizing a movie plot is not something which is exclusive to Bollywood. Movie-producers copy from all over the world, basically anything which takes their fancy. Hollywood, frequently copies from Europe or even copies themselves (a.k.a. remakes). Bollywood and Lollywood frequently copy from each other and from other countries. Sometimes, they even copy frame-to-frame and scene-to-scene. This mere fact alone, does not make a movie bad. Its the way the director-producer treat the plot which makes the movie good or crap.**
Agreed...I dont mind seeing copies ..if it is well made..example is PARINDA,AGNIPATH,CHACHI 420,DIL HAI KE MANTA NAHI etc.
But there are many dumb hollywood copies also.
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited May 30, 2002).]
three men and a baby - forgot what the indian version was (was something like “hey baby” or something similar)
the train - also copy of a movie featuring jeniffer aniston forgot the name again
an amir khan movie was a also a copy of the movie “momento”
phir hera pheri - attempted to copy “lock stock and two smoking barrels” but failed terribly
paap - witness
Parinda will remain one of the best bollywood movies ever. The Nana Patekar's acting as a villian plus Anil Kapoor/Jackie Shroff has not been repeated.
Plus the movie has no songs which makes it even better.
There was a copy of Silence of the lambs too... They ended up making a comedy version of it!!! LOL
that silence of the lamb was copied in akshay kumar, preity zinta starrer sangharsh.....story was different but akshay kumar's escape scene was exactly the same.....but i loved sangharsh...loved preity's acting and ashutosh, akshay were good too...plus the film has lovely music
Ghajini - copied from tamil film. tamil film had copied bits from hollywood's Bourne Trilogy esp bit about hero having short-term memory loss.
You are both wrong and right! Wreong to say that the tamil version copied from the bourne trilogy and right to say that ghajini copied the tamil version.
Ghajini is directed by the same person who directed the Tamil movie, thereby making it a remake in Hindi! the Tamil version picks up the basic plot from the critically acclaimed independent movie Memento byChristopher Nolan. In the Bourne Trilogy the protagonist does not suffer from short term memory loss, rather, his memory is erased because of the experiment.