Re: BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor
Surprised people would take thier kids to this one.
lol they're mentally challeneged
Surprised people would take thier kids to this one.
lol they're mentally challeneged
Why depressing movies like 'KKL' & 'Bol' in already depressed environment. Can't Shoaib Mansoor ,who is famous for Fifty Fifty, Unkahi, Sunehre Din & Alpha Bravo Charlie, make light movies without creating gloomy atmosphere bcoz that is very well being done by our news channels.
I feel hes a brilliant director and that such directors should be making movies which target social issues because they can handle that well, rather than make a mockery of the issue and film. He is being responsible as a media person and I salute him bringing societal evils to light so graphically
^ My point is why to add depression to already depressed environment.
Agree he can handle social topics very well, but didn't he produce Fifty Fifty & Unkahi in Zia's regime. I think next time, he should produce a light film instead of making hat-trick in producing so-called preachy movies.
Watched it already in Lahore. It was okay. Reminded me a lot of Kajraare.
I read today that BOl has beaten My name is Khan . It has earned Rs22.038m in 6 days where as mnik did Rs21.658 million in a week. :)
^ yeah i read that too. i am surprised and happy. i loved mnik and if bol has done better business then it must be good..inshallah...ab tou waqayi dekhni pare gi.
haven't seen bol yet, but based on the feedback of others it appears to be a mish mash of many social issues where the central character is a mullah who, surprise surprise, is the epitome of all evil. hardly sounds like a bold theme to me! mullah bashing is all the rage these days. The theme may not have annoyed me so much if all of shoman's previous work wasn't also propoganda driven (sunehery din; alpha brave, charlie; khuda ke liye; bol). His work has either directly glorified the army or indirectly supported their stance (aka mullah's are the root of all evil in pakistan).
If Shoman wants to be BOLD and be respected for his work on socio-political issues, he needs to start discussing current pertinent issues: i-e missing people of pakistan, situation in balochistan/ NWFP and STOP being the army's mouthpiece!!It's a shame that a creative genius like Shoman preaches truth and justice in his movies but refuses to break free from the army's influence.
Shoman needs to internalize his own message and"BOL" ( and also stop accepting $$$ from ISPR)
@dooree I agree with some of your points. Even KKL was very one-sided and biased.
Someone rightly said...BOL tu mat BOL...disgusting movie! and agree with dooree - people who liked it are either the ones who think like Shoaib Mansoor himself, who want to give out an impression to the western world that they aren't terrorists but they are just as open minded and cool as the western culture requires them to be. Nothing wrong with being the way you are but i don't understand arent the open minded and self proclaimed educated people supposed to show that they are open to everything and they believe in the saying each to its own? then how the hell do they want the mullas (their usual culprits to understand them and they don't even try to understand the other partys point of view themself?).
Other liked the movie because they think that since people don't go to watch the typical lollywood gujjar films..and shoaib Mansoors films are watched by people who live in "posh areas" so its a road to the revival of cinema...whatever the issue discussed, however its shown just take it as a creative project rather than anything else...its better then the kind of films being made in Pakistan so just leave it at that.
This is my friends review by the way, havent seen the movie myself..and from what i have been hearing i am not sure if i want to watch it now...
Someone rightly said...BOL tu mat BOL...disgusting movie! and agree with dooree - people who liked it are either the ones who think like Shoaib Mansoor himself, who want to give out an impression to the western world that they aren't terrorists but they are just as open minded and cool as the western culture requires them to be. Nothing wrong with being the way you are but i don't understand arent the open minded and self proclaimed educated people supposed to show that they are open to everything and they believe in the saying each to its own? then how the hell do they want the mullas (their usual culprits to understand them and they don't even try to understand the other partys point of view themself?).
Other liked the movie because they think that since people don't go to watch the typical lollywood gujjar films..and shoaib Mansoors films are watched by people who live in "posh areas" so its a road to the revival of cinema...whatever the issue discussed, however its shown just take it as a creative project rather than anything else...its better then the kind of films being made in Pakistan so just leave it at that.
This is my friends review by the way, havent seen the movie myself..and from what i have been hearing i am not sure if i want to watch it now...
Same here. The way he publicly criticized Junaid Jamshed shows his low mental level. It was a personal issue that he dragged in public. In KKL he twisted religion. He's no Islamic scholar so why is he talking on a subject he has little knowledge about?Also KKL was funded by ISPR.
Dooree, while I wholeheartedly disagree with his stance of blindly supporting the army I do want to make one correction…the central character (manzar sehbai) is not a maulvi but he is a hakeem…in the movie his business is badly affected by the development of modern medicine, hospitals, and doctors. In order to earn money during this tough time, hakeem sahab finds himself in the red light district tutoring children in that area this is where he meets meena (iman ali). I think every writer has a goal or agenda that they want to show the audience on screen…and shoman is simply pointing out the hypocrisy of men in our society. All the rules are strictly applied on women while the men tend to get away with anything and everything. He forces his daughters to pray and do pardah but goes out to fool around with a prostitute in hopes of having a son. He prays five times a day but can not control the urge to beat his wife. He can not afford to have another child..yet continues having children. anyways this is a more balanced review of the movie:
http://www.dawn.com/2011/07/04/bol-movie-review.html
So yes you want to say we should allow women to go naked on streets let them do all kind of bad things in the name of liberation sir this attitude produces reaction
While this movie does not in anyway further ISPR's agenda, it really is cinematic ranting by someone who is frustrated at a system. I am not sure if films are a best way to make difference, Mansoor needs to go political or something in order to make a constructive contribution. Also, I'm not sure if films are meant to be 3 hour rants at a system, everything here the mullah does is evil-evil-evil while the humaima character shows up as the calm sensible silky voiced angel of reason at all the necessary moments.
So yes you want to say we should allow women to go naked on streets let them do all kind of bad things in the name of liberation sir this attitude produces reaction
huh? where exactly did you get that from...firstly you should watch your language before you make such foul comments....every human being (be it man or women) should have the right to make their own choices, you are probably referring to this part of the review "One character openly asks others to take off their hijabs, leave the four walls of the home and experience life; yet the film has not attracted any major fatwa. I know it is not much but it gives me hope for a Pakistan where people are tolerant and fatwas are hard to come by." shoman is emphasizing that the women has the right to make a choice, no one should be forced against their will to conform to a particular ideology or belief.
kahin online hai yeh movie?
Releasing on August 31th worldwide!!!
On net?
^^ worldwide on 31st august? ![]()
tou abhi kahan release hui hai?
Its only been released so far in Pakistan. Now it'll be released in other countries.
oh acha acha thanks