Re: BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor
PTV was more experimental despite the strict guidelines.PTV gave it's directors creative liberty to tackle diverse issues. Sahira Kazmi 's Tapish dealt with rape and university politics in the 80's.
No doubt Sahira Kazmi is a talented director, but when it comes to TV Drama serial, you have 13 weeks to develop the whole plot and in movies case you only have just two and half hours to say your POV. May be Shoaib Mansoor took too many issues for a movie of two and half hours that could not be digested by many at a time.
Well, enough on this movie. It had 4 weeks of business, then came Ramadan...my guess is even if you do not factor theater ticket inflation over 5 years, it still grossed probably 70% of what KKL did which would come to around 5-6 Crores. Not bad but not that great either.
No doubt Sahira Kazmi is a talented director, but when it comes to TV Drama serial, you have 13 weeks to develop the whole plot and in movies case you only have just two and half hours to say your POV. May be Shoaib Mansoor took too many issues for a movie of two and half hours that could not be digested by many at a time.
competent director can convey their message even in a 3 min short film... this guy had two and a half hours at his disposal.
Shoaib Mansoor has proved proved his competency in various projects starting from Fifty Fifty's few minutes skits to videos of vital signs songs, Supreme Ishq. He has classics like Ankahi, Sunehre Din, Alpha Bravo Charlie, Silver Jubilee on his credit. Just not agreeing to his approach towards an issue does not justify calling him an incompetent director.
We should not forget that every artist cannot always deliver quality that is approved by everyone. Sahira Kazmi also produced some serials like Tum se kehna tha and Kaise Kahoon (I'm sure many of us even don't remember this last serial telecasted from ARY) which were not near to her previous quality productions. Another example of this is Haseena Moin who after Kasak and Pal Do Pal written dramas like Des Pardes, Jane Anjane, Choti si kahani which are not even passing to her classics like Tanhaiyan, Dhoop Kinare, etc.
Same goes true for Shoaib Mansoor's KKL & BOL which were not liked by all but appreciated by many.
i really wanna watch it, too bad its not showing at cinemas anymore :( n i def dnt want to watch it on a pirated copy :(
Is marriages between Shia-Sunni made Haram by Allah. If not, then we should not discourage or say something against this.
If i am not wr0ng, there is no Hadith/Verse regarding marriage between Muslims and Qadiyanis.. s0, what r you gonna do regarding this? They claim, they are Muslims? is it acceptable f0r you?
As far as I am aware no country has officially declared Shia's non-muslims so to compare Shiites with Qadiyanis is a bit out of order.
there is a hell of difference between Qadianis and Shia. You can find many similarities between Fiqah e Jafria and other Sunni Fiqahs, when it comes to basic ibadaat, sharia rules, etc.
Exactly.... if Allah and His Prophet (S.A.W). prohibited something for Muslims then what is the use of arguing over it that Y is this like this? I mean, are we going 2 argue over these facts 2 that why we pray 5 times a day etc????
The movy was rubbish...... I was unable to understand the stupid scene of hakeem scolding his daughter when Australia Crcikt team w0n.??? what Umaima was trying to say? A Muslim should pray to Allah and asks fr0m Him only. . . .every0ne knws the other possibilities(and the rewards associated) wn one';s dua is not fulfilled...
the shia-sunni issue...oper oper se jo b keh lien anday se both are against of each other's beliefs...and marryin s0me1 who bel0ngs 2 s0me other sect, is not a right msg at all............... !!!!!
Am i missing something? I guess the match was between India and Pakistan. The point she was trying to say that whenever there is a match 18 crore pakistani awam pray for the team and at the same time 1 billion INDIAN people pray from their God (Bhagwan) .. winning of match by one country doesn't mean that the God of other team lost. or in simple words, hum nay khuda ko aisi baatou k saath yaad krna shuru kr diya hai .. aur khud mehnat nahi krtay. jab b koi imtehan ata hai to mehnat krnay ki bjay ye kah deitay h k Allah mujhay paas kr day.
Is marriages between Shia-Sunni made Haram by Allah. If not, then we should not discourage or say something against this.
Is marriage outside a tribe/caste is haram? no then why shouldn't people do it?
The movie was focused on "society" issues .. not "religious" issue.
Is marriage outside a tribe/caste is haram? no then why shouldn't people do it?
The movie was focused on "society" issues .. not "religious" issue.
I think we can't separate religion from society. Religious matters are part and parcel of our society. I agree that if ppl avoid marrying in other castes,tribes, communities, ethnicities,sects, etc due to their self perceived incompatibility issues that does not mean that it is not permissible or not possible. In fact such integration is the best source for promoting harmony and tolerance in society.
exactly and thats the exact reason why sunni-shia don't marry with each other .. though i know couple of such examples but its not normal
I didnt like it at all. Too negative and sickening..shoaib mansoor bit into something greater than he could chew. Even the humor looked bland and forced. And this post is coming from an ardent fan of shoman. :(
I dont want to discuss this in this thread. Aqalmand k liyey ishara he kafi hota hai…
@T1000: thnx for the explanation. . . . ![]()
exactly and thats the exact reason why sunni-shia don't marry with each other .. though i know couple of such examples but its not normal
I didn't get your point that whether you are for or against integration between different sects, communities, etc through inter-marriages.
I dont want to discuss this in this thread. Aqalmand k liyey ishara he kafi hota hai...
@T1000 : thnx for the explanation. . . . :)
We need to develop harmony in our society through integration of different sects, communities, etc and that is only possible when we tolerate and respect ideologies of others. Calling other sects as Kafir due to minor ideological differences has never contribute good towards society. Although this is not the topic of this thread, but movie we are talking about does deal with this issue and the character opposing marriage between sunni-shia also says in a scene 'Inka aur hamara Quran alag nahin' and that clearly shows positive intent of the director towards this matter.
^ This was expected with Bodyguard releasing simultaneously and the seriousness of Bol's story.
It's good that it was released in India, to good reviews.
Too serious for a movie kya duniya mein kam maslay hein ke hum cinema gharoun mein bhi wohi same depressing cheezein dekhein over all a well made movie but I hope other producers and directors will not follow and make similar movies coz the world is becoming a depressing place and we could do without depressing movies
I didnt like it at all. Too negative and sickening..shoaib mansoor bit into something greater than he could chew. Even the humor looked bland and forced. And this post is coming from an ardent fan of shoman. :(
Same here. A big shoaib mansoor fan. But this time he tried to combine too many issues in one movie. Khuda k liye was so refreshing and it had a nice balance between contentious issues and cinematic demands. Bol, on the other hand, is just a murabba of too many hard hitting issues..