BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor

Re: BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor

same here.
These things are not happening in Pakistan only.. . .c0me on !!!!
I wonder if ever h0llyw00d is g0nna highlight such drawbacks 0f their s0ciety in 0ne single m0vy!?!?!

OMG i seriously didnt know these kinda happens in pakistan...gay rape? i cant even believe gay at first and then rape??? GIMME A BREAK!

[HR][/HR]Hollywood has made movies that are much more 'bold' than BOL. Boys Don't Cry or Midnight Cowboy all comment on societal problems that exist within the American society. The difference is people in America accept them unlike Pakistan where after watching the movie some celebrities went on record to deny that these problems exist in Pakistan. Furthermore one has to understand the underlying theme of the movie BOL which is that of denial and hypocrisy. I believe the point of the movie wasn't to say that these things only exist in Pakistan but that they do exist and we must address these problems not ignore them or hide them.

I don't know if my Q has been answered but does anyone know the reason why Iman Ali's song was cut out when the film was shown here ?

Haven't watched the movie myself but most people I know hated it :/ Apparently it's giving a wrong image of Pakistan and Islam. Is the movie really that bad?

It was there in theaters in Pak and well it was a pretty blah-sequence you could sleep over it, apparently Mansoor couldn't resist putting in a Mujra being a Pakistani director but it backfired as the actress told to do it was way too classy to stoop to the mujra-level. Shoaib Mansoor made a pretty schizophrenic movie, have to say, one moment you have a gay rape and baby murder and the next girls going wild in a pop-concert. And the mujra. If I remember correctly, in the scene following the mujra the courtesan/whore confesses to an incestuous relationship with her step brother, who apparently was ALSO getting kicks out of the mujra. That was when I thought, okay, this guy has gone NUTS.

Hollywood makes thousands of movies every year out of which couple on societal issues but hundreds on glorifying their society and country. The concept of bold varies from culture to culture and country to country.

But these are the facts of our society whether you accept it or not. The msg conveyed through this was very much clear and pointed towards biased attitude of our society for the children from that category. When they are not accepted by their parents and dear ones then they are destined to the events shown in the movie. I didn't find it fake or something that shocked me.

No, the movie is not bad at all depending on our attitude whether we can accept cruel realities of our society. All the evils shown in the movie do exist in our society. It may be problematic for some ppl to digest all the things shown in two and half hour movie, but over all the subject of the movie is thought provoking.

Before watching the movie, I also heard that Shoaib Mansoor had shown all the evils in one person (Manzar Sehbai) and used that as propaganda against Islam. But, after watching the movie, I found that character has nothing much to do with Islam and all the bad things he does are due to his personal wishes / fears or due to the circumstances he has to face and the character at times uses religion to support his orthodox views.

No, it is not reflective of the Pakistani middle or upper classes, it may have shown how Pakistani trash behaves. But trash is trash, everywhere.

Exactly.... if Allah and His Prophet (S.A.W). prohibited something for Muslims then what is the use of arguing over it that Y is this like this? I mean, are we going 2 argue over these facts 2 that why we pray 5 times a day etc????

The movy was rubbish...... I was unable to understand the stupid scene of hakeem scolding his daughter when Australia Crcikt team w0n.??? what Umaima was trying to say? A Muslim should pray to Allah and asks fr0m Him only. . . .every0ne knws the other possibilities(and the rewards associated) wn one';s dua is not fulfilled...

the shia-sunni issue...oper oper se jo b keh lien anday se both are against of each other's beliefs...and marryin s0me1 who bel0ngs 2 s0me other sect, is not a right msg at all............... !!!!!

Upper class is not representative of any society, but issues pointed in the movie i.e. unacceptability of inter-sect marriages, family planning issues for getting male offspring, unjustified restrictions on girls, biased attitude towards third gender, do exist in both middle and lower class of Pakistan.

Is marriages between Shia-Sunni made Haram by Allah. If not, then we should not discourage or say something against this.

Nijaat, a serial dir by Sahira Kazmi aired in the early 90s was a far more effective and eloquent treatment of the same subject -- the desire to have more offspring, resulting poverty and the treatment of women.

Agreed, but Nijaat was aired in 1993 from PTV, which is still famous / infamous for its strict policies, when it comes to speak about social issues. I've heard that script of Nijaat was first written by Noor ul Huda Shah, but the pilot was rejected due to some issues against PTV policies for Taboos and then the drama was written by Asghar Nadeem Syed. We should not forget many programs (including ek thi gudia, Inkaar, etc) were banned / got off-aired when the writer pointed out social / bold issues.

Within the given parameters they did a stellar job at presenting an issue that you could watch without having to go the restroom to puke. Nijaat was amazing, I still remember it's background score it was so haunting. If I am not mistaken the very talented Javed Ditta handled the compositions and did a marvellous job.

Yes, Nijaat was able to convey a lot inspite of all the restrictions due to excellant direction of Sahira Kazmi who had already produced serials based on social topics including Tapish, Hawa ki beti. Background music of Nijaat was composed by Farrukh Abid.

^^ Very talented bunch of people. They treated the material sensitively and did not produce abuse-porn that is Bol.

BOL has been rated as a HIT throughout the world

in Dubai/Shj i couldnt get seats the release day and after....

aur waisay bhi "sachai humesha karwi hoti hai"......

Indeed Nijaat was far more realistic and hard hitting. Sahira Kazmi did not resort to stereotyping like SM. SM picks up extreme cases to justify his POV.