BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor

Re: BOL.. Movie By Shoaib Mansoor

Just because of this reason i went to watch this movie in theater today and I am happy that i didn't waste my money. I would say a must watch. After "Taray Zameen Par" if there is any movie which would leave an impact on the community then this is the one.

Though, I din feel okay with the extreme fundamentalism which shoaib mansoor portrayed through Hakim but I agree with the fact that this extreme was necessary to make the point.

I am not gona spoil your fun .. But would definitely suggest you guys that GO N WATCH in theater - Please don't watch it online or pirated copy.

For people living Across GTA, its in Square 1 Empire Theaters, AMC Winston Churchill, AMC young & dundas

I live in Houston and went to watch it yesterday with all my friends. The movie is a MUST WATCH!!!! its a THOUSAND TIMES better than the mindless beyhuda bollywood films out there in the market right now. and yes it is indeed very bold. Though the editing is bad and if you live abroad you will notice we got a different version of the movie since iman ali's song "saiyyan bolain" is totally cut off from the movie. its 2 hours and 45 minutes and worth watching each minute of it. no superficiality and over the top acting, just characters you might get to see in your real life! totally worth spending your 8 dollars on! it made us cry but there are some light hearted moments as well that will leave you smiling. (oh and the movie has a happy ending)

i din even know that i spend almost 3 hours watching it.

Good to see so many people going to see it in the theaters and supporting it - :k:

What is wrong with Syed Noor? He has harshly criticised 'Bol' and Shoaib Mansoor in every television appearance since its release! Someone needs to shut this fool up.

I think this is one of the best movies to hit theaters in a long time....everyone should watch it....truly a must watch

Bol has made a really good start in UK and its better then KKL considering it had to contend with Bodyguard.

BOL: In its opening weekend, the film has collected £ 93,290 ap on 22 screens, with the per screen average working out to £ 4,240. Note:- 6-day weekend.

i saw the movie today at the AMC dundas in toronto. i actually really liked it. the main lead Humaima was soooo much better than i expected her to be. she was completely natural in terms of acting and quite convincing as well. i loved her role in the movie. the hakim sahib (the other main character ) was phenomenal as well. Iman ali was seen in only 4 scenes in the movie i believe, but i was spellbound by the effectiveness of her character. the movie was heart wrenching at times, and i was reduced to tears at some points, but there was a happy ending, which made me stop crying towards the end : ) a total must watch for all pakistanis..

Here is some more good stuff about the movie from an Indian film journalist:

**Bol Review – Script Analysis
**Shoaib Mansoor has written such a strong and powerful story and with so many layers that it shakes the viewer. No doubt, the script is depressing because it shows so much poverty, adversity and tragedy but it is also disturbing and entertaining in a different way. The drama unfolds in such a brilliant fashion that the audience can’t help but marvel at Mansoor’s genius. Dialogues, also penned by Shoaib Mansoor, are veritable gems and clapworthy at many places. In particular, the dialogues in the entire track of interaction between Hakim Saab and Chowdhary in the latter’s house are mind-blowing. Every dialogue mouthed by Chowdhary in this track is worth a million bucks.The drama is a bit long-drawn and could’ve done with further editing.

**Bol Review – Star Performances & Direction
**Manzar Sehbai shines as Hakim Saab. He does such a wonderful job that it would seem as if he were born to play this role. His acting is worthy of awards. Humaima Malick plays Zainab with all the conviction at her command. She is first-rate. Shafqat Cheema delivers an award-winning performance. He plays to the gallery and comes out a winner in every single scene. Atif Aslam is endearing in a brief role. Mahira Khan is good. Amr Kashmiri does remarkably well as Saifi, the eunuch child. Iman Ali looks ravishing as courtesan Meena. She plays the character to perfection. Zaib Rehman leaves a mark as the docile wife of Hakim Saab. Others lend terrific support.Shoaib Mansoor’s direction complements his script wonderfully. He has made a film that is both, entertaining and thought-provoking. He has extracted great performances from out of his actors. His narrative style is worthy of awards. Music, by Shoaib Mansoor, Atif Aslam, Sarmad Ghafoor and Sajjad Ali, is extremely nice. Lyrics (Shoaib Mansoor, Imran Raza, Ayub Khawar, Sajjad Ali and Ali Moeen) are meaningful. Salman Razzaq’s cinematography is splendid. Armughan Hassan’s editing is very nice.

**Bol Review – Komal Nahta’s Verdict
**On the whole, Bol is a masterpiece of a film. It has merits to score at the box-office but coming as it has in direct opposition of Hurricane Bodyguard, it will have to pay the price. Sustained promotion is a must if the film is to realise its potential at the box-office and not die a premature death at the hands of Bodyguard.

More good reviews:

http://www.nowrunning.com/movie/8883/bollywood.hindi/bol/3299/review.htm

**I watched BOL today and its nothing compared to Khuda kay liye...BOL could be better in my opinion or maybe i expected too much...overall its alright movie...but there are some things i seriously need answers for! if anyone could explain me ill be more than glad..i dont know how to say...im scared lol i hope mods are not going to ban me for asking these stuff but i really have to know...

How did they come to know when saify(the brother) was born he wasnt normal? i always thought its up to your choice or feelings that if you are not satisfied with what your born you can choose to be what you like..it seemed like you can tell by just looking at the baby his going to be gay??? and even those truck drivers could tell that the boy is a gay....and my second question is that is it that badd in Pakistan? like im sorry i seriously dont know but i really wana know..OMG guys are after guys? like it gave me impression that all those ppl were going mad after saify.....aurat to door mard bhi safe nahi hain?? omg im so freaked out and i need answers if its not possible to write here please feel free to msg me cus i cant ask my mum these stuff!**

For your first question Please refer to [Hermaphrodite - Wikipedia

F](Hermaphrodite - Wikipedia)or your second question. Consider 2 things here.

1: Child rapes are common everywhere. Its not just pakistan and it has nothing to do with if osomeone is boy/girl.
2: your hormones define your manliness and if these aren’t giving you enough manliness then for sure it would attract such pervert people.

Hermaphrodite?? omg i never knew such thing exist!! but can you tell by looking at the baby? im still not getting it :bummer:

okay .. MY BAD .. Hermaphrodite doesn’t exist in real .. :slight_smile: .. sorry wrong info.

Perhaps someone else can shed a light.

Yes please ppl im so curious to know :(

It's biologically possible. Saify was not "gay" he was born with a mixed gender, it's rare but it happens. The rape scene was the most sickening thing I have watched so far and I have watched all kinds of stuff. And all those lines by the truck driver perv that "item tight hai" repeated quite a bit, were in BAD TASTE and I was lost as to why a person like Shoaib Mansoor would resort to such lewdness. More troubling was the fact that those lines initially got laughs from the audience though the guy's intentions were pretty clear.

i felt sick after watching bol..i mean cant shoaib mansoor find any better topic to make movies....rape, gay..so thatz wat goin on in pakistan.......sick movie...

that is going everywhere. Look the message behind this movies.

All of the issues shown in this movie have already been shown in pakistani dramas, documentaries and long plays so wasn't surprised or shocked by any of them.

Why did the writer have to make the family face the entire issues of pakistani society?

At the end the movie, if it was real life, don't you think that the Kanjar would have abducted all 7 daugters in compensation of the baby girl and put them on the kohta?

felt it could have been a little more entertaining, that way it would have been a little less sickening and depressing and maybe I'd be encouraged to watch it again.

Overall, the movie was brilliantly made, superb acting by everyone and let's hope lollywood cinema produces more movies of this level.

9 out of 10 stars from me.