Re: blasphemy laws need to be revoked
Because hum zinda qaum hain. Painda qaum hain.
That’s why!
First of all, if a person is accused, he should be given a fair chance to face the trial and present his case. How can one encourage taking law in one's hand. What is the state for. Moreover, as shamraz stated people do this since they know that they are untouchables when they kill someone on the pretext of blasphemy. If you really care about justice then blasphemy cases should be heard by unbiased and undeterred judges. If a person gets killed in the process, his murderer should be punished without fail. If a case is proved false and cooked up then the accuser should also be punished. This doesn't happen as we are a part of a rogue society.
As far as Ahmadis are concerned, it is inconceivable that anyone of them can even think of insulting the holy prophet (pbuh), Quran or any other sacred Islamic aspect or figure. The case certainly is a false one as most of the cases are.
Well they technically do with elevating mirza to a prophet and saying god is sending ayahs to him. If you were a lahori firqa instead of the ahmedi sect, then you could make such a claim as the lahoris didn't believe in mirza as a prophet. I think that the lahoris have completely disappeared by now.
That is besides the point that I wouldn't kill them for it.
^ they have been declared non-Muslims in Pakistan and all Islamic terminologies have been taken away from the...let them live in peace!
I dont understand why criticizing religion is considered such a heinous crime. people should be free to express their views on religion. such pathetic law which makes no sense
Well they technically do with elevating mirza to a prophet and saying god is sending ayahs to him. If you were a lahori firqa instead of the ahmedi sect, then you could make such a claim as the lahoris didn't believe in mirza as a prophet. I think that the lahoris have completely disappeared by now.
That is besides the point that I wouldn't kill them for it.
bhai mere, if you go around like this then each and every one is committing blasphemy one way or the other. From Christians' point of view, the holy prophet (pbuh) is not a true prophet so by their yardstick, the Muslims are committing blasphemy and they are committing blasphemy for not believing in a true prophet from Muslims' point of view. Everyone cannot think like you do and that doesn't make him a blasphemer. I think it is time that we start looking beyond the boundaries of our own well.
I dont understand why criticizing religion is considered such a heinous crime. people should be free to express their views on religion. such pathetic law which makes no sense
Very shallow... to say the least.
What if freedom of expression results in bringing ghatiya persons like Rushdie and Tasleema Nasreen? We should look itno both extremes. Freedom of expression is as patheticly exploited as this blasphemy law.
One Rushdie and one Nasreen on one end, thousand upon thousands of jahils on the other hand prepared to kill and commit murder in the name of religion, the religion which prohibits them to do so. It was these jahils which gave Rushdie undue importance and made his book the best seller.
Rushdie deserves to be punished and killed because he wrote a book?
one should be allowed to express their views and not be killed for it.
bhai mere, if you go around like this then each and every one is committing blasphemy one way or the other. From Christians' point of view, the holy prophet (pbuh) is not a true prophet so by their yardstick, the Muslims are committing blasphemy and they are committing blasphemy for not believing in a true prophet from Muslims' point of view. Everyone cannot think like you do and that doesn't make him a blasphemer. I think it is time that we start looking beyond the boundaries of our own well.
if there has to be a Blasphemy law then i believe it must only be applied on the people of the same religion. people from the other religion do not subscribe to the same ideology.
I think you just plugged a page from Mubasshir Luqman’s notes ![]()
I think it is related to disrespect of Prophets and Sahabah. Even in our beloved prophets
time disrespect was not tolerated. The problem is not with the law but with implementation, like misuse of any other law this law is misused , once government decides to take strict action against misusers situation will improve.
If ther eis no law then people will take matters in their own hand, it is better to have a strict law and apply it with justice. those who take law in their hand should be given due punishments, ALLAH knows only who has done what for ALLAH or for some personal reason.
One Rushdie and one Nasreen on one end, thousand upon thousands of jahils on the other hand prepared to kill and commit murder in the name of religion, the religion which prohibits them to do so. It was these jahils which gave Rushdie undue importance and made his book the best seller.
I was talking about the extremes and their supporters. Look at the post below, how insulting of someone's Prophet got no weight for those who support gandi machli of freedom of expression. (Ek Gandi machli poore talab ka ganda bana sakti hai ke nahin?)
Rushdie deserves to be punished and killed because he wrote a book? one should be allowed to express their views and not be killed for it.
No, they deserve to be given utmost respect that they used their confiscated right of expressing high quality views and they really deserve titles like Sir, etc
I just went to dine in a pakistani restaurant and there was a ARY talk show on, and they were spitting so much poison. Everyone was trying to prove how big of a "blasphemy" this is. One religious leader even said this, shaista wahedi did toba but toba is only for muslims, since she's out of religion after that "blasphemy", there is no point of toba as well.
At this point I'd too much, so I'd to request restaurant guyz to atleast mute the TV, glad they entertained.
Honestly, i'm extremely disappointed with Pakistan and its people over last few days.
I think it is time that we start looking beyond the boundaries of our own well.
There are at least two of the "we's" who won't condemn even this incidence. And these "we's" are not illiterate thayla-wallahs but actually professional educated Pakistanis.
If this is how our educated "we's" behave then there is no silver lining for Pakistan in foreseeable future. Religious barbarism is the enlightenment "we" are seeking. And "we" have the government who supports such barbaric englihtenment.
I just went to dine in a pakistani restaurant and there was a ARY talk show on, and they were spitting so much poison. Everyone was trying to prove how big of a "blasphemy" this is. One religious leader even said this, shaista wahedi did toba but toba is only for muslims, since she's out of religion after that "blasphemy", there is no point of toba as well. At this point I'd too much, so I'd to request restaurant guyz to atleast mute the TV, glad they entertained. Honestly, i'm extremely disappointed with Pakistan and its people over last few days.
This so called free media is the biggest curse on Pakistan. They do nothing but spread hate & what you describe is good example of that. PERMA is a toothless institution incapable of doing anything to control the situation. And the media gives megaphone to jahlis of all shades to spews crap & no one is there to stop them or question them.
No, they deserve to be given utmost respect that they used their confiscated right of expressing high quality views and they really deserve titles like Sir, etc
No one deserves to be killed for having an opinion & that is different between tolerant west & Islamic world. If you get offended so what? Get over it. I get offended when someone cuts in front of me in traffic, but I don't go out and issue fatwa to have them killed.
Tolerant west doesn't know difference between expressing / having an opinion and throwing mud on people that are respectable to billions of people. In this process, west forget all it self created concepts like Hate speech and respect for majority's opinion.
Have you ever gone through the garbage from likes of Rushdie and Tasleema? That garbage got a reaction. Justified or unjustified that is being tackled through laws like blasphemy and unfortunately its being used against the poor people. Till the time, people stop taking sides and showing absolute support in the name of freedom of expression, black laws like blasphemy will also be enforced and misused.
^ In Pakistan, you will not find people like Rushdie and Taslima. may be some idiots here and there otherwise no one neither muslim nor non-muslim can dare to blaspheme like that in public speech, book, article or so for obvious reasons. Despite this fact, you will find so many cases under this category here in Pakistan. Such cases were almost nill before the dark days of Zia. So what is the cause of all this? Forget about what people in other parts of the world are doing, my questions is exactly what is causing the increasing number of such cases?
...the tailspin.... an analogy ... some might find it kinda insulting , yet...
Put a frog in a boiling water , and he will immediately jump out .... to save his skin ...obviously ..
now put it in cold water....and slowly turn up the heat.... water will start warming .... slowly ... frog won't even notice it ....and in the end you will have frog soup .... !!
we are just like 18 crore frogs.... starting with TNT , the Objective resolution , the Zina ul Haq's islamazation ... the Kashmir Jihad ....Russian Jihad..Al-Qaedia .... proxy wars between two leading strains of our religion , for Saudi and Irani interests .... ... its the slow warming and then boiling .... now TTP mindset ... that Whats his name Qadri Mindset .... have heard that there is a Liabrary in Islamabad named after Osama bin Laden , and a Mosque named after this Qadri ... not to mention willing brigade of Lawyers supposedly more educated , rational and having a sense of Justice willing to defend this Qadri .... sure signs of frogs getting boiled ... and a soup getting ready to be served....
.. yawn ... I am mad .... repeating the same mantra.... so please forgive me. for this rambling...