both black n white r considered inappropriate colors for a wedding but i see alot of desi brides wearing white but never black …
we have the most variety of choices …then why not black ?
both black n white r considered inappropriate colors for a wedding but i see alot of desi brides wearing white but never black …
we have the most variety of choices …then why not black ?
Re: black bridal outfits
Black resembles mourning. Also some people believe black brings
them bad luck so wearing it to their own wedding would defenitely
be a big no no.
but black also symbolism modernity, power, sophistication, elegance, n style
:..just like white symbolism death ( in eastern cultures ) but amas n aunties log nahi smajtin …
I donno, personally I wouldn't go black for bridal even if it was more accepted to do so.
It's overpowering, and very bold. There are no shades of black. It doesn't eccentuate when used with other colors in the outfit, it contrasts vividly. What you could do is use another color as base and eccentuate with black.
I love love love black, but it just doesn't have a bridal appeal to me. I could think of many other styles of having black outfits, just not bridal.
Black resembles mourning. Also some people believe black brings them bad luck so wearing it to their own wedding would defenitely be a big no no.
That's why the groom's wearing black tux because bad luck is about to come and the man inside them will die.
actually, white is not at all considered inappropriate, it is worn all over brides in east (including Pak and India) and west.
Despite of all the elegance and stuff, black is still not a color, i'd like to see a bride in. Be it east or west, I have never seen a bride in black.
^ I have ..but not a desi ..
my mom’s colleague wore black gown at her wedding ![]()
if you like black that much you could go for a combination of black and some other color with a little of the black mixed in.....no?
That's why the groom's wearing black tux because bad luck is about to come and the man inside them will die.
you mean the man inside of him will die down after marriage......:CareBear: I wonder what mrs. shikra has to say about this.
No matter what she says, it won’t change the fact ![]()
I personally like black color and I have 3-4 our of 8-9 shirts that are black. Of course I also have black dress pants and suits etc. As for wearing it on weddings, if the grooms can wear it, why are women putting self imposed restrictions on themselves? Why can’t they wear black dresses? Who cares what the community thinks, what matters is that you are happy. Bad luck associated with black is just superstitions.
exactly my thoughts ![]()
Sandleen, if you are thinking about wearing it on your wedding, my personal opinion would be that you should go ahead with it. People will talk NO MATTER WHAT. If it's not your black dress, it may be the decorations, it may be the jewelry, it may be the hairstyle, hall, or WHATEVER. People always talk, they just need a topic. They'll talk about your black dress and you won't have time to hear their complaints. They'll just talk and then eventually hush up. It's human nature to resist changes and there is always a first time.
Yea, me too my mother keeps complaining about the fact that most of my salwars are black(with other colors of course) and most of my formal dresses are black too.
can’t help it, I just get attracted to the color black when buying clothing, it just looks so sophisticated.
actually now it’s black and turquoise:snooty:
yes it's pure superstition to believe wearing
black or driving a black car will bring you bad luck.
I think all colors are sophisticated, it really depends how you wear a color.
Sandy, that is the first time I have seen a bride in black. Anyway, I am not a big fan of wearing black as a bridal wear but I guess if that is what makes you happy then go for it.
i think black might be really chic for a wedding, if done properly. on the other hand, with lehengas and ghararas and how much fabric they use, all black might just be too overwhelming, i guess you'd really have to design it well. my friend's sister wore a black lehenga on her (my friend's) shaadi. it looked really good on her but then, she also sister of the bride, not the bride herself.
i keep imagining a gothic lehnga. with a corset type of shirt and a poofy lehnga ![]()
hahahah! true enough.
i was thinking more of a fitted, trumpet skirt lehenga with silver or dull gold kaam on it and a nice fitted shirt with a lace-edged net dupatta (like a spanish mantilla but in black) would look pretty too.
Reminds me of this joke that a little girl goes to a wedding with her mother..she asks questions about the wedding and mom explains..then she asks why is bride wearing white, and the mother goes, because white represents peace and happiness and this is the most happiest day of her life thats why she's wearing white..
and then the little girl goes, so why is the groom wearing black?
oh that’d be pretty…but i still don’t see it as bridal
probably for a close guest