Biryani

Ok HELPPP!!

I want to make biryani but i dont know how to - the only major rice that i can make is palao and zarda (sometimes right) but i need to know how do you guys make it? How to make the masala? When to mix the rice with the masala? I need step by step instructions please…

Re: Biryani

Google it or follow the Shan Biriyani masala mix. :)
I make the masala similar to how you make it for Chicken salen, only I add a little extra onions in masala. Also when the checken is close to cooking, I add about 2-3 tablespoons of yogurt and cook till oil seperates from masala. Once done add chopped coriander to the masala.
Boil rice seperately, until ALMOST cooked, but still firm and drain. Oh I forgot fry 1 sliced onion until very brown, and set aside.
Now in a dish, layer rice, then chicken then rice. at the top add the fried onions and put under damm with a cover, maybe 30-45 minutes.
Later i will post details later...but it comesout pretty good.

also a tip, if rice a re a bit harder than u wanted, in a bowl mix yogurt with milk, like 1/2 bowlful. Add a little tandoori masala too it and drizzle that between layers, gives it a tart/tang plus color while giving moisture to rice to cook thru.

I d tell ya myself but Contact Aliyish for further referance ...

ps. Aliyish i hope u dunt mind me referring the above to you :D

i mostly use shaan bombay baryani mix....but you can make you own chicken too....just put extra onions and tomatoes....also add aloo bukara and lemon juice...try to put extra namak mirch too cuz you will have to mix the chicken with rice....also you can add potatoes in the chicken if you want...i cut the potatoes like you cut for fries...

and for the rice...as afro said...dont boil them to very soft...take them out when theres a little kasar baki...:p

to make layers....first put chawal....then chicken...phir chawal....phir chicken...phir chawal...and on the very top layer which will be of chawal....pour a mixture of ilaichi (just the danay) and yellow color....podina...and put it on dum...

Taraaaaaannnnnnnn

Sunset_Eyes…this is 4 U…:slight_smile:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=280507

Mrs. Shikra,
Ilaichi in biriyani? Hmm how does that taste? Sounds interesting, I may try that.

Mutton or beef 1-1/2 kg
Rice (easy cook - saila chawal) 1 kg soak in water for 5 hours

Red chilli powder 2 and half tablespoon
Halidi 1 teaspoon
Garam masala - ground 1 tablespoon.
Aroma masala
Grind Jaefal, jawatri,
zera and sufeed illachi
seeds
together to make a powder
2 tablespoon
Salt 3 teaspoons.
Ginger garlic paste 3 tablespoon
Tomato 1 Kg Cut into small pieces

Put all these things with meat, add some water, and cook on low heat. When meat is tender. Dry up the water and keep the pot on one side.

Take two onions and slice them thinly. Fry this till light brown in one cup of oil. Then take out the fried onion from the oil. Take 200 grams yougurt, some mint leaves and some bullet chillies and mix it with the fried onion.

Boil 2 and half times water of the rice in a large pot. Then put the soaked rice in the water and add 3 tablespoon salt in it. When rice are about too cook, drop out excess water.

Then put a layer of rice on the cooked meat and masala, The add a layer of the yougurt paste. Then put rest of the rice. Add oil (the one in you fried onions). Oild should be warm not hot. Sprinkle kewra water and zarda colour liquid on the biryani.

Simmer it for 20 mins.

Note: The meat and masala mix should not be cold when you put rice layers on it.

I have forgotten one important ingredient - Dried plums. Add 30 grams dried plums when meat and tomato stuff has been cooked.

Afro - God thanks for that - so much detail - now i have an idea - its just when i make it its in clumps…what am i doing wrong?

Mrs Shikra - you are cheating :asa: leken phir bhi that sounds nice - i love the idea of the illaichi…will def try it out now…

Shyen - Thanks yar - :hugz:

Mostar - where om earth am i gonna get dried plums? How will it taste?

Thanks guys - so helpful x

mein aur cheating…noway…:p…oh yeah illaichi is there just for khusbo…put like 3-4 illaichi (again just the danay)…you can also put sabat illaichi when you boil the rice…but you dont have to…its just for the smell :woho:

p.s for clumps…i guess maybe you boil the rice too much…or the chicken is not thick enough…next time try not boiling the rice too much and chicken should not be watery…and leave it for dum long like 30 min

Sunset, is the rice clumpy. While the rice is boiling keep checking a few grains. It is overcooked when you can easily smash it in your finger. But when you take the gran and press it and it like seperate into 2-3 firm pieces, that's about done....so let's say it takes total of 12 minutes to boil rice to eat regular, maybe boil for just 8-9 minutes and drain. Oh and another good idea is to add a cinnamon stick, "loang"(clove) to the water of rice for scent.

Also once your rice is boiled and drained, try to stir ir once or twice to seperate the rice, and make sure you add salt/about 1-2 spoons of oil to boiling water.

As for dreid plums, I forgot about that, they taste absolutely yummy...IF you like a bit of tart, its like a sourish taste...but good. Its good idea to soak the dried plums in warm water before adding to soften it up.

i kno how to make the best bombay biryani with eyes closed :snooty:

for the clumpy rice.. add a teaspoon of white vinegar to boiling rice...

then drain good..

it shouldnt clump.. some rice are bad quality so they lump no matter what u do.
Zebra's are the best rice in North america

agreed...i use zebra rice too....:)
though lately they are getting hard to find...and pricey too...:(

i have heard adding some lemon juice also helps the rice from forming lumps...never tried it though....

I use Mehran and Tilda .. They aint bad either :)

well Vinegar .. lamon ... Oil .... All do the job ... !

I think they are readily available everywhere. They are called aloo bukhara.

You can also use dried prunes.

Hello,

Sorry i havent replied. Thanks guys for your help - i will attempt a biryani this week inshallah...plum idea sounds very nice...thanks Mostar

Well for Biryani it is better to boil **easy cook basmati **rice (saila chawal), they never clump.

mmmm...biryani..i love my hyderabadi biryani lol

lol i totally cheat, i use shan biryani masalas for the meat and cook the rice in the rice cooker, then i layer the rice and meat into a big pot and bake for 10 mins, comes out perfect everytime! :)